WHO awards Mexican President for anti-smoking policy

Jun.17.2022
WHO awards Mexican President for anti-smoking policy
WHO awards Mexican president for banning smoking and heated tobacco products, despite controversy among anti-smoking experts.

The World Health Organization (WHO) has honored Mexican President Andrés Manuel López Obrador with an award for his policy of banning smoking and heated tobacco products, which was deemed controversial among tobacco harm reduction experts.

 

On World No Tobacco Day on May 31, the Mexican government announced the approval of a new Tobacco Law, which includes a ban on the sale of all electronic nicotine delivery systems (ENDS). The official reason for the ban was cited as a health concern, with President Andrés Manuel López Obrador stating that the claim that these products are a safer alternative to cigarettes is a "lie". He went on to say that vaping is also harmful to health.

 

He then displayed a pink vaping device to illustrate how these products are appealing to young people. "Look at this color, this design," said Lopez Obrador. In October of last year, Mexico banned the import and export of electronic cigarette devices and pods, but since then many companies continued to sell their stock. The new ban includes "the circulation and sale of these new products," added Obrador.

 

Countries following the guidance of the World Health Organization have been combating high smoking rates.

 

Meanwhile, a 59-page white paper was presented discussing the case studies conducted in several countries to measure progress related to smoking cessation. The findings show that countries following the World Health Organization's guidance have been consistently battling higher smoking rates.

 

The publication titled "Best Practices From Around the World: UK, New Zealand, France, and Canada for Vaping Works" was released by the Property Rights Alliance. It consists of four case studies from Christopher Snowdon (Institute of Economic Affairs, UK), Louis Houlbrooke (Taxpayers' Union, New Zealand), Patrick Coquart (IREF, France), and Professor Ian Irvine (Concordia University, Canada), and confirms what public health experts have consistently pointed out.

 

Countries that have implemented a progressive policy to reduce the harm caused by tobacco are experiencing a significant decrease in smoking rates. Meanwhile, those that have followed guidance from the World Health Organization continue to suffer from excessive smoking-related illnesses and deaths," said the Asia Pacific Advocates for Tobacco Harm Reduction Alliance (CAPHRA).

 

Nancy Loucas, the coordinator of CAPHRA, stated that luckily the release of this important data coincides with the notorious Ninth Conference of the Parties to the World Health Organization's Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC) held in November last year. She further said that finally this document proves that countries that have adopted smoking, such as France, the United Kingdom, New Zealand, and Canada, have witnessed a faster decline in smoking rates, which is twice the global average.

 


Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

China Tobacco Plans CNY 60 Billion Investment in ICBC, Agricultural Bank as Strategic Ties Extend Beyond Equity
China Tobacco Plans CNY 60 Billion Investment in ICBC, Agricultural Bank as Strategic Ties Extend Beyond Equity
China National Tobacco Corporation and several subsidiaries plan to invest a combined CNY 60 billion ($8.7 billion) in share placements by Industrial and Commercial Bank of China and Agricultural Bank of China as strategic investors. The agreements extend beyond equity investment to corporate governance, banking services and supply-chain finance. The filings also disclose 2025 data on China Tobacco’s tax and profit contributions and industry scale.
Sep.07
Product | DOJO Launches BLAST10K Fresh in UK With 0+10ml E-Liquid Structure, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility
Product | DOJO Launches BLAST10K Fresh in UK With 0+10ml E-Liquid Structure, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility
DOJO launched the BLAST10K Fresh in the UK on September 4, 2026, introducing its INSTA-JUICED™ technology and a new 0+10ml structure that keeps e-liquid separated from the coil before activation. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology and SSS leak-resistant technology, with a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 10,000 puffs. It also retains compatibility with existing 2+8ml pods across the BLAST ecosystem. The launch introduces eight new flavors, including Matcha Strawberry, which DOJO describes as an industry first.
Market
Sep.04
Product | KT&G to Launch lil Tonino Lamborghini in South Korea, Bringing 3-Second Heat-Up to New HTP Platform
Product | KT&G to Launch lil Tonino Lamborghini in South Korea, Bringing 3-Second Heat-Up to New HTP Platform
KT&G will launch the lil Tonino Lamborghini heated tobacco device in Seoul on September 15, 2026. The product introduces a new heating technology called Flashwave Heating, which uses microwaves to heat tobacco sticks internally and delivers a manufacturer-rated heat-up time of about three seconds. The device features an all-metal aluminum body, a color display and a dedicated GUI, and launches alongside a new line of NAU tobacco sticks that are incompatible with existing lil consumables. Korean media describe the product as KT&G's first new heated tobacco platform since lil AIBLE was introduced in 2022.
Aug.31
UK Vape Maker Riot Enters Clacton By-Election to Fight Government 'White Packaging' Proposals
UK Vape Maker Riot Enters Clacton By-Election to Fight Government 'White Packaging' Proposals
British e-liquid manufacturer Riot Labs has introduced a fictional “candidate” called Riot Man around the Clacton parliamentary by-election, seeking to mobilize consumers and retailers against parts of the UK government’s proposed restrictions on vape packaging, device appearance and retail displays. Riot Man is not listed as an official candidate.
Aug.12
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23