Consumer advocacy organization pushes back on Health Canada’s proposal to restrict vape flavours

2Firsts Events
May.31.2022
“Flavour restrictions either work or they do not when it comes to preventing youth use. You cannot say they’re needed for nicotine vaping but not alcohol and cannabis.”

The poll was conducted online by Delphi Polling & Consulting between Apr. 29 and May 10, through a demographically representative sample of 1,200 Canadians of legal vaping age in their respective province. The survey was available in English and French and used interlocking quotas with targets set out in the most recent Census around age, gender, province and language (for Quebec).

 

The organization adds that banning most flavoured vaping products could push some consumers back to smoking, ultimately creating worse health outcomes. They also argue that if flavour restrictions are placed on nicotine products, similar restrictions should be placed on cannabis and alcohol products.

 

“Flavour restrictions either work or they do not when it comes to preventing youth use. You cannot say they’re needed for nicotine vaping, but not alcohol and cannabis. As an organization that defends consumer choice, we are opposed to prohibitions generally and would like to see more sophisticated policy-making from Health Canada,” Cran said.

 

The proposed amendments to the Tobacco and Vaping Products Act (Flavours)would restrict the promotion of flavours to tobacco or mint/menthol. The use of all sugars and sweeteners as well as flavouring ingredients, with limited exceptions, would also be prohibited in the manufacture of vaping products.

 

Health Canada notes that Canadians had the opportunity to provide commentson the regulatory proposal during the Canada Gazette, Part I, public comment period, which started on June 19, 2021 and lasted 75 days.

 

source:The GrowthOp

The organization argues that banning most flavoured vaping products could push some consumers back to smoking, ultimately creating worse health outcomes. /

 

NAS 2026 | Cliff Douglas: Risk Continuum Should Play a Central Role in Tobacco Policy
NAS 2026 | Cliff Douglas: Risk Continuum Should Play a Central Role in Tobacco Policy
Cliff Douglas, a veteran U.S. tobacco-control and public health policy figure, told NAS 2026 that the “continuum of risk” should play a central role in tobacco policy. He called for clearer market pathways, stronger risk communication, differentiated regulation and enforcement, and said possible FDA reforms to PMTA reviews could be a “welcome correction” if they create a more efficient, predictable route for scientifically substantiated lower-risk products. Read 2Firsts’ on-site coverage.
Sep.26
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives
IVG Parent Secures HMRC Excise Warehouse and Duty Stamp Approvals Ahead of UK Vape Tax
IVG Parent Secures HMRC Excise Warehouse and Duty Stamp Approvals Ahead of UK Vape Tax
Acme Vape Ltd, the company behind UK vaping brand IVG, has received HM Revenue & Customs approval to operate an excise warehouse for vaping products and participate in the Vaping Duty Stamps Scheme. The UK's Vaping Products Duty will take effect on October 1, 2026, at a flat rate of £2.20 per 10ml of vaping liquid. Acme Vape Ltd says its approved warehouse in Preston will become operational under the new regime on the same date.
Regulations
Sep.18 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
2Firsts Data|China’s Vape-Related Exports Rose 3.3% in August 2026 as UK Shipments Jumped 51.4% and U.S. Exports Fell 12.4%
2Firsts Data|China’s Vape-Related Exports Rose 3.3% in August 2026 as UK Shipments Jumped 51.4% and U.S. Exports Fell 12.4%
China exported $979 million of vape-related products in August 2026, up 3.3% from a year earlier but down 6.4% from July. The UK replaced the U.S. as the main source of growth: UK-bound shipments jumped 51.4% to a 2026 high of $177 million, while exports to the U.S. fell 12.4% to $339 million. Shipments to markets outside the U.S. increased 14.2%, broadening growth beyond the market that had driven July’s rebound.
News
Sep.23 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Virginia Tobacco Retail Permit Takes Effect October 1, Covering Vapes as More Than 3,000 Businesses Apply in September
Virginia Tobacco Retail Permit Takes Effect October 1, Covering Vapes as More Than 3,000 Businesses Apply in September
Virginia's new retail tobacco permit system took effect October 1, requiring sellers of vapes, nicotine products and related devices and accessories to obtain a Retail Tobacco Permit for each business location. Virginia ABC said more than 3,000 businesses applied in September alone, creating a processing backlog. Qualifying applicants that filed before October 1 may temporarily operate under a Letter of Authorization. The new store-level permit also sits alongside Virginia's existing vape product directory, where sales of unlisted liquid nicotine or nicotine vapor products can trigger civil penalties starting at $5,000.
Regulations
Oct.03