IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products

News
Sep.29
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.

Key Points

  • IKE 2.0 initially targets nicotine products and combines identity verification, product authentication, policy controls and data analytics.
  • Ispire holds a 40% interest in IKE Tech and committed up to $10 million under the original joint-venture agreement.
  • IKE Tech submitted an age-verification component PMTA in April 2025, which FDA accepted in May; the technology has not received marketing authorization.
  • IKE Tech said a 102-participant human factors study blocked all attempted underage activations, though the study has not been peer-reviewed.

2Firsts

September 29, 2026

IKE Tech LLC launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, introducing a compliance platform initially aimed at nicotine products that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics.

The system can authenticate products through direct device integration or NFC smart tags and apply different access rules by jurisdiction, product and SKU. It also includes a web interface for manufacturers and brand operators and a configurable consumer-facing application.

Expanding Beyond Age Verification

IKE Tech's earlier development work centered on age verification at the point of use for e-cigarette devices.

IKE 2.0 broadens that approach across four areas: identity, product authentication, policy management and analytics.

The identity layer verifies users and converts the result into a digital identity credential. The product layer is designed to authenticate and trace products, while policy settings can vary by market, product and SKU. A separate analytics layer processes platform and device data.

Product authentication can be built directly into a device or handled through NFC smart tags.

The launch broadens IKE Tech's focus from age gating alone to post-sale access controls, product authentication and policy enforcement.

Ispire Holds 40% Stake, With Up to $10 Million Committed

IKE Tech was formed in 2024.

SEC filings from Ispire show that the venture involves its wholly owned subsidiary Aspire North America LLC, Chemular Inc. and Touch Point Worldwide Inc., which operates as Berify.

Under the original agreement, Aspire North America and Berify each received a 40% interest, while Chemular received 20%.

Ispire's latest annual filing shows that Aspire North America continues to hold a 40% stake in IKE Tech.

Ispire initially contributed $1 million in cash for operating expenses and committed to provide up to another $9 million, bringing its total potential investment to $10 million.

The venture was originally established to develop age-verification technology for vapor devices and pursue related PMTA filings in the U.S.

Age-Verification Component PMTA Remains Under FDA Review

IKE Tech submitted a component PMTA for its age-verification system in April 2025, and FDA accepted the application the following month.

Ispire's latest annual filing shows that the application remains under review, with the company still awaiting further FDA feedback.

IKE Tech has described the filing as the first standalone component PMTA in the U.S. for interoperable age-verification technology. FDA public materials do not independently rank or confirm that characterization.

Acceptance of the application means it entered FDA's review process. It does not constitute marketing authorization.

FDA Draft Guidance Discusses Device Access Restrictions

FDA issued draft guidance in March 2026 on flavored ENDS premarket applications, including potential approaches to reducing youth access.

The draft discusses device access restriction technologies such as biometric authentication, geofencing and continuous age verification. It also notes that minimum-age laws and point-of-sale ID checks do not directly control product use after purchase.

The document remains draft, non-binding guidance and does not represent FDA endorsement of IKE Tech's technology.

IKE Tech also met with FDA's Center for Tobacco Products in April for a listening session focused on point-of-use age controls, illicit products in the ENDS supply chain and possible regulatory treatment of compliance software.

Company Reports Results From 102-Participant Study

IKE Tech said its age-verification system was evaluated in a controlled human factors study involving 102 participants.

According to the company, all attempted underage device activations were blocked. Adult participants gave the system a 91% ease-of-use rating, while the user error rate was below 1%.

The study has not been peer-reviewed, and the public materials do not provide the full age breakdown of participants, the number of underage subjects, the complete study protocol or full statistical results.

IKE Tech also cautioned that performance in a controlled setting may not be replicated exactly in real-world use.

Patents and Security Certification Form Part of the Platform Offering

IKE Tech says the platform is covered by 11 issued patents spanning identity, authentication and policy-governance infrastructure, with additional applications pending.

IKE 2.0 is also SOC 2 Type II certified and designed around GDPR and CCPA requirements. Under the architecture described by the company, verified identity information can be converted into a digital credential, while biometric processing is handled primarily on-device.

The patent count, certification status and architecture details are based on company disclosures.

Commercial Deployment Details Remain Undisclosed

IKE Tech has positioned nicotine as IKE 2.0's first market, with plans to expand into cannabis, healthcare, medical products, gaming and other age- or identity-restricted categories.

The launch announcement did not identify paying customers or name e-cigarette brands or manufacturers using the platform commercially.

Pricing, connected-device volumes, contract values and revenue expectations were also not disclosed.

For now, the main disclosed milestones are the launch of IKE 2.0 and the continued FDA review of IKE Tech's earlier age-verification technology.

