Columbus City Council Proposes $1 Million Plan to Help Quit Smoking and Vaping

Dec.13.2022
Columbus City Council Proposes $1 Million Plan to Help Quit Smoking and Vaping
The Columbus City Council approved a $1 million proposal to help people quit smoking and vaping. A ban on flavored tobacco products was also passed.

Columbus City Council in Ohio, United States, has announced a $1 million proposal to help people quit smoking and using e-cigarettes. The proposal comes as the council voted to ban the sale of flavored tobacco products in the city.


According to a press release from the American city council, the council president, Shannon Hardin, and council member, Shayla Favor, proposed the initiative in partnership with healthcare leaders and community partners.


The "Smoking Ban Education and Awareness Campaign" will continue until 2023 with the goal of connecting nicotine-addicted residents with resources and programs to help them quit smoking.


Hardin stated that the aim is to assist individuals already addicted to smoking and vaping, as well as prevent the next generation from developing this habit.


We know that many people who smoke cigarettes or use electronic cigarettes want to quit, but they do not know how to do so. Our goal is to connect every resident who wants to quit smoking with verified and effective treatments," said Harden.


The Chairman of the Health and Public Services Committee, Favor, has stated that the tobacco industry targets children, African Americans, the LGBTQ community, and other high-risk populations.


Hardin and Favor discussed combining $500,000 in resources from national and local health cooperation agencies with $500,000 in city funds.


According to the council, this money will primarily be used for "developing and implementing multimedia promotional activities, with a focus on enhancing the existing Columbus Smoking Cessation Program, particularly targeting the desired audience.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Gallup Tracks Nicotine Pouch Use for the First Time: 11% of U.S. Adults Smoke, 9% Vape and 4% Use Nicotine Pouches
Gallup Tracks Nicotine Pouch Use for the First Time: 11% of U.S. Adults Smoke, 9% Vape and 4% Use Nicotine Pouches
Gallup’s 2026 Consumption Habits survey tracked nicotine pouch use for the first time. The survey found that 11% of U.S. adults reported smoking cigarettes in the past week, 9% reported vaping, and 4% reported using nicotine pouches. Cigarette smoking remained near Gallup’s long-term low, while adult vaping rates stayed relatively stable in recent years.
Market
Aug.25 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
Snowplus Enters Japan’s FamilyMart Network With Zero-Nicotine NEO Line and Kishidan Campaign
Snowplus Enters Japan’s FamilyMart Network With Zero-Nicotine NEO Line and Kishidan Campaign
Snowplus distributor H&S said the zero-nicotine, zero-tar NEO vaping line will begin rolling out across FamilyMart stores in Japan from September 14, 2026, excluding some locations. The DASH line will also be sold at selected FamilyMart stores in southern Kyushu and Okinawa. Snowplus simultaneously named Japanese rock band Kishidan as a brand ambassador, combining convenience-store distribution with a broader consumer marketing push in Japan.
Sep.15
On-Site Report | CTP Details PMTA Backlog, 180-Day Review Goal and sPMTA Process
On-Site Report | CTP Details PMTA Backlog, 180-Day Review Goal and sPMTA Process
FDA’s Center for Tobacco Products detailed new PMTA review data and process changes at the 2026 FDLI conference. Pending PMTAs fell from about 450,000 at the start of 2025 to 135,000 by September 2026. CTP also discussed its 180-day review goal, current sPMTA pilot, alternate-supplier planning, more than 50,300 pending SE reports, and lessons from the nicotine pouch pilot already being applied to ENDS review.
Regulations
Oct.07
U.S. Fifth Circuit Vacates NicQuid Vape MDO, Says FDA Comparative-Efficacy Standard Violated APA Procedures
U.S. Fifth Circuit Vacates NicQuid Vape MDO, Says FDA Comparative-Efficacy Standard Violated APA Procedures
According to VitalLaw on August 27, 2026, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit vacated an FDA marketing denial order (MDO) against NicQuid LLC, ruling that the agency’s comparative-efficacy standard for electronic nicotine delivery system (ENDS) applications had become a substantive rule requiring notice-and-comment rulemaking under the Administrative Procedure Act (APA). The court did not reject FDA’s authority to compare the public health benefits and risks of flavored vapes, but held that the agency could not establish a broadly binding standard through informal adjudications. The case was remanded to FDA for further proceedings.
Aug.28