Utah to Ban Sale of Flavored E-cigarettes and Disposable Devices from Jan 2025

Regulations by 2FIRSTS.ai
Mar.22.2024
Utah to Ban Sale of Flavored E-cigarettes and Disposable Devices from Jan 2025
Utah Governor Spencer Cox signed a bill banning the sale of flavored e-cigarette products. The bill prohibits the sale of flavored e-cigarette cartridges and disposable devices, specifically targeting flavors such as fruit, candy, dessert, alcoholic beverages, spices, or mint. The ban will take effect on January 1, 2025.

According to abc4 reports on March 21, this Wednesday (March 20), Utah Governor Spencer Cox signed a bill banning the sale of flavored e-cigarette products in Utah.

 

Senate Bill 61 prohibits the sale of flavored e-cigarette cartridges and disposable devices, specifically targeting flavors such as fruit, candy, dessert, alcoholic beverages, spices, or mint. Mint and tobacco flavors will still be allowed. The ban will take effect on January 1, 2025.

 

The sponsor of the bill, Democratic Senator Jen Plumb, stated that the legislation aims to curb the popularity of flavored e-cigarettes among adolescents.

 

Initially, the bill included mint as an allowed flavor, but it was removed at the last minute when the agreement was reached. Plumb stated that the bill is not intended to cause traditional tobacco shops to go out of business but rather, "if we ban flavors, businesses will have to change their models."

 

However, Republican Senator Todd Weiler opposes the bill, believing that it will harm the hundreds of traditional tobacco shops that have emerged in Utah in recent years because these tobacco shops are the only places where flavored e-cigarette products can be sold. Last month, many protesters gathered outside the Capitol to oppose the bill, with protesting adults stating that they enjoy flavored e-cigarette products and that these products can help them quit more harmful cigarettes.

 

In addition to banning flavored e-cigarette products, the bill also prohibits the sale of any e-cigarette products not authorized by federal officials.

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Virginia Tobacco Retail Permit Takes Effect October 1, Covering Vapes as More Than 3,000 Businesses Apply in September
Virginia Tobacco Retail Permit Takes Effect October 1, Covering Vapes as More Than 3,000 Businesses Apply in September
Virginia's new retail tobacco permit system took effect October 1, requiring sellers of vapes, nicotine products and related devices and accessories to obtain a Retail Tobacco Permit for each business location. Virginia ABC said more than 3,000 businesses applied in September alone, creating a processing backlog. Qualifying applicants that filed before October 1 may temporarily operate under a Letter of Authorization. The new store-level permit also sits alongside Virginia's existing vape product directory, where sales of unlisted liquid nicotine or nicotine vapor products can trigger civil penalties starting at $5,000.
Regulations
Oct.03
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
Product | Juul Labs Launches Upgraded JUUL2 Kit in UK With Four Pods at £9.99 and USB-C Charging
Product | Juul Labs Launches Upgraded JUUL2 Kit in UK With Four Pods at £9.99 and USB-C Charging
Juul Labs UK has introduced an upgraded JUUL2 Starter Kit for the UK market in October 2026, retaining a recommended retail price of £9.99 while doubling the number of included pods from two to four. The kit contains Crisp Menthol, Virginia Tobacco, Mango and Watermelon pods. The updated device replaces the previous proprietary charging dock with a USB-C port and offers longer battery life. The kit also features reduced packaging and retains a two-year limited warranty. Distribution is scheduled through major UK retailers, wholesalers, convenience stores and the JUUL UK website.
product
Oct.15
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
Philip Morris International's PMI Business Solutions Philippines has expanded its global business services hub in Makati and plans to add more than 80 positions. Established in 2021 primarily to provide finance and IT support to about 20 markets, the center now employs 519 professionals delivering roughly 600 services across 160 markets. Its functions now span finance, human resources, IT, commercial operations, data analytics, supply chain and project management. PMI says the hub's next phase will focus on AI-enabled and higher-value work. The company did not disclose the size or investment cost of the expansion.
Sep.24
JTI Liggett Puts U.S. Value Cigarette Brands in Spotlight at 2026 NACS Show
JTI Liggett Puts U.S. Value Cigarette Brands in Spotlight at 2026 NACS Show
At the 2026 NACS Show in Las Vegas, JTI Liggett highlighted its value-priced cigarette portfolio, including LD and Montego, following JT Group's acquisition of Vector Group. The company's U.S. business reported market share gains, with LD sales volume rising 32.6% in the first half of 2026. Meanwhile, Ploom was displayed separately at Altria's booth under an existing partnership. JTI Liggett booth staff told 2Firsts that the company had not yet launched nicotine pouch products in the United States.
EXPO
Oct.09
Product | KUMI SCENIC 50K Offers Nicotine and 6-Methyl Nicotine Versions as 6-MN Products Appear in Multiple U.S. State Directories, With Louisiana Listing FDA Exemption
Product | KUMI SCENIC 50K Offers Nicotine and 6-Methyl Nicotine Versions as 6-MN Products Appear in Multiple U.S. State Directories, With Louisiana Listing FDA Exemption
An October 2026 review of U.S. state vapor product directories found KUMI 6 SCENIC 50K listed in Louisiana and Nebraska. Louisiana classifies 20 related product entries as “FDA EXEMPTION.” The SCENIC platform is marketed in both conventional nicotine-salt and NoNic6 formulations, each advertised with 22mL e-liquid capacity and up to 50,000 puffs. U.S. wholesaler Midwest Goods listed both versions in August 2025 with a suggested retail price of $19.99 each. The NoNic6 version is associated with 6-methylnicotine and is also marketed by some distributors as “nicotine-free.”
product
Oct.27