Follow 2Firsts for updates on vape age verification, PMTA and compliance technology.

Cover Image: IKE Tech

From a 2017 Launch to 48% of South Korea’s Heated Tobacco Market, KT&G Looks Back on a Decade of lil
From a 2017 Launch to 48% of South Korea’s Heated Tobacco Market, KT&G Looks Back on a Decade of lil
KT&G announced on Aug. 13, 2026, that it has opened “lil Archive,” a brand exhibition space in Seoul showcasing the evolution, technology platforms and future direction of its heated tobacco brand lil since its launch in 2017. KT&G said lil now spans three major platforms — lil SOLID, lil HYBRID and lil AIBLE — with more than 30 dedicated consumables, and held a 48% share of South Korea's heated tobacco market in the second quarter of 2026. The opening comes as lil enters its 10th year, with KT&G continuing to position the brand for expansion beyond its domestic market.
Aug.14
Altria’s USSTC Starts $250 Million Kentucky Expansion, Adding More Than 200 Jobs
Altria’s USSTC Starts $250 Million Kentucky Expansion, Adding More Than 200 Jobs
U.S. Smokeless Tobacco Company, an Altria Group company, has broken ground on an approximately $250 million manufacturing expansion in Hopkinsville, Kentucky. The roughly 270,000-square-foot facility is expected to create more than 200 jobs and absorb processing, manufacturing and packaging operations currently split between Hopkinsville and Nashville, Tennessee. USSTC previously said production at its Nashville facility is expected to wind down by early 2028. The project forms part of Altria’s broader effort to modernize and consolidate its U.S. smokeless tobacco manufacturing network.
Sep.10
Smoore Wins Three Heated Device Supply Lots in China Tobacco Jiangsu’s Overseas Market Project Covering Japan, South Korea and Southeast Asia
Smoore Wins Three Heated Device Supply Lots in China Tobacco Jiangsu’s Overseas Market Project Covering Japan, South Korea and Southeast Asia
China Tobacco Jiangsu Industrial Co., Ltd. (JSIC) has completed its 2026-2028 heated device procurement project, with Shenzhen Smoore Technology Limited securing final supply contracts for three lots: U1, C1 and C2. The project was launched through a public tender in June 2026 to support overseas markets and involved heated tobacco devices carrying JSIC’s “iRod” trademark. Candidate supplier results published on July 13 showed Smoore ranked first for the three awarded lots, while Shenzhen Yunxi Intelligent Technology Co., Ltd. and Shenzhen Bodi Technology Development Co., Ltd. participated in the bidding process.
Aug.03
Kelly White Bets on Female Consumers as Nicotine Pouch Competition Intensifies | 2Firsts Interview
Kelly White Bets on Female Consumers as Nicotine Pouch Competition Intensifies | 2Firsts Interview
Swedish nicotine pouch brand Kelly White is building its strategy around adult female consumers. Founder and CEO Sophia Wilsby told 2Firsts that women accounted for around 70% of the brand’s repeat customers on HAYPP in Sweden in 2025. The interview explores female consumer segmentation, product and design differentiation, gender stereotypes, packaging regulation, and how independent brands can compete with global players such as ZYN and VELO while considering funding, partnerships and future ownership options.
Business
Sep.24
From Vuse, Velo and glo to AI Consulting: Former BAT Content Lead Launches Destreza
From Vuse, Velo and glo to AI Consulting: Former BAT Content Lead Launches Destreza
Former BAT global content lead Andy Parton has left the company and launched Destreza, a London-based AI-native marketing consultancy. Parton previously worked across BAT's New Category brands Vuse, Velo and glo and had also served as Global Brand Lead for Vuse Go. Destreza says it will advise consumer businesses on AI in brand strategy, operating models, capability and agency configuration, using specialist AI agents to support research, strategy and creative development. BAT reported £3.621 billion in New Category revenue in 2025.
Sep.22
Cochrane 2026 Update Adds Nine Trials, Keeps High-Certainty Finding That Nicotine E-Cigarettes Improve Quit Rates Over NRT
Cochrane 2026 Update Adds Nine Trials, Keeps High-Certainty Finding That Nicotine E-Cigarettes Improve Quit Rates Over NRT
Cochrane’s 2026 update of its living review on electronic cigarettes for smoking cessation included 80 randomized controlled trials involving 29,861 adult smokers, with nine trials added in this update. The review retained its high-certainty conclusion that nicotine e-cigarettes increase smoking cessation rates compared with nicotine replacement therapy. In absolute terms, about 10 in 100 people using nicotine e-cigarettes may quit smoking for at least six months, compared with about 6 in 100 using NRT. The review found no clear difference in serious adverse event rates between the two groups, while longer-term safety and the relative effectiveness of newer device types remain less certain.
Sep.07