Russian Government Proposes Significant Tax Increase on Heated Tobacco and E-Cigarettes

Nov.21.2022
Russian Government Proposes Significant Tax Increase on Heated Tobacco and E-Cigarettes
Russian Finance Ministry proposes to increase taxes on heated tobacco by 33% and vape products by 94%.

RTVI reports that the Russian Ministry of Finance has proposed a 33% increase in excise taxes on heated tobacco products (such as IQOS, Glo, and others) in 2023, rather than the current plan of 4%. Additionally, the tax rate for e-cigarettes and nicotine-containing liquids used in them may increase by 94%, instead of 6%. On November 17, the Federal Council discussed legislative changes at a roundtable specifically focused on the tobacco industry in Russia.


The regulations regarding consumption tax on the website of the Federal Tax Service of Russia. Image source: Federal Tax Service of Russia.


We are discussing the second reading of the draft federal budget for 2023 and amendments to the 2024-2025 plan, scheduled for November 22 in the State Duma. The original amendment proposed a 4% increase in the consumption tax for heated tobacco products (HNB), as well as an equal increase in the consumption tax for traditional cigarettes, and a 6% increase in the tax for nicotine-containing liquids." A participant at the roundtable told RTVI, but a revised amendment with new rates was introduced about two weeks ago.


The Ministry of Finance believes that raising the tobacco consumption tax on heated tobacco products containing nicotine by 94% and 33%, respectively, will increase federal budget revenues by 13 billion rubles and nearly 1 billion rubles. However, some market participants disagree with the ministry's proposal. Therefore, Sergey Slipchenko, Vice President of Affiliated Company Affairs for Philip Morris International in Russia (which produces Marlboro, Parliament cigarettes, and the Iqos tobacco heating system and other products), pointed out that the proposed increase in the consumption tax rate would result in a price increase of 17.4 rubles per pack of HNB sticks. He believes that such a sharp increase in price will not increase budget revenues but will instead have an impact on consumers and lead to an increase in the share of the illegal market.


Slipchenko has warned that the difference in consumption taxes between HNB products in Russia and many EAEU countries with a large amount of illegal tobacco products is already significant. For example, in Armenia, this tax is 79% lower, 77% lower in Kazakhstan, 44% lower in Belarus, and 28% lower in Kyrgyzstan. If the proposed amendment is passed, the situation will deteriorate further.


Therefore, a representative of the tobacco company proposed a more restrained increase in rates - a 15% increase in rates for heated tobacco and nicotine-containing products, and a 6% increase for regular cigarettes, instead of the planned 4%. In his opinion, this would lead to a moderate price increase (a 7.9% increase per pod), and would result in actual growth of federal budget revenue.


Statement:


This article is compiled from third-party information and is intended for industry-related communication and learning purposes only.


This article does not represent the views of 2FIRSTS, and 2FIRSTS cannot confirm the authenticity or accuracy of the article's content. The translation of this article is only for industry-related research and communication purposes.


Due to limited translation ability, the translated article may not accurately reflect the original text. Please refer to the original text for accuracy.


2FIRSTS maintains complete alignment with the Chinese government on all domestic, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, and foreign issues and positions.


The copyright of compiled information belongs to the original media and author. Please contact us if there is any infringement and we will remove it.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Wisconsin Vape Directory One Year On: Retailer Reports Four Store Closures and 70% Staff Cuts
Wisconsin Vape Directory One Year On: Retailer Reports Four Store Closures and 70% Staff Cuts
Wisconsin's electronic vaping device directory has been fully enforced for more than a year, and local vape retailers say the reduced range of eligible products has contributed to declining sales, store closures and layoffs. Johnny Vapes owner Ben Hall said he has closed four of seven locations and cut about 70% of his staff. State law bars the sale of vaping devices not listed on the Wisconsin Department of Revenue directory and allows penalties of $1,000 per day for each unlisted device sold or offered for sale. In April 2026, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit allowed enforcement of the law to continue.
Regulations
Oct.10
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
Reynolds Puts Nearly 183,000 U.S. Contracted Outlets Under Age-Verification Rules, Covering 94% of Volume — Can It Shift an Unauthorized Vape Market?
Reynolds Puts Nearly 183,000 U.S. Contracted Outlets Under Age-Verification Rules, Covering 94% of Volume — Can It Shift an Unauthorized Vape Market?
Reynolds American says nearly 183,000 U.S. retail outlets are under contract, with its Retail Marketing Plan Contract covering about 94% of company volume and requiring point-of-sale age verification. The company combines those contracts with We Card, TruAge, NACS-linked infrastructure and POS integration, while enhanced Vuse Pro retail rules add ID scanning, purchase limits and stronger underage-sales accountability. The initial Vuse Pro rollout targets about 50,000 stores. The system is taking shape as unauthorized vapor products remain dominant in parts of the U.S. market: a 2026 study estimated they accounted for 69.4% of tracked brick-and-mortar e-cigarette dollar sales in December 2025.
Special Report
Oct.15
EU Tobacco Tax Reform Targets November Push as Sweden Holds Nicotine-Pouch Minimum at €20 per Kilogram
EU Tobacco Tax Reform Targets November Push as Sweden Holds Nicotine-Pouch Minimum at €20 per Kilogram
The Irish presidency of the Council of the European Union is using bilateral talks to push the bloc’s Tobacco Taxation Directive toward a political agreement in November. According to Law360, citing an EU official, Sweden is unwilling to accept a minimum excise threshold above €20 per kilogram for nicotine pouches. Council negotiations have already lowered the European Commission’s original proposal, but a May 2026 presidency compromise still set the minimum at 10% of the tax-inclusive retail price or €30 per kilogram in 2028-29, with higher levels later.
Market
Sep.17 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Swedish-Founded Nicotine Pouch Retailer GotPouches Shifts to U.S.-Based Operations, Reaching Over 25 States
Swedish-Founded Nicotine Pouch Retailer GotPouches Shifts to U.S.-Based Operations, Reaching Over 25 States
Swedish-founded online nicotine pouch retailer GotPouches has completed the localization of its U.S. operations under UpNorth Retail LLC, with corporate operations in Franklin, Tennessee, domestic fulfillment from Nashville and U.S.-based customer support. The company says its catalog covers more than 20 nicotine pouch brands and it currently serves customers in more than 25 U.S. states.
Sep.18
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives