Imperial Acquires TJP's Nicotine Pouches for US Market

Business by 2FIRSTS.ai
Jun.27.2023
Imperial Acquires TJP's Nicotine Pouches for US Market
Recently, Imperial Tobacco Group (ITG) announced the acquisition of TJP Lab's nicotine pouch business for £65 million, aiming to enter the US oral tobacco market.

Imperial Tobacco Group (ITG) announced on its official website that it has acquired the nicotine pouch business of Canada's TJP Laboratory for a price of £65 million. This move is aimed at expanding its presence in the US oral tobacco market.

 

After the completion of the acquisition, ITG has decided to reintroduce the series of products, totaling 14, under a completely new brand in the United States by the year 2024. Meanwhile, TJP will continue to manufacture nicotine pouches for ITG as per their contractual agreement.

 

Kim Reed, President and CEO of ITG, stated, "This presents us with an opportunity to expand our business in the United States with next-generation products, allowing us to offer a wider range of choices to legal adult consumers. We are looking forward to a long and successful partnership with TJP Laboratory.

 

David Richmond-Peck, CEO of TJP Laboratory, expressed in an interview the company's excitement about building a strong and lasting partnership with Empire, which has proven expertise in brand development, marketing, and sales execution in the United States. Empire has a long-standing track record of responsible operations on a global scale. This deal aligns with TJP Laboratory's commitment to developing and manufacturing products that promote global injury reduction, consumer choice, and flexibility.

 

It is reported that ITG has been promoting modern oral products in certain European markets under the brand names Zone X and Skruf.

 

References:

 

Imperial has recently announced the acquisition of the nicotine pouches range from TJP based in the United States.

 


Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Product | JT Launches Three Autumn-Limited Ploom Tobacco Sticks in Japan Across EVO, MEVIUS and CAMEL Brands
Product | JT Launches Three Autumn-Limited Ploom Tobacco Sticks in Japan Across EVO, MEVIUS and CAMEL Brands
Japan Tobacco Inc. (JT) launched three limited-edition autumn tobacco sticks for its Ploom heated tobacco devices in Japan on October 16, 2026, under the EVO, MEVIUS and CAMEL brands. All three are regular tobacco variants with seasonal packaging. Each pack contains 20 sticks, priced at ¥620, ¥590 and ¥570, respectively, including tax. The products are compatible with all Ploom devices and are sold in limited quantities exclusively through the CLUB JT online store while supplies last.
product
Oct.20
UK HMRC Unveils Red and Yellow Transitional Vape Duty Stamps Ahead of October Tax Launch
UK HMRC Unveils Red and Yellow Transitional Vape Duty Stamps Ahead of October Tax Launch
HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) has released sample images of the UK’s transitional vaping duty stamps, showing red and yellow versions ahead of the new Vaping Products Duty and Vaping Duty Stamps Scheme starting on October 1, 2026. Transitional stamps contain physical security features but no digital scanning function. Approved businesses may purchase them through November 30 and affix them through December 31. HMRC has not stated that the red and yellow samples represent different product categories or tax statuses.
Regulations
Sep.02
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
Bret Koplow Takes Permanent Charge of FDA Tobacco Center After Pushing Faster PMTA Reviews, as HHS Emphasizes Innovation and Access to Lower-Risk Alternatives
Bret Koplow Takes Permanent Charge of FDA Tobacco Center After Pushing Faster PMTA Reviews, as HHS Emphasizes Innovation and Access to Lower-Risk Alternatives
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has named Bret Koplow permanent director of the FDA’s Center for Tobacco Products, ending his period as acting chief. Koplow has spent years working on tobacco regulation, law and policy inside the FDA and, while serving as acting director, pushed for faster PMTA reviews and nicotine pouch review pilots. HHS also said CTP will prioritize innovation and access to less harmful alternatives for adult smokers while continuing efforts to protect youth.
Sep.09
Product | PMJ Adds Bold Ruby to IQOS ILUMA i Lineup in Japan, Convenience-Store Rollout Starts Sept. 29
Product | PMJ Adds Bold Ruby to IQOS ILUMA i Lineup in Japan, Convenience-Store Rollout Starts Sept. 29
Philip Morris Japan (PMJ) launched Bold Ruby as a new regular color for the IQOS ILUMA i and IQOS ILUMA i ONE in Japan on September 16, 2026, priced at JPY 6,980 and JPY 3,980, respectively. Initial sales began through IQOS online and physical channels, with convenience stores and selected tobacco retailers set to follow from September 29. Bold Ruby is a regular rather than limited-edition colorway and is available for the ILUMA i and ILUMA i ONE, but not the ILUMA i PRIME. The release does not involve changes to the devices' core hardware or functions.
Sep.22
Product | SMOORE's VAPORESSO Introduces VAST Refillable Vape With Three Resistances in One Pod
Product | SMOORE's VAPORESSO Introduces VAST Refillable Vape With Three Resistances in One Pod
SMOORE-owned vaping brand VAPORESSO introduced the VAST refillable open-system vape in October 2026, featuring Tri-Core Mesh technology that integrates three resistance configurations—0.8Ω, 0.6Ω and 0.4Ω—within a single pod. The device supports different operating modes and e-liquid types. The standard version features a 10mL pod, while a TPD-labelled configuration combines a 2mL pod with an 8mL refill container. The device has a 1,600mAh battery and a maximum output of 30W. VAPORESSO claims up to six pod refills and a tested coil lifespan of up to 150,000 puffs. The UK's MHRA published a related device notification on October 12. The official MSRP is $25.90, compared with a $35.90 listing on VAPORESSO's direct store.
product
Oct.30