Cigarette Prices in Egypt Increase by EGP 2-3

Mar.28.2023
Cigarette Prices in Egypt Increase by EGP 2-3
Egypt's Eastern Company increases average cigarette prices by EGP 2-3 per pack on March 25.

On March 25th, Egypt's state-owned Eastern Company announced a 2-3 Egyptian pound (equivalent to approximately 0.44-0.66 yuan) increase in the average price of each pack of cigarettes, cigars, and pipe tobacco.


Ten packs of Cleopatra cigarettes are currently selling for 15 Egyptian pounds (about 3.3 yuan), while a pack of Cleopatra King Size is priced at 23 Egyptian pounds (about 5 yuan). Viceroy and Pall Mall cigarettes are selling for 33 Egyptian pounds (about 7.3 yuan) per pack.


The prices of Cleopatra Soft Queen, Boston/Belmont, Cleopatra Box (in white, black, and color), Cleopatra Mondial Switch, and Matossian cigarettes have all increased to 24 Egyptian pounds (approximately 5 yuan) per pack.


This is the first price increase for the company in 2023, following two previous increases in September 2022 and March 2022.


According to reports, the state-owned Eastern Tobacco Company of Egypt was established in 1920 and is the largest tobacco producer in Egypt.


The revenue of Eastern Company increased by 6% in 2022, reaching 67.9 billion Egyptian pounds (approximately 15.1 billion Chinese yuan), higher than the 63.8 billion Egyptian pounds (approximately 4.2 billion Chinese yuan) of the fiscal year 2021.


In September of last year, a subsidiary of Philippine-based company PMI partnered with tobacco company UTC to begin producing cigarettes in the Egyptian market. This marked the end of decades-long monopoly on cigarette production by a single company.


Reference:


Local cigarette prices in Egypt have increased by EGP 2-3 per pack.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
Special Report | From Oversupply to Supply Gaps: Global Tobacco Leaf Markets Diverge Ahead of 2027
Special Report | From Oversupply to Supply Gaps: Global Tobacco Leaf Markets Diverge Ahead of 2027
Global tobacco leaf markets diverged sharply in 2026, with India cutting authorised FCV production amid oversupply while Malawi faced a supply shortfall. U.S. demand improved in some leaf categories, but growers in Brazil, Colombia, Tanzania and Zimbabwe faced pressure from prices, buyer access, costs and weather. With nicotine consumption patterns also shifting, 2027 will test whether supply, demand and grower profitability can move back toward balance.
Oct.26
South Korea Extends Vape Rules to Unmanned Stores After Bringing Synthetic Nicotine Under Tobacco Law
South Korea Extends Vape Rules to Unmanned Stores After Bringing Synthetic Nicotine Under Tobacco Law
South Korea's Ministry of Gender Equality and Family said on September 14 that it plans to designate unmanned e-cigarette stores as businesses where minors are prohibited from entering or working. Operators would be required to verify customers' ages and display notices restricting access by minors. The proposal is open for public comment through October 6. The move follows an April expansion of South Korea's statutory tobacco definition that brought products made with natural or synthetic nicotine under the Tobacco Business Act. Nicotine-free liquids and products using nicotine analogues such as 6-methylnicotine, however, remain an emerging regulatory issue.
Sep.21
Product | PMJ Adds Bold Ruby to IQOS ILUMA i Lineup in Japan, Convenience-Store Rollout Starts Sept. 29
Product | PMJ Adds Bold Ruby to IQOS ILUMA i Lineup in Japan, Convenience-Store Rollout Starts Sept. 29
Philip Morris Japan (PMJ) launched Bold Ruby as a new regular color for the IQOS ILUMA i and IQOS ILUMA i ONE in Japan on September 16, 2026, priced at JPY 6,980 and JPY 3,980, respectively. Initial sales began through IQOS online and physical channels, with convenience stores and selected tobacco retailers set to follow from September 29. Bold Ruby is a regular rather than limited-edition colorway and is available for the ILUMA i and ILUMA i ONE, but not the ILUMA i PRIME. The release does not involve changes to the devices' core hardware or functions.
Sep.22
2Firsts On-Site | CTIHK Showcases Nicotine Pouches, Heated Tobacco and Chinese Cigars at InterTabac 2026
2Firsts On-Site | CTIHK Showcases Nicotine Pouches, Heated Tobacco and Chinese Cigars at InterTabac 2026
At InterTabac 2026 in Dortmund, China Tobacco International (HK) Company Limited (CTIHK) is exhibiting across two separate booths in Hall 5 and Hall 4. Products observed by 2Firsts include heated tobacco products, nicotine pouches, Chinese cigars and tobacco leaf. Nicotine pouch products on display include TOOP, Shuangxi and Ashima.
Market
Sep.16
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives