Spanish National Smoking Prevention Plan to be Implemented by Year End

Regulations by 2FIRSTS.ai
Apr.16.2024
Spanish National Smoking Prevention Plan to be Implemented by Year End
Spanish Health Minister Mónica García announced plans for comprehensive tobacco legislation reforms to be implemented by the end of the year.

According to reports from the Spanish media outlet Infobae on Tuesday, Health Minister Mónica García stated during a joint congressional committee meeting on Monday that she expects most of the legislative changes in the national plan for tobacco control and prevention to be implemented by the end of the year.

 

Garcia is urging the public to take note that regulations regarding plain packaging are currently in the public consultation phase. Additionally, a series of new legal provisions concerning products like e-cigarettes and other tobacco-related items are similar to traditional tobacco regulations. These include modifications to the tax system, expansion of smoke-free zones, and new regulations on smoking research and the introduction of plain packaging, which will be further implemented in the coming days.

 

Garcia emphasized, "Although Spain has long prided itself on its achievements in the fight against smoking, the challenges of recent years have made us realize that existing regulations are no longer sufficient for the needs of the 21st century."

 

She stated that the Ministry of Health will actively listen, seek dialogue, and reach consensus with everyone. "The ship has already set sail, and we welcome everyone on board, but we will not retreat," Garcia concluded with a warning.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

FDA Revises Import Alert 98-07 Rules, Bringing May Enforcement Priorities Into Unauthorized ENDS Detentions
FDA Revises Import Alert 98-07 Rules, Bringing May Enforcement Priorities Into Unauthorized ENDS Detentions
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has revised the rules under Import Alert 98-07 to incorporate its May 2026 enforcement-priority policy for certain electronic nicotine delivery systems marketed without premarket authorization. The alert continues to allow detention without physical examination, or DWPE, for ENDS lacking required marketing authorization, while directing field divisions to apply the May risk-based framework. When necessary, detention or refusal decisions must also undergo review by the FDA's Center for Tobacco Products. Products including PACHA and Vuse Pro have already emerged as industry examples of the May policy, although enforcement discretion does not constitute FDA marketing authorization.
News
Sep.28 by 2Firsts Perspectives
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Reynolds Puts Nearly 183,000 U.S. Contracted Outlets Under Age-Verification Rules, Covering 94% of Volume — Can It Shift an Unauthorized Vape Market?
Reynolds Puts Nearly 183,000 U.S. Contracted Outlets Under Age-Verification Rules, Covering 94% of Volume — Can It Shift an Unauthorized Vape Market?
Reynolds American says nearly 183,000 U.S. retail outlets are under contract, with its Retail Marketing Plan Contract covering about 94% of company volume and requiring point-of-sale age verification. The company combines those contracts with We Card, TruAge, NACS-linked infrastructure and POS integration, while enhanced Vuse Pro retail rules add ID scanning, purchase limits and stronger underage-sales accountability. The initial Vuse Pro rollout targets about 50,000 stores. The system is taking shape as unauthorized vapor products remain dominant in parts of the U.S. market: a 2026 study estimated they accounted for 69.4% of tracked brick-and-mortar e-cigarette dollar sales in December 2025.
Special Report
Oct.15
India Steps Up Nicotine Pouch Enforcement as ZYN, White Fox Circulate and Drug Panel Urges Halt to New Nicotine Formulations
India Steps Up Nicotine Pouch Enforcement as ZYN, White Fox Circulate and Drug Panel Urges Halt to New Nicotine Formulations
India's Ministry of Health and Family Welfare has directed states to step up enforcement against nicotine pouch sales, citing increased availability through online and offline channels and concern about nicotine exposure among children. Reuters reported that international brands including ZYN and White Fox are being sold in India. A study led by ICMR-NICPR found pouches in seven of 10 surveyed locations and identified 68 brands and 445 flavors online. Separately, India's Drugs Technical Advisory Board recommended in August that no new nicotine formulation be approved.
Regulations
Sep.28 by 2Firsts Perspectives
BAT CFO Dragos Constantinescu Takes Office, Returning After Seven Years and Former Asahi Europe Leadership Role
BAT CFO Dragos Constantinescu Takes Office, Returning After Seven Years and Former Asahi Europe Leadership Role
Dragos Constantinescu has officially taken up his role as Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director at British American Tobacco (BAT). He previously spent 16 years at BAT across finance and general management roles in Europe before joining Asahi in 2019 and becoming CEO of Asahi Europe & International in 2025. His return comes as BAT continues to advance its “A Better Tomorrow” transformation.
BAT
Sep.01
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20