Investigation Finds Soy Oil in YHN Product, Prompts Recall

Oct.20.2022
Investigation Finds Soy Oil in YHN Product, Prompts Recall
Oregon regulators investigate YHN products for synthetic flavorings and ban the use of soybean oil in vaping products.

Regulatory authorities in the state of Oregon, USA have launched an investigation into the inclusion of "artificial flavors" as an ingredient in YHN products. During an inspection of one of the products, the OLCC discovered soybean oil in the pod. This compound contains triglycerides of glycerol, which are prohibited in e-cigarette products.


As a result, customers who have purchased the product are being asked to return it to the licensed retailer they bought it from or dispose of it, while consumers who may have health-related issues with the recalled product are advised to contact the Oregon Poison Center at 800-222-1222 or their healthcare provider.


Meanwhile, Robert Strongin of Portland State University recently conducted a study discussing the formation of acetone when heating cannabis vapor containing cannabinoid acetates. It is now a well-known fact that the infamous lung injury associated with vaping, EVALI, was caused by inhaling vitamin E acetate found in illegal cannabis vaping products.


A new study by Robert Strongin, Kaelas Munger (a doctoral student), and Robert Jense from Portland State University reports that ethyl ketone is to blame for the harmful effects of a toxic gas that forms when heating up acetic acid and vitamin E.


Researchers aim to accurately determine how much acetone is produced from a cannabis e-cigarette. They focus on certain cannabinoid acetates, such as the unregulated Delta 8 THC acetate. They have found that the discovery temperature of acetone is lower than previously thought.


Our biggest concern is prolonged exposure, as we don't know what it is," explained Mung Chiang. "This is why papers like ours are necessary. Otherwise, people would be exposed to this highly toxic substance with no way of finding evidence," Chiang explained in a university press release.


Statement:


This article is compiled from third-party information and is intended for industry exchange and learning purposes only.


This article does not represent the views of 2FIRSTS and 2FIRSTS cannot confirm the authenticity and accuracy of the article's content. The compilation of this article is intended solely for industry-related communication and research.


Due to limitations in the translation ability, the translated article may not exactly match the original text. Please refer to the original text for accuracy.


2FIRSTS maintains complete alignment with the Chinese government on all statements and positions related to domestic, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, and foreign affairs.


The copyright of the compiled information belongs to the original media and author, and if there is infringement, please contact us for deletion.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

F1 Faces Renewed Pressure Over Tobacco and Nicotine Sponsorships as 67 Groups Target ZYN and VELO Ahead of Madrid Race
F1 Faces Renewed Pressure Over Tobacco and Nicotine Sponsorships as 67 Groups Target ZYN and VELO Ahead of Madrid Race
Ahead of the Formula 1 race in Madrid, 67 Spanish and international public-health, medical and consumer organizations have sent an open letter to F1 President and CEO Stefano Domenicali calling for an end to sponsorships linked to the tobacco and nicotine industry, including nicotine pouches, vaping products and heated tobacco. The letter focuses on Philip Morris International’s ZYN partnership with Ferrari and British American Tobacco’s long-running partnership with McLaren and exposure for VELO. The campaign follows a March letter in which more than 160 organizations worldwide made a similar request to Formula 1.
Sep.10
Germany's Four-Year Tobacco Tax Plan Heads to Parliament as BAT, JTI and PMI Push for Changes
Germany's Four-Year Tobacco Tax Plan Heads to Parliament as BAT, JTI and PMI Push for Changes
Germany's parliament is scheduled to hold a first reading of amendments to the Tobacco Tax Act on September 24. The government plans annual tax increases from 2027 through 2030 covering cigarettes, heated tobacco, vaping liquids and other categories. It expects the reform to generate €756 million in additional revenue in 2027, rising to €3.589 billion in additional annual revenue by 2030. Ahead of the parliamentary debate, the German Association of the Tobacco Industry and Novel Products, or BVTE, launched the "Tabaksteuer mit Augenmaß" campaign backed by BAT, JTI, Philip Morris, Reemtsma and wholesale and retail groups.
Sep.23
Indiana Halts Sales of Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG and iJOY Vapes Under Foreign-Adversary Rules; Some Products Return After Compliance Filings
Indiana Halts Sales of Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG and iJOY Vapes Under Foreign-Adversary Rules; Some Products Return After Compliance Filings
Indiana's Alcohol and Tobacco Commission (ATC) ordered tobacco certificate holders in September to remove certain vaping products marketed under Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG, iJOY and other brands from inventory under the state's foreign-adversary product law. The agency later listed 257 MR FOG products and 77 Lost Mary product entries as lawful for sale. The Lost Mary revision expressