US Court Orders Health Risk Warnings on Cigarettes in Retail Stores

Dec.08.2022
US Court Orders Health Risk Warnings on Cigarettes in Retail Stores
US court orders cigarette companies to display health risk labels and corrective statements in retail stores.

A US court has ordered tobacco companies to display health warning labels related to smoking in retail stores. On December 6, the US Department of Justice announced a court order requiring tobacco companies to display health warning labels in retail stores and to issue corrective statements regarding the health risks and addictive properties of cigarettes.


In a press release on Tuesday, the Department of Justice stated that the court order "resolved the government's long-standing civil extortion lawsuit against the largest tobacco company in the United States.


In 1999, a lawsuit was filed in the United States. The trial took place in the District Court of Washington D.C. between 2004 and 2005, with the court ruling that these companies had misled consumers regarding the health risks of smoking.


Since 2019, tobacco use among teenagers has decreased from 6 million to 3 million.


The court order applies to four cigarette brands owned by Altria, Philip Morris USA Inc., R.J.Reynolds Tobacco Company and ITG Brands LLC.


A new study from San Diego State University predicts that "heat-not-burn" tobacco products could soon dominate the US market.


The Deputy Attorney General, Vanita Gupta, stated that lawyers at the Department of Justice have been working tirelessly for over 20 years to hold tobacco companies accountable for deceiving consumers about the health risks of smoking. The resolution enforces the remedies of the lawsuit to ensure consumers are aware of the hazards of purchasing tobacco products.


It is estimated that out of the 300,000 retail stores selling cigarettes in the United States, 200,000 have entered into agreements with tobacco companies to display health warning labels on their tobacco products in the stores.


According to an order released on December 6th, companies are required to modify their agreements with retail stores and display correction statements in stores. These statements will be marked with colorful logos and designed to catch attention, while also highlighting information such as the negative health effects of smoking, the addictive nature of nicotine, and the harmful effects of secondhand smoke.


This directive will come into effect on July 1, 2023, and these companies will have a three-month window to make necessary changes. After that, retailers will be required to display signs in both English and Spanish for a period of 21 months.


William Klein, Deputy Director of the "Behavioral Research" project at the National Cancer Institute, called this a momentous occasion in the history of cancer control in the United States. Smoking accounts for approximately 30% of all cancer deaths in the country. Therefore, the corrective statements ordered by the court to be displayed at tobacco sales points will help support our mission of reducing the burden of cancer. We are grateful to our colleagues in the Department of Justice for completing this important work.


2FIRSTS will continue to report on this issue and future updates will be available on the "2FIRSTSAPP." Scan the QR code below to download the app.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Wall Street Journal: U.S. FDA Plans Faster Vape and Nicotine Pouch Reviews, Revisit of 2021 PMTA Rule
Wall Street Journal: U.S. FDA Plans Faster Vape and Nicotine Pouch Reviews, Revisit of 2021 PMTA Rule
The Trump administration is preparing changes intended to accelerate FDA market authorization reviews for e-cigarettes and nicotine pouches, according to The Wall Street Journal. The FDA is expected to revisit its 2021 PMTA rule and may simplify some scientific study requirements and shorten review times. The agency has not formally announced the changes. Over the past year, the FDA has already accelerated nicotine-pouch reviews, expanded ENDS authorizations and upgraded its CTP Portal NextGen application system. As of August 2026, 43 nicotine pouch products and 48 e-cigarette products had received FDA marketing authorization.
Sep.24
South Korea Extends Vape Rules to Unmanned Stores After Bringing Synthetic Nicotine Under Tobacco Law
South Korea Extends Vape Rules to Unmanned Stores After Bringing Synthetic Nicotine Under Tobacco Law
South Korea's Ministry of Gender Equality and Family said on September 14 that it plans to designate unmanned e-cigarette stores as businesses where minors are prohibited from entering or working. Operators would be required to verify customers' ages and display notices restricting access by minors. The proposal is open for public comment through October 6. The move follows an April expansion of South Korea's statutory tobacco definition that brought products made with natural or synthetic nicotine under the Tobacco Business Act. Nicotine-free liquids and products using nicotine analogues such as 6-methylnicotine, however, remain an emerging regulatory issue.
Sep.21
Indiana Halts Sales of Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG and iJOY Vapes Under Foreign-Adversary Rules; Some Products Return After Compliance Filings
Indiana Halts Sales of Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG and iJOY Vapes Under Foreign-Adversary Rules; Some Products Return After Compliance Filings
Indiana's Alcohol and Tobacco Commission (ATC) ordered tobacco certificate holders in September to remove certain vaping products marketed under Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG, iJOY and other brands from inventory under the state's foreign-adversary product law. The agency later listed 257 MR FOG products and 77 Lost Mary product entries as lawful for sale. The Lost Mary revision expressly stated that compliance evidence had been received for 20 additional products. 2Firsts compliance expert Kurt said potential filings could include e-liquid and ingredient-origin records, U.S. nicotine-analog supply-chain documentation and FDA premarket application status.
Regulations
Oct.08
Product | Philip Morris Launches TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black in Germany With Level-10 Tobacco Intensity at €8 per Pack
Product | Philip Morris Launches TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black in Germany With Level-10 Tobacco Intensity at €8 per Pack
Philip Morris International (PMI) introduced TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black heated tobacco sticks in Germany in October 2026, both carrying a brand-rated tobacco-flavor intensity of 10, the highest level in the country's TEREA portfolio. Bold Red features leather and warm woody notes, while Bold Black combines woody and subtle floral notes. Both are sold in 20-stick packs at €8, approximately 2.6% above standard TEREA products. Germany's TEREA range now includes 11 flavor variants, alongside a separate 26-stick XL format priced at €10. IQOS Germany announced the new products on October 12, followed by a phased retail rollout from late October and an IQOS Club campaign running through December.
product
Nov.02
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
Italian Financial Police Seize 4.3 Million E-Cigarettes and Smoking Accessories; 28 Reported to Judicial Authorities Across Operations
Italian Financial Police Seize 4.3 Million E-Cigarettes and Smoking Accessories; 28 Reported to Judicial Authorities Across Operations
Italy's Guardia di Finanza announced on October 28 that officers in Latina province had seized approximately 4.3 million e-cigarettes and smoking accessories at an unauthorized warehouse in an operation involving restrictions on the possession and sale of tobacco-related products. Another 300,000 suspected counterfeit or unsafe items were confiscated during separate inspections, bringing total seizures across the operations to more than 4.6 million products. Twenty-eight people were reported to judicial authorities over suspected smuggling and counterfeiting offenses. Officials did not disclose separate vape quantities, the value of the merchandise or alleged violations associated with individual brands.
Enforcement
Oct.29