Indonesia's HMSP opens new factory for IQOS-HEETS production

Jan.17.2023
Indonesia's HMSP opens new factory for IQOS-HEETS production
Indonesia's HMSP invested $166.1 million in a new IQOS-Heets tobacco factory with a yearly production capacity of 15.45 billion.

Recently, Indonesia's cigarette company, Sampoerna, has opened a new factory to produce innovative tobacco products under the IQOS-HEETS brand. What was the amount of HMSP's investment?


According to an official statement from the Ministry of Industry (Kemenperin), HMSP has pledged to invest $166.1 million in the innovative IQOS-Heets tobacco product, with an annual production capacity of 15.45 billion units.


Last week, the Minister of Economic Affairs, Airlangga Hartarto, unveiled Sampoerna's innovative tobacco factory in Karawang, expressing hopes that the investment will have a positive impact on the country.


Airlangga stated that there is a particular focus on encouraging innovation and creating economic value in various sectors, including MSMEs, traditional retail, partnerships with farmers, and R&D development.


On the other hand, this innovative tobacco factory's investment involves approximately 500 skilled workers and is supported by a research and development facility with an investment of up to $600,000.


It is reported that the tobacco products industry (IHT) is expected to contribute $934.05 million in foreign exchange revenue through product exports in 2021. A significant portion of this, up to 8.41%, is expected to come from other tobacco processing products (HPTL) and electronic cigarettes (REL).


In 2021, consumer tax revenue in Indonesia increased by 10.24% compared to 170.24 trillion rupiah in 2020, reaching 188.81 trillion rupiah.


The government has established the National Standard of Indonesia (SNI) for heating tobacco products in 2020 and for e-cigarette liquids in 2021.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Product | IVG Launches NEXiO Prefilled Pod System, Expanding Beyond Disposable Vapes
Product | IVG Launches NEXiO Prefilled Pod System, Expanding Beyond Disposable Vapes
UK vape brand IVG has launched the NEXiO reusable prefilled pod system, expanding its product portfolio beyond disposable vape products. The device features a 1,000mAh rechargeable battery, prefilled pods with a refill reservoir structure and a claimed capacity of up to 10,000 puffs. Officially launched in the UK on July 9, 2026, NEXiO debuted with 17 flavor options, reflecting IVG’s move into reusable pod formats.
Aug.19
2Firsts Compliance Solutions Hosts PMTA Briefing on FDA Review Signals After JUUL2 Authorization
2Firsts Compliance Solutions Hosts PMTA Briefing on FDA Review Signals After JUUL2 Authorization
Following recent FDA authorizations for JUUL2 and ZYN ULTRA, 2Firsts Compliance Solutions held an online PMTA briefing on Sept. 4 to examine what the decisions may signal about review efficiency, scientific evidence and U.S. market access. Nearly 30 participants from brands, manufacturers, compliance service providers and investment firms joined the discussion.
2Firsts Events
Sep.06
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives
PMI CEO Attends Opening of IQOS Global Flagship in Tokyo’s Ginza as 1,814 Limited ILUMA i PRIME Sets Launch
PMI CEO Attends Opening of IQOS Global Flagship in Tokyo’s Ginza as 1,814 Limited ILUMA i PRIME Sets Launch
IQOS opened its first global flagship, IQOS Flagship Ginza, in Tokyo on September 4, 2026, replacing the former IQOS Store Ginza after nearly a decade of operation. The new location expands conventional product retail into member lounges, digital experiences, art installations and brand programming. IQOS also launched a Ginza-exclusive IQOS ILUMA i PRIME set limited to 1,814 individually numbered units, priced at JPY11,980, or about US$77. PMI Sales Strategy Consultant Yuji M. later said on LinkedIn that more than 500 people had lined up from the night before the opening.
Sep.07
Kelly White Bets on Female Consumers as Nicotine Pouch Competition Intensifies | 2Firsts Interview
Kelly White Bets on Female Consumers as Nicotine Pouch Competition Intensifies | 2Firsts Interview
Swedish nicotine pouch brand Kelly White is building its strategy around adult female consumers. Founder and CEO Sophia Wilsby told 2Firsts that women accounted for around 70% of the brand’s repeat customers on HAYPP in Sweden in 2025. The interview explores female consumer segmentation, product and design differentiation, gender stereotypes, packaging regulation, and how independent brands can compete with global players such as ZYN and VELO while considering funding, partnerships and future ownership options.
Business
Sep.24
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23