BAT Sells 3.5% Stake in ITC for $2.1 Billion

BAT by 2FIRSTS.ai
Mar.14.2024
BAT Sells 3.5% Stake in ITC for $2.1 Billion
British American Tobacco (BAT) sells 3.5% stake in India's ITC Ltd for $2.1 billion, retaining 25.5% ownership.

According to a report from the Indian media outlet Theweek, British American Tobacco (BAT) sold a 3.5% stake in Indian Tobacco Company (ITC Ltd) through a public market transaction on March 13, with the total transaction amount reaching 174.85 billion rupees ($2.1 billion USD).

 

Despite completing this major transaction, BAT remains an important shareholder of ITC, holding a 25.5% stake in the company. Other shareholders of ITC include the Singapore government, Singapore Monetary Authority, Lockheed Martin Corporation, Goldman Sachs (Singapore), Copthall Mauritius Investments, BofA Securities Europe SA, Societe Generale, Morgan Stanley Asia Singapore Limited, and Ghisallo Master Fund LP.

 

BAT has sold over 436.8 million equity shares through its subsidiary India Tobacco Manufacturers (India) Ltd, in 48 transactions, equivalent to a 3.5% stake in ITC. The average selling price for these shares was 400.25 Indian rupees per share, with a total transaction value of 174.85 billion Indian rupees.

 

Over 30 institutions purchased shares in this sale, including ICICI Prudential Mutual Fund, Motilal Oswal MF, Nippon India MF, SBI MF, Max Life Insurance Company, IMF, Capital Group, Kuwait Investment Authority, The People's Bank of China, and International Bank for Reconstruction and Development.

 

It is reported that BAT plans to use the net proceeds from this bulk transaction to buy back its own shares by December 2025, starting as early as 2024, with a total amount of up to 700 million pounds. In addition, BAT will continue to use operating cash flow to fund its transformation and further reduce debt.

 

The initial investment by BAT in ITC can be traced back to the early 20th century, with both companies maintaining a mutually beneficial relationship for an extended period of time.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Product | Four CrossBar 20K 13mL High-Puff Vapes Listed on Pennsylvania's ENDS Directory, Rated for Up to 20,000 Puffs
Product | Four CrossBar 20K 13mL High-Puff Vapes Listed on Pennsylvania's ENDS Directory, Rated for Up to 20,000 Puffs
Four CrossBar 20K disposable e-cigarettes appeared on Pennsylvania's 163-entry ENDS directory ahead of enforcement beginning October 19, 2026. The devices feature 13mL e-liquid reservoirs, 50mg/mL nicotine, 2,000mAh batteries and 0.9Ω mesh coils, with advertised puff counts of up to 20,000. CrossBar was the only modern high-puff disposable series among the directory's 15 disposable entries. Its packaging emphasizes New York design and Japanese-origin flavoring, while historical CrossBar records identify a registered U.S. tobacco manufacturing-related establishment. The link between the newer 13mL devices and earlier 1.3mL PMTA filings remains unconfirmed.
product
Oct.26
From Vuse, Velo and glo to AI Consulting: Former BAT Content Lead Launches Destreza
From Vuse, Velo and glo to AI Consulting: Former BAT Content Lead Launches Destreza
Former BAT global content lead Andy Parton has left the company and launched Destreza, a London-based AI-native marketing consultancy. Parton previously worked across BAT's New Category brands Vuse, Velo and glo and had also served as Global Brand Lead for Vuse Go. Destreza says it will advise consumer businesses on AI in brand strategy, operating models, capability and agency configuration, using specialist AI agents to support research, strategy and creative development. BAT reported £3.621 billion in New Category revenue in 2025.
Sep.22
Italian Financial Police Seize 4.3 Million E-Cigarettes and Smoking Accessories; 28 Reported to Judicial Authorities Across Operations
Italian Financial Police Seize 4.3 Million E-Cigarettes and Smoking Accessories; 28 Reported to Judicial Authorities Across Operations
Italy's Guardia di Finanza announced on October 28 that officers in Latina province had seized approximately 4.3 million e-cigarettes and smoking accessories at an unauthorized warehouse in an operation involving restrictions on the possession and sale of tobacco-related products. Another 300,000 suspected counterfeit or unsafe items were confiscated during separate inspections, bringing total seizures across the operations to more than 4.6 million products. Twenty-eight people were reported to judicial authorities over suspected smuggling and counterfeiting offenses. Officials did not disclose separate vape quantities, the value of the merchandise or alleged violations associated with individual brands.
Enforcement
Oct.29
UK HMRC Launches Vape Duty Stamps on October 1, Ushering in Supply-Chain Traceability as Chinese Exporters Face New Compliance Hurdles
UK HMRC Launches Vape Duty Stamps on October 1, Ushering in Supply-Chain Traceability as Chinese Exporters Face New Compliance Hurdles
HM Revenue & Customs put the UK's Vaping Products Duty and Vaping Duty Stamps Scheme into effect on October 1. All vaping liquids manufactured in or imported into the UK are now subject to duty at £2.20 per 10ml, regardless of nicotine content. The stamp regime will introduce digital functionality designed to provide traceability throughout the supply chain, with approved manufacturers, importers and warehousekeepers required to report product movements and retailers and consumers eventually able to scan stamps to verify authenticity. China exported $177 million of vape-related products to the UK in August, up 51.4% year over year, increasing the significance of the new compliance regime for China's Shenzhen-centered vape supply chain.
Regulations
Oct.04
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company has begun selling four flavored Vuse Pro pods — Peach, Berry, Watermelon and Fresh Mint — in Ohio and selected other U.S. markets. According to the Vuse U.S. FAQ, Vuse Pro contains approximately 5.0% nicotine by weight, and Vuse Pro pre-filled pods are intended for use with Vuse Alto devices. Reynolds told 2Firsts that product labeling lists an e-liquid capacity of 2.0 mL per pod. The Vuse Alto Power Unit received FDA marketing authorization in 2024, while the new Vuse Pro pods themselves have not received marketing granted orders. The rollout follows the FDA’s May 2026 revision of enforcement priorities for certain unauthorized vaping products with qualifying pending applications.
BAT
Sep.10
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23