Nepal Considers Banning E-Cigarette Sales Due to Rising Youth Usage

Regulations by 2FIRSTS.ai
Apr.09.2024
Nepal Considers Banning E-Cigarette Sales Due to Rising Youth Usage
Nepal considers banning e-cigarette sales due to rising youth usage and concerns over health risks, reports MyRepublica.

According to a recent report by MyRepublica, the Information Officer at the Nepal Health Education, Information and Communication Center believes that Nepal may ban the sale of e-cigarettes in the future.

 

Nepal is currently facing an issue of increasing e-cigarette usage among teenagers. According to statistics, Nepal's e-cigarette imports are projected to reach 3.2 million units by 2023, with an estimated market value of 21 billion Nepalese Rupees (approximately $15.8 million USD). Despite research indicating that e-cigarette vapor is at least 95% less harmful than smoking, Nepal considers the potential harm of e-cigarettes to be on par with traditional tobacco burning, based on health concerns.

 

According to a recent survey by the Nepal Development Research Institute, 34.1% of the population in Nepal smoke, showing an increase from 31.8% in 2020.

 

Researcher Kamal Chaulagain from the Nepal Development Studies Institute believes that the increasing popularity of tobacco consumption is due to the growing prevalence of hookahs and e-cigarettes, with some users viewing them as alternatives to traditional smoking. He also calls for an increase in tobacco taxes. Jaya Kumar Gurung, the director of the Nepal Development Studies Institute, accuses the weak enforcement of anti-smoking legislation, emphasizing the lack of public awareness regarding the harmful effects of tobacco products.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company has begun selling four flavored Vuse Pro pods — Peach, Berry, Watermelon and Fresh Mint — in Ohio and selected other U.S. markets. According to the Vuse U.S. FAQ, Vuse Pro contains approximately 5.0% nicotine by weight, and Vuse Pro pre-filled pods are intended for use with Vuse Alto devices. Reynolds told 2Firsts that product labeling lists an e-liquid capacity of 2.0 mL per pod. The Vuse Alto Power Unit received FDA marketing authorization in 2024, while the new Vuse Pro pods themselves have not received marketing granted orders. The rollout follows the FDA’s May 2026 revision of enforcement priorities for certain unauthorized vaping products with qualifying pending applications.
BAT
Sep.10
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
Wang Gongcheng, deputy administrator of China’s State Tobacco Monopoly Administration, met KT&G Chief Operating Officer Lee Sang-hak in Shanghai on September 1, according to Oriental Tobacco News. The meeting comes as China seeks public comment on a draft mandatory national standard for heated cigarettes. The report did not disclose the subjects discussed or indicate whether heated tobacco products or market access were addressed.
News
Sep.02
UK HMRC Unveils Red and Yellow Transitional Vape Duty Stamps Ahead of October Tax Launch
UK HMRC Unveils Red and Yellow Transitional Vape Duty Stamps Ahead of October Tax Launch
HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) has released sample images of the UK’s transitional vaping duty stamps, showing red and yellow versions ahead of the new Vaping Products Duty and Vaping Duty Stamps Scheme starting on October 1, 2026. Transitional stamps contain physical security features but no digital scanning function. Approved businesses may purchase them through November 30 and affix them through December 31. HMRC has not stated that the red and yellow samples represent different product categories or tax statuses.
Regulations
Sep.02
FDA Revises Import Alert 98-07 Rules, Bringing May Enforcement Priorities Into Unauthorized ENDS Detentions
FDA Revises Import Alert 98-07 Rules, Bringing May Enforcement Priorities Into Unauthorized ENDS Detentions
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has revised the rules under Import Alert 98-07 to incorporate its May 2026 enforcement-priority policy for certain electronic nicotine delivery systems marketed without premarket authorization. The alert continues to allow detention without physical examination, or DWPE, for ENDS lacking required marketing authorization, while directing field divisions to apply the May risk-based framework. When necessary, detention or refusal decisions must also undergo review by the FDA's Center for Tobacco Products. Products including PACHA and Vuse Pro have already emerged as industry examples of the May policy, although enforcement discretion does not constitute FDA marketing authorization.
News
Sep.28 by 2Firsts Perspectives
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
Philip Morris International's PMI Business Solutions Philippines has expanded its global business services hub in Makati and plans to add more than 80 positions. Established in 2021 primarily to provide finance and IT support to about 20 markets, the center now employs 519 professionals delivering roughly 600 services across 160 markets. Its functions now span finance, human resources, IT, commercial operations, data analytics, supply chain and project management. PMI says the hub's next phase will focus on AI-enabled and higher-value work. The company did not disclose the size or investment cost of the expansion.
Sep.24
Cochrane 2026 Update Adds Nine Trials, Keeps High-Certainty Finding That Nicotine E-Cigarettes Improve Quit Rates Over NRT
Cochrane 2026 Update Adds Nine Trials, Keeps High-Certainty Finding That Nicotine E-Cigarettes Improve Quit Rates Over NRT
Cochrane’s 2026 update of its living review on electronic cigarettes for smoking cessation included 80 randomized controlled trials involving 29,861 adult smokers, with nine trials added in this update. The review retained its high-certainty conclusion that nicotine e-cigarettes increase smoking cessation rates compared with nicotine replacement therapy. In absolute terms, about 10 in 100 people using nicotine e-cigarettes may quit smoking for at least six months, compared with about 6 in 100 using NRT. The review found no clear difference in serious adverse event rates between the two groups, while longer-term safety and the relative effectiveness of newer device types remain less certain.
Sep.07