Crackdown on Illegal Tobacco Products in Kazakhstan's Capital

Regulations by 2FIRSTS.ai
Mar.28.2024
Crackdown on Illegal Tobacco Products in Kazakhstan's Capital
Kazakhstan capital launches crackdown on illegal e-cigarette and chewing tobacco sales, with hundreds of shops inspected and fines imposed.

According to Zakon.kz, as of March 18th, all areas of the capital of Kazakhstan are undergoing surprise inspections for illegal sales and use of e-cigarettes and smokeless tobacco.

 

According to data from the official website of the Mayor's Office of Astana, approximately 700 shops have been inspected in five areas of the capital since the raid began. Working together, police officers and district mayor's offices have uncovered 145 cases involving the sale of non-smoking tobacco products, including underground factories producing chewing tobacco.

 

According to local police sources, stores selling illegal non-cigarette tobacco products and e-cigarette retailers will face administrative penalties and fines of around 92,300 Guen. Daily raids are being conducted at shops in the capital and will continue until March 31st.

 

So far, the Nura region has imposed fines on six stores, totaling 25 economic baseline points. In the Saryarkin region, two store owners have also received the same punishment. This crackdown on black market tobacco sales has also resulted in the seizure of approximately 60 kilograms of chewing tobacco in the Saryarkin region.

 

President Kasym-Jomart Tokayev brought up the issue of banning the import and sale of e-cigarettes in Kazakhstan during the third session of the National Assembly on March 15th.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Inside Nicotine-Pouch M&A Through Imperial's Yoik Deal: Latham, KPMG, PwC, Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley Form the Adviser Lineup
Inside Nicotine-Pouch M&A Through Imperial's Yoik Deal: Latham, KPMG, PwC, Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley Form the Adviser Lineup
Imperial Brands' acquisition of Swedish Helwit owner Yoik Group AB has highlighted the professional-services firms supporting cross-border oral nicotine M&A. Latham & Watkins and KPMG advised Imperial, while PwC and TM & Partners advised Yoik. KPMG also appeared on Imperial's acquisition of Black Buffalo earlier in 2026, while PwC played an extensive role in KT&G's acquisition of Swedish nicotine-pouch company Another Snus Factory. Imperial's public disclosures put the global modern oral nicotine delivery market at approximately £8.8 billion in retail sales and 23.5 billion pouches in 2024
Sep.20
UK HMRC Unveils Red and Yellow Transitional Vape Duty Stamps Ahead of October Tax Launch
UK HMRC Unveils Red and Yellow Transitional Vape Duty Stamps Ahead of October Tax Launch
HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) has released sample images of the UK’s transitional vaping duty stamps, showing red and yellow versions ahead of the new Vaping Products Duty and Vaping Duty Stamps Scheme starting on October 1, 2026. Transitional stamps contain physical security features but no digital scanning function. Approved businesses may purchase them through November 30 and affix them through December 31. HMRC has not stated that the red and yellow samples represent different product categories or tax statuses.
Regulations
Sep.02
Swedish-Founded Nicotine Pouch Retailer GotPouches Shifts to U.S.-Based Operations, Reaching Over 25 States
Swedish-Founded Nicotine Pouch Retailer GotPouches Shifts to U.S.-Based Operations, Reaching Over 25 States
Swedish-founded online nicotine pouch retailer GotPouches has completed the localization of its U.S. operations under UpNorth Retail LLC, with corporate operations in Franklin, Tennessee, domestic fulfillment from Nashville and U.S.-based customer support. The company says its catalog covers more than 20 nicotine pouch brands and it currently serves customers in more than 25 U.S. states.
Sep.18
GAO Audit Finds Nearly 132,000 FDA Tobacco Applications Waiting an Average 1,266 Days as Nicotine Pouch Pilot Practices Move Into Vape PMTA Reviews
GAO Audit Finds Nearly 132,000 FDA Tobacco Applications Waiting an Average 1,266 Days as Nicotine Pouch Pilot Practices Move Into Vape PMTA Reviews
A U.S. Government Accountability Office audit found that 131,915 tobacco product applications submitted to the FDA since 2018 remained without a final review as of December 31, 2025, with pending applications waiting an average of 1,266 days. GAO also found FDA lacks the data needed to systematically determine whether scientific reviews meet applicable timelines. HHS agreed to upgrade the agency's tracking systems. At the same time, FDA has begun applying lessons from its nicotine pouch PMTA pilot to e-cigarette reviews, while changes to enforcement policy and electronic submissions are making the specific stage of a PMTA increasingly relevant to market access.
FDA
Oct.03
Product | JT Refreshes Ploom CUBE Design and Expands Japan Retail Distribution, Targeting Younger Men and Female Users
Product | JT Refreshes Ploom CUBE Design and Expands Japan Retail Distribution, Targeting Younger Men and Female Users
Japan Tobacco (JT) launched a refreshed Ploom CUBE design in Japan on September 8, 2026, with broader convenience-store and tobacco-retail distribution planned from October 13. The updated device retains the existing Rounded Cube form and heating platform while replacing four previous body colors with Pebble White and Cobalt Black. JT is also introducing new Front Panels and Fabric Back Covers, although the new accessories are not compatible with the previous Ploom CUBE design. The company says the update is intended to broaden appeal among younger male and female users.
Sep.09
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives