Eve Energy Announces Plan for New Factory in Malaysia

Business by 2FIRSTS.ai
Jul.08.2024
Eve Energy Announces Plan for New Factory in Malaysia
Eve Energy plans to invest in battery manufacturing projects in Malaysia, expanding its global presence and market position.

On the evening of July 5th, Eve Energy (300014) announced that its wholly-owned subsidiary, Eve Energy Malaysia Limited (referred to as "Yiwei Malaysia"), plans to invest in the construction of energy storage battery and consumer battery manufacturing projects in Malaysia. The investment will not exceed 460 million US dollars (approximately 3.277 billion RMB).


According to reports, the project is located in Kulim City, Kedah state, Malaysia, with a land area of approximately 220,000 square meters. The construction period will not exceed 2.5 years.


Eve Energy stated that the aforementioned investment will further facilitate the development of overseas business, help expand the production capacity of square lithium-ion batteries and cylindrical lithium-ion batteries, and strengthen the company's market position in the field of lithium batteries.


Malaysia is a key location for Eve Energy's overseas production layout, with projects already established in the region.


In October 2022, the company announced plans to invest in a cylindrical lithium battery manufacturing project in Malaysia. The project will mainly produce 21700 cylindrical lithium batteries, catering to electric two-wheeler and power tool manufacturing companies in Malaysia and Southeast Asia. The investment amount for the project is expected to be no more than $422 million. On May 12, 2023, Yawei Malaysia signed a memorandum of understanding with PKL to purchase the designated land for the project. The two parties plan to sign the land purchase agreement in June 2023. Currently, the aforementioned project is progressing steadily.


In addition to Malaysia, Eve Energy is also building an overseas production base in Hungary. In June 2023, the company announced plans to select the location of Debrecen, Hungary to construct a 450,000 square meter electric vehicle cylindrical battery production base, with an investment of up to 13.07 billion euros and a construction period of 4 years. The company stated that the aforementioned project is beneficial for quickly responding to the demand for power batteries for new energy vehicles from key local customers in Hungary, while also attracting more orders from customers in surrounding European regions.


We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Japan Survey Finds 49.5% Would Cut Tobacco Use if Prices Rise, 64.6% Show Interest in Nicotine-Free Alternatives
Japan Survey Finds 49.5% Would Cut Tobacco Use if Prices Rise, 64.6% Show Interest in Nicotine-Free Alternatives
A September online survey commissioned by Japanese smoking-accessories company Lightec found that 49.5% of respondents would consider reducing tobacco use if prices rose further, while 25.1% would consider switching to cheaper brands and 14.5% would consider using or combining alternatives such as vapes and nicotine-free herbal sticks. Another 64.6% expressed some level of interest in such alternatives. The survey covered 1,088 respondents aged 20 to 70 and was conducted by a company that sells NICOLESS nicotine-free vaping and herbal-stick products, meaning its findings should not be treated as representative of Japan's smoking population.
DATA
Oct.12
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
Pennsylvania Vape Directory Enforcement Starts Oct. 19, Barring Retail Sales of Unlisted Products
Pennsylvania Vape Directory Enforcement Starts Oct. 19, Barring Retail Sales of Unlisted Products
Pennsylvania's Act 57 vape directory regime will reach the end of its 120-day inventory transition period on Oct. 19. Nicotine-containing e-cigarettes intended for retail sale in the state that are not listed on the Attorney General's ENDS directory will then be barred from retail sale and treated as contraband subject to seizure, forfeiture and destruction. Manufacturers face annual product certification, brand- and style-based fees and a minimum $50,000 surety bond, while retailers and wholesalers must source through licensed channels and monitor the directory.
Regulations
Oct.08
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
Wang Gongcheng, deputy administrator of China’s State Tobacco Monopoly Administration, met KT&G Chief Operating Officer Lee Sang-hak in Shanghai on September 1, according to Oriental Tobacco News. The meeting comes as China seeks public comment on a draft mandatory national standard for heated cigarettes. The report did not disclose the subjects discussed or indicate whether heated tobacco products or market access were addressed.
News
Sep.02
Product | JNR Launches Shisha Hookah 70K E-Hookah With 60ml E-Liquid and 0.6% Nicotine
Product | JNR Launches Shisha Hookah 70K E-Hookah With 60ml E-Liquid and 0.6% Nicotine
JNR has introduced the Shisha Hookah 70K, a high-capacity rechargeable disposable vape designed around a hookah-inspired experience. The device comes prefilled with 60ml of e-liquid at 6mg/ml (0.6%) nicotine strength, alongside a 1,000mAh rechargeable battery and a 0.38Ω single mesh coil. It also features adjustable airflow and battery and e-liquid level displays. JNR claims the device can deliver up to 70,000 puffs and offers more than 20 flavors. Retail listings for the product have appeared in markets including Tunisia.
Market
Aug.24 by 2Firsts Perspectives
NAS 2026 | FDA CTP Director Says PMTA Pathway Is “Predicated on Tobacco Harm Reduction”
NAS 2026 | FDA CTP Director Says PMTA Pathway Is “Predicated on Tobacco Harm Reduction”
At the 2026 New Approaches Summit in New York, FDA Center for Tobacco Products Director Bret Koplow said the PMTA pathway is “predicated on tobacco harm reduction.” He outlined four CTP priorities: youth prevention, helping adults quit or switch to lower-risk products, improving relative-risk communication, and reducing unauthorized products. Koplow also addressed flavored e-cigarettes, public risk perceptions, industry credibility and efforts to make PMTA reviews more efficient and predictable.
Sep.26