Statistics Show Northeast Lincolnshire and North Lincolnshire's Smoking Rates

Industry Insight by 2FIRSTS.ai
Nov.16.2023
Statistics Show Northeast Lincolnshire and North Lincolnshire's Smoking Rates
According to UK media, smoking rates in Northeast Lincolnshire and North Lincolnshire have been revealed.

According to a report from the British media outlet Grimsby Telegraph on November 15th, the latest statistical data from the UK government reveals that the smoking rate in Northeast Lincolnshire is 19%, ranking second highest in the Humber region. Conversely, North Lincolnshire has a smoking rate of 13.8%.

 

UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has unveiled plans to implement a phased ban on smoking in order to protect children's health, with over 12,000 responses received during a government consultation. The proposed measures aim to restrict the use of e-cigarettes and prohibit the sale of tobacco products to children aged 14 and under. Sunak emphasized the significant importance of this ban in terms of future health outcomes and cost savings for the national healthcare system.

 

The city of Hull is leading the way in terms of smoking rates, with the local government allocating a significant amount of funding towards smoking cessation efforts. Currently, the government has provided a total of £70 million (approximately $86.77 million) in funding to the local council, aiming to assist their efforts in addressing the smoking issue. This amount is more than double the current funding.

 

Furthermore, Sunak emphasized the significant importance of this ban in terms of cost-saving for future healthcare and the national medical service system. Chief Medical Officer, Chris Whitty, underscored the health risks of smoking and the potential impact of the ban.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
IVG Parent Secures HMRC Excise Warehouse and Duty Stamp Approvals Ahead of UK Vape Tax
IVG Parent Secures HMRC Excise Warehouse and Duty Stamp Approvals Ahead of UK Vape Tax
Acme Vape Ltd, the company behind UK vaping brand IVG, has received HM Revenue & Customs approval to operate an excise warehouse for vaping products and participate in the Vaping Duty Stamps Scheme. The UK's Vaping Products Duty will take effect on October 1, 2026, at a flat rate of £2.20 per 10ml of vaping liquid. Acme Vape Ltd says its approved warehouse in Preston will become operational under the new regime on the same date.
Regulations
Sep.18 by 2Firsts Perspectives
JTI Liggett Puts U.S. Value Cigarette Brands in Spotlight at 2026 NACS Show
JTI Liggett Puts U.S. Value Cigarette Brands in Spotlight at 2026 NACS Show
At the 2026 NACS Show in Las Vegas, JTI Liggett highlighted its value-priced cigarette portfolio, including LD and Montego, following JT Group's acquisition of Vector Group. The company's U.S. business reported market share gains, with LD sales volume rising 32.6% in the first half of 2026. Meanwhile, Ploom was displayed separately at Altria's booth under an existing partnership. JTI Liggett booth staff told 2Firsts that the company had not yet launched nicotine pouch products in the United States.
EXPO
Oct.09
How Large Is France’s Off-Channel Tobacco Market? Logista Says It Has Become Structural, While the Official Estimate Is 17.7% and Some Industry Studies Put It Above 50%
How Large Is France’s Off-Channel Tobacco Market? Logista Says It Has Become Structural, While the Official Estimate Is 17.7% and Some Industry Studies Put It Above 50%
Logista France says tobacco consumption outside France’s official tobacconist network has become a large and structural market phenomenon, but official and industry estimates differ sharply. France’s TAFE study estimates that 17.7% of tobacco consumption escaped domestic taxation in 2023, with most of that volume attributed to cross-border purchasing rather than street sales. Some industry studies use broader off-channel definitions and put the figure above 50%. Meanwhile, French Customs seized 547.94 tonnes of tobacco in 2025, up 12%, showing continued pressure from illicit trade.
Sep.04
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
Philip Morris International's PMI Business Solutions Philippines has expanded its global business services hub in Makati and plans to add more than 80 positions. Established in 2021 primarily to provide finance and IT support to about 20 markets, the center now employs 519 professionals delivering roughly 600 services across 160 markets. Its functions now span finance, human resources, IT, commercial operations, data analytics, supply chain and project management. PMI says the hub's next phase will focus on AI-enabled and higher-value work. The company did not disclose the size or investment cost of the expansion.
Sep.24
Product | PMJ Adds Bold Ruby to IQOS ILUMA i Lineup in Japan, Convenience-Store Rollout Starts Sept. 29
Product | PMJ Adds Bold Ruby to IQOS ILUMA i Lineup in Japan, Convenience-Store Rollout Starts Sept. 29
Philip Morris Japan (PMJ) launched Bold Ruby as a new regular color for the IQOS ILUMA i and IQOS ILUMA i ONE in Japan on September 16, 2026, priced at JPY 6,980 and JPY 3,980, respectively. Initial sales began through IQOS online and physical channels, with convenience stores and selected tobacco retailers set to follow from September 29. Bold Ruby is a regular rather than limited-edition colorway and is available for the ILUMA i and ILUMA i ONE, but not the ILUMA i PRIME. The release does not involve changes to the devices' core hardware or functions.
Sep.22