Philippines Draft Order Would Bring Nicotine Pouches Under PS Licensing Scheme

Apr.13
Philippines Draft Order Would Bring Nicotine Pouches Under PS Licensing Scheme
The Philippine Department of Trade and Industry is planning to impose mandatory product certification on nicotine pouches in an effort to curb illicit nicotine product trade.

Key Takeaways

 

  • The Philippine Department of Trade and Industry plans to impose mandatory product certification on nicotine pouches under the Philippine Standard Licensing Scheme.
  • The DTI said the public and relevant stakeholders may submit comments on the draft administrative order until April 17.
  • The draft says nicotine pouches may only be imported, distributed, or sold in the Philippines if sourced from a manufacturing facility with a valid PS license.
  • Retail packaging would be required to show the product name, nicotine content, quantity, manufacturing date, batch or lot number, allergens, PS mark, health warnings, and manufacturer and importer information.
  • The draft provides a one-year transition period for stakeholders to comply with the nicotine product requirements under the PS Licensing Scheme.

 


 

2Firsts, April 13, 2026 

 

According to DTI, Philippine Department of Trade and Industry is planning to impose mandatory product certification on nicotine pouches to curb illicit trade in nicotine products.

 

Philippines plans mandatory certification for nicotine pouches

 

According to a draft administrative order, the DTI is considering mandatory product certification of nicotine pouches under the Philippine Standard Licensing Scheme. In a Facebook post on Wednesday, the department said the public and other relevant stakeholders may comment on the draft order until April 17.

 

The draft defines a nicotine pouch as a novel tobacco product in the form of pre-portioned pouches containing nicotine and designed for buccal absorption without combustion or vaporization.

 

Products would need to come from licensed manufacturing facilities

 

The draft states that such products may only be imported, distributed, or sold in the Philippines if they are sourced from a manufacturing facility holding a valid PS license. 

 

The DTI said compliance would be certified by a written declaration from the manufacturer submitted as part of the PS license application.

 

Retail packaging would need nicotine content and health warnings

 

Under the draft, each retail package of nicotine pouches must carry legible and indelible markings in English or Filipino showing the product name, nicotine content, quantity, manufacturing date, batch or lot number, consumable consumption, allergens, PS mark, health warnings, manufacturer information, and importer information.

 

The draft also requires packaging to include instructions for use and disposal, as well as health warnings.

 

It further states that any activity that alters or modifies the nicotine pouch or its packaging configuration after manufacture, including changes in labeling, batch traceability, or exposure conditions that may compromise product quality and consumer safety, will not be permitted.

 

The draft says stakeholders will be given a one-year transition period to comply with the nicotine product requirements under the PS Licensing Scheme.

 

Image source: DTI

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Swedish Match Faces Broader Labeling Order After ZYN Inspection, Documents Obtained by 2Firsts Show
Swedish Match Faces Broader Labeling Order After ZYN Inspection, Documents Obtained by 2Firsts Show
Documents obtained by 2Firsts show that Sweden's Public Health Agency ordered Swedish Match to revise ingredient labels beyond the five ZYN products inspected. The dispute centers on whether flavoring ingredients must be individually disclosed, with Swedish Match citing trade-secret protection and the regulator insisting on full ingredient disclosure. The company faces a conditional penalty of SEK 2 million per month for noncompliance. As of October 22, the agency had received no appeal, despite the company's stated intention to challenge the decision.
Oct.22
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
Canada Considers Easing Pharmacy-Only Nicotine Pouch Sales Rules, Potentially Reopening Convenience Store Channel
Canada Considers Easing Pharmacy-Only Nicotine Pouch Sales Rules, Potentially Reopening Convenience Store Channel
Canada's federal government is considering changes to current restrictions on where nicotine pouches can be sold, potentially allowing authorized products to return to convenience stores and other general retail channels, although no decision has been made. Since 2024, emerging nicotine replacement therapy products such as nicotine pouches have been largely restricted to behind-the-counter pharmacy sales. Health Canada, meanwhile, continues to recall unauthorized and higher-strength nicotine pouches, indicating that the current discussion concerns retail access for authorized products rather than a broad relaxation of nicotine pouch regulation.
Sep.14
Major U.S.  Vape Distributor Demand Vape Pays at Least $300,000 for White House Lobbying Amid Enforcement Pressure
Major U.S. Vape Distributor Demand Vape Pays at Least $300,000 for White House Lobbying Amid Enforcement Pressure
New York vape distributor Ecto World, which operates as Demand Vape, hired political consultant Roger Stone to lobby the Executive Office of the President on regulation of vaping and related products while facing state enforcement and multiple lawsuits. Public lobbying disclosures show that Ecto World paid at least $300,000 for the work through June 30, 2026. Separately, New York State announced in March that more than 28,500 pounds of vaping products tied to the company had been seized, while New York City and the state have pursued legal or enforcement actions. Public records do not show that the lobbying directly changed any specific regulatory or enforcement outcome.
Sep.08
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Pennsylvania Vape Directory Enforcement Starts Oct. 19, Barring Retail Sales of Unlisted Products
Pennsylvania Vape Directory Enforcement Starts Oct. 19, Barring Retail Sales of Unlisted Products
Pennsylvania's Act 57 vape directory regime will reach the end of its 120-day inventory transition period on Oct. 19. Nicotine-containing e-cigarettes intended for retail sale in the state that are not listed on the Attorney General's ENDS directory will then be barred from retail sale and treated as contraband subject to seizure, forfeiture and destruction. Manufacturers face annual product certification, brand- and style-based fees and a minimum $50,000 surety bond, while retailers and wholesalers must source through licensed channels and monitor the directory.
Regulations
Oct.08