22nd Century Group Signs Three-Year Exclusive Agreement with Cookies

Apr.06.2023
22nd Century Group Signs Three-Year Exclusive Agreement with Cookies
22nd Century Group partners with Cookies for exclusive three year distribution and license agreement for cannabis-based products.

On April 5th, the 22nd Century Group (XXII) signed a three-year exclusive licensing and distribution agreement with global cannabis company Cookies. The agreement covers all non-Delta-9 THC cannabis-derived consumer products of the Cookies brand, including the procurement of all raw materials and APIs, as well as the production and retail distribution of e-cigarettes and other CBD products. In the past three years, the 22nd Century Group's GVB Biopharma has already produced various Cookies products. With this new agreement, they will continue to produce Cookies' leading products and are expected to account for more than half of Cookies' non-Delta-9 THC sales.


The agreement also involves the integration of market sales and distribution, utilizing 22nd Century's senior consumer packaged goods sales team, who plan to distribute Cookies products in up to 18 markets to launch the company's innovative VLN product in 2023. The consumer goods sales team will target around 60,000 retail stores, including independent retailers, discount tobacco outlets, and e-cigarette shops in non-entertainment states, serviced by their top regional distributors and chain discount tobacco store networks. The product will also be available for sale on Cookies' e-commerce website.


22nd Century Group, Inc. is a biotech company focused on altering the nicotine content in tobacco plants and the cannabinoid content in cannabis plants through genetic engineering, gene editing, and modern plant breeding. Its primary goal in the tobacco industry is to introduce cigarettes with 95% less nicotine than traditional cigarettes in the US and international markets.


References:


22nd Century has agreed to a partnership with Cookies.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
PMI Showcases ZYN, IQOS and U.S. Investments at NACS Show 2026
PMI Showcases ZYN, IQOS and U.S. Investments at NACS Show 2026
At the 2026 NACS Show in Las Vegas, Philip Morris International (PMI) showcased its ZYN nicotine pouches, IQOS heated tobacco products and U.S. investments. A 2Firsts review of FDA records found that several ZYN products displayed at the booth were not on the agency's marketing authorization list, including certain nicotine strengths and flavors. A PMI booth representative also confirmed that IQOS is currently sold in three U.S. states, while the newer IQOS ILUMA system remains under FDA review.
EXPO
Oct.10
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company has begun selling four flavored Vuse Pro pods — Peach, Berry, Watermelon and Fresh Mint — in Ohio and selected other U.S. markets. According to the Vuse U.S. FAQ, Vuse Pro contains approximately 5.0% nicotine by weight, and Vuse Pro pre-filled pods are intended for use with Vuse Alto devices. Reynolds told 2Firsts that product labeling lists an e-liquid capacity of 2.0 mL per pod. The Vuse Alto Power Unit received FDA marketing authorization in 2024, while the new Vuse Pro pods themselves have not received marketing granted orders. The rollout follows the FDA’s May 2026 revision of enforcement priorities for certain unauthorized vaping products with qualifying pending applications.
BAT
Sep.10
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
Juul Displays FDA-Authorized JUUL2, Highlights Age Verification at NACS Show 2026
Juul Displays FDA-Authorized JUUL2, Highlights Age Verification at NACS Show 2026
At the 2026 NACS Show in Las Vegas, Juul Labs displayed its JUUL2 e-cigarette system alongside existing products, age-verification messaging and mobile coupons, 2Firsts observed. The JUUL2 device and Virginia Tobacco and Polar Menthol pods received FDA marketing authorization in August 2026. Booth materials highlighted longer battery life, greater e-liquid capacity and connected-device features. A TruAge sign and a mobile coupon presentation also featured at the booth, with weekly offers available to age-verified adult nicotine consumers at participating retailers.
EXPO
Oct.09
South Korea Imports 12,126 Kg of Nicotine Analogues From April to August After Bringing Synthetic Nicotine Under Tobacco Law
South Korea Imports 12,126 Kg of Nicotine Analogues From April to August After Bringing Synthetic Nicotine Under Tobacco Law
South Korea's liquid-vape market is showing changes across raw-material imports, product types and sales channels after synthetic nicotine came under the Tobacco Business Act on April 24. Customs data show nicotine-analogue imports totaled 12,126 kilograms from April through August, while synthetic-nicotine imports over the same five months totaled 231,663 kilograms, just 39.3% of the amount imported in March alone. Physical liquid-vape stores tracked in Seoul and Gyeonggi Province fell 9.9%, unmanned outlets edged higher and online sales listings increased from 27,774 to 42,437. Government testing of 105 liquid inhalation products promoted as nicotine-free separately found nicotine in 13 and 6-methylnicotine in 12.
Sep.22