British County Calls for Government to Ban Sales of Disposable E-Cigarettes

Regulations by 2FIRSTS.ai
Jan.16.2024
British County Calls for Government to Ban Sales of Disposable E-Cigarettes
British county council urges government to ban the sale of disposable e-cigarettes due to concerns over youth smoking.

According to a report by the BBC on January 15th, the council of a county in the UK is urging the government to completely ban the sale of disposable e-cigarettes. Tom Hunt, the leader of the council, recently sent a letter to Health Minister Victoria Atkins expressing concerns about the issue of young people smoking.

 

In his letter, Mr. Hunter explicitly stated that the sale of disposable e-cigarettes should be ceased in order to protect children and the environment. He added that while e-cigarettes may be helpful for adult smokers trying to quit, the government should take active measures to prevent children from being attracted to this harmful product. Mr. Hunter also emphasized the environmental concerns associated with disposable e-cigarettes, noting that this too is one of the reasons for the proposed ban.

 

The Department of Health and Social Care has responded to calls from Parliament, stating that the government is actively seeking effective methods to curb youth smoking. According to reports, up to 5 million e-cigarettes are discarded in the UK every week. The department emphasizes that while e-cigarettes may assist adults in quitting smoking, the government considers it "wholly inappropriate" for preventing children from being enticed, particularly through colorful and appealing packaging and advertisements.

 

Mr. Hunter further stated that, "The environmental concerns surrounding disposable e-cigarettes should not be overlooked. We are exerting pressure on the government with the aim of safeguarding children to the fullest extent and protecting the environment by advocating for a ban on the sale of disposable e-cigarettes.

 

A spokesperson for the Department of Health and Social Care has revealed that the government is consulting on ways to reduce the appeal and accessibility of e-cigarettes to children and young people. The forthcoming Tobacco and E-cigarette Bill will introduce the first "smoke-free generation" with the aim of addressing the issue of teenage smoking, saving lives, and protecting children. Furthermore, the government is also planning to invest an additional £30 million per year in law enforcement agencies and allocate £3 million to the Trading Standards Office within two years, in order to tackle illegal and underage tobacco sales.

 

According to a survey conducted by the charity organization Action on Smoking and Health (ASH), the number of children experimenting with e-cigarettes has increased by 50% from 2022 to 2023, rising from 1 in 13 to 1 in 9. The charity highlights that children's awareness of e-cigarette advertising has also grown, particularly within stores, with over half of the children reporting seeing e-cigarette promotions.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Charlie’s Bets on Age-Gating and 678 PMTA Assets as U.S. Vape Enforcement Landscape Shifts
Charlie’s Bets on Age-Gating and 678 PMTA Assets as U.S. Vape Enforcement Landscape Shifts
Charlie’s Holdings said in its latest shareholder letter that it is moving to commercialize PACHA products and monetize its PMTA assets as the FDA changes enforcement priorities for unauthorized ENDS products. Thirty PACHA SKUs were previously tentatively identified for a proposed public list of products that the FDA generally does not intend to prioritize for enforcement. Charlie’s is also preparing test-market sales of age-gated flavored disposables and says it currently holds 678 PMTA-related product assets while seeking additional strategic transactions and partnerships.
Sep.11
Product | KT&G Launches lil HYBRID 3.0 Misty Rosé Edition II in South Korea With Two Pink Finishes at 88,000 Won
Product | KT&G Launches lil HYBRID 3.0 Misty Rosé Edition II in South Korea With Two Pink Finishes at 88,000 Won
South Korean tobacco company KT&G launched the limited-edition lil HYBRID 3.0 Misty Rosé Edition II on September 30, 2026, following the original Misty Rosé Edition introduced in November 2025. The new release comes in two pink finishes, Bloom Rosé and Viva Rosé, each priced at 88,000 won. Both versions initially went on sale through the lil Store online shop and lil MINIMALIUM flagship stores. From October 7, Bloom Rosé became available at approximately 1,500 lil Station retail outlets nationwide. The release retains the existing lil HYBRID 3.0 hybrid heated tobacco platform, with changes focused on exterior design and distribution.
product
Oct.10
Virginia Tobacco Retail Permit Takes Effect October 1, Covering Vapes as More Than 3,000 Businesses Apply in September
Virginia Tobacco Retail Permit Takes Effect October 1, Covering Vapes as More Than 3,000 Businesses Apply in September
Virginia's new retail tobacco permit system took effect October 1, requiring sellers of vapes, nicotine products and related devices and accessories to obtain a Retail Tobacco Permit for each business location. Virginia ABC said more than 3,000 businesses applied in September alone, creating a processing backlog. Qualifying applicants that filed before October 1 may temporarily operate under a Letter of Authorization. The new store-level permit also sits alongside Virginia's existing vape product directory, where sales of unlisted liquid nicotine or nicotine vapor products can trigger civil penalties starting at $5,000.
Regulations
Oct.03
JUUL Purchasers Ask Ninth Circuit to Preserve Antitrust Classes in Case Over Altria’s $12.8 Billion Investment
JUUL Purchasers Ask Ninth Circuit to Preserve Antitrust Classes in Case Over Altria’s $12.8 Billion Investment
Private antitrust litigation stemming from Altria's 2018 $12.8 billion investment for a 35% economic interest in JUUL is advancing before the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. Direct purchasers, indirect purchasers and indirect resellers of JUUL products filed answering briefs this week seeking to preserve class certifications granted by a California federal court in February. Altria and JUUL argue that individual consumers and large distributors differ too much in purchasing terms to remain in a single direct-purchaser class, while a separate dispute concerns whether California antitrust law can apply to indirect purchasers across 27 jurisdictions. A September trial has been put on hold during the appeal.
Sep.23
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
Philip Morris International's PMI Business Solutions Philippines has expanded its global business services hub in Makati and plans to add more than 80 positions. Established in 2021 primarily to provide finance and IT support to about 20 markets, the center now employs 519 professionals delivering roughly 600 services across 160 markets. Its functions now span finance, human resources, IT, commercial operations, data analytics, supply chain and project management. PMI says the hub's next phase will focus on AI-enabled and higher-value work. The company did not disclose the size or investment cost of the expansion.
Sep.24