Canada Updates Cannabis Law, Limits on Marijuana Beverages Tightened

Dec.14.2022
Canada Updates Cannabis Law, Limits on Marijuana Beverages Tightened
Canada updates Cannabis Act, with tighter limits on cannabis beverages and eased research requirements.

The Canadian Ministry of Health has completed revisions to the Cannabis Act, which now includes increased restrictions on the possession of cannabis beverages and relaxed requirements for research and testing.


According to an announcement by the Canadian Department of Health on December 9th, the amendment came into effect on December 2nd.


A copy of the final regulation and a statement on regulatory impact and analysis will be published in the second section of the Canada Gazette on December 21.


According to the announcement, the amendment incorporates feedback from stakeholders in the cannabis industry, universities, researchers, health authorities, trade associations, licensees, provinces, regions, and the public.


A new regulation has been implemented to increase public possession restrictions on marijuana drinks in order to align with other marijuana products. Adults are now allowed to possess a maximum of 17.1 liters (equivalent to 48,355 milliliter cans) for non-medical purposes.


Under previous Canadian regulations, adults were allowed to possess approximately 2.1 liters of cannabis beverage or roughly five 355-milliliter cans.


These amendments also aim to simplify marijuana research by altering the requirements for non-therapeutic studies involving human participants.


In addition, the new regulations allow holders of analytical testing licenses as well as federal and provincial government labs to produce, distribute and sell reference standards and testing kits in order to increase access to cannabis testing materials.


The amendment also expands the educational qualification requirements for laboratory directors, who hold a mandatory position in analytical testing laboratories responsible for all cannabis testing activities at the facility.


These latest amendments are part of Canada's ongoing efforts to improve the Cannabis Act, which came into effect in October 2018 and aims to legalize the production, distribution, sale, and possession of cannabis for adults aged 21 and over.


In September, the Canadian government announced that it has initiated a necessary review of the Cannabis Act to assess its impact on the illegal market, indigenous communities, and the economy.


Last month, government officials appointed a five-member expert panel responsible for conducting reviews.


The group will ultimately present recommendations to Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos and Minister of Mental Health and Addictions and Deputy Minister of Health Carolyn Bennett on progress towards achieving the objectives of the Cannabis Act, which include protecting the health and safety of Canadians, establishing a diverse and competitive legal industry to replace the illegal market, and identifying areas for legal improvement.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
Los Angeles Cracks Down on Illicit Flavored Vapes and Counterfeit Goods: 12 Businesses Searched, 24 Arrested, Eight Truckloads Seized
Los Angeles Cracks Down on Illicit Flavored Vapes and Counterfeit Goods: 12 Businesses Searched, 24 Arrested, Eight Truckloads Seized
Los Angeles authorities searched 12 businesses and arrested 24 people during a multi-agency operation targeting illicit flavored vaping products, flavored cigarettes and counterfeit merchandise on October 22, 2026. The Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department said approximately eight tractor-trailer loads of merchandise were seized. Alleged violations involved flavored tobacco sales restrictions, tobacco licensing requirements and counterfeit trademark laws. Local, state and federal agencies participated. Authorities have not disclosed the number, brands or value of vaping products seized. Investigations remain ongoing.
Enforcement
Oct.28
JUUL2 Sued Within a Week of FDA Authorization as AJ Marketing Alleges Infringement of Programmable Vape Patent
JUUL2 Sued Within a Week of FDA Authorization as AJ Marketing Alleges Infringement of Programmable Vape Patent
Less than a week after JUUL2 received U.S. FDA marketing authorization on August 28, 2026, JUUL Labs was sued for patent infringement in federal court in Delaware. AJ Marketing LLC filed the complaint on September 3, alleging that both JUUL 1 and JUUL2 infringe U.S. Patent No. 8,851,068 B2. The patent covers aspects of programmable electronic vaporization devices, including controls over dose delivery, usage frequency and operating parameters. The plaintiff is seeking reasonable royalties and ongoing royalties tied to the remaining life of the patent. JUUL has not yet publicly responded to the case.
Sep.10
PMI Showcases ZYN, IQOS and U.S. Investments at NACS Show 2026
PMI Showcases ZYN, IQOS and U.S. Investments at NACS Show 2026
At the 2026 NACS Show in Las Vegas, Philip Morris International (PMI) showcased its ZYN nicotine pouches, IQOS heated tobacco products and U.S. investments. A 2Firsts review of FDA records found that several ZYN products displayed at the booth were not on the agency's marketing authorization list, including certain nicotine strengths and flavors. A PMI booth representative also confirmed that IQOS is currently sold in three U.S. states, while the newer IQOS ILUMA system remains under FDA review.
EXPO
Oct.10
U.S. Health Groups Seek to Overturn FDA Enforcement Discretion for Pending PMTAs as Altria's Helix, NJOY and AVM Move to Intervene
U.S. Health Groups Seek to Overturn FDA Enforcement Discretion for Pending PMTAs as Altria's Helix, NJOY and AVM Move to Intervene
American Vapor Manufacturers (AVM) and Altria subsidiaries Helix Innovations and NJOY filed separate motions on October 7, 2026, seeking to intervene on the FDA's side in a lawsuit challenging its enforcement guidance for certain e-cigarette and nicotine pouch products with pending premarket tobacco product applications (PMTAs). Seven public health and tobacco-control organizations, including the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, sued the agency in July to overturn the policy. AVM argues that vacating the guidance could disrupt orders, inventory, retail distribution and investments in regulatory submissions.
Regulations
Oct.09
Product | BAT Launches VELO WRKS Nicotine Pouches in Sweden, Introducing Dual-Compartment Cans With Two Flavours
Product | BAT Launches VELO WRKS Nicotine Pouches in Sweden, Introducing Dual-Compartment Cans With Two Flavours
British American Tobacco (BAT)'s VELO brand launched the VELO WRKS nicotine pouch range in Sweden on November 2, 2026. The initial release features three Dual Can variants, each containing two separate flavours in a dual-compartment container. Each can holds 20 slim pouches with 8mg of nicotine per pouch and retails for SEK 52.99. According to VELO, the first release, Drop 1, is limited to 75,000 cans and will remain available until February 2027 or while stocks last. VELO positions WRKS as a platform for testing new product concepts and has introduced an online consumer feedback survey. EU trademark records show BAT applied to register VELO WRKS in March 2026 under Class 34, covering nicotine pouches, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products and other tobacco-related goods.
product
Nov.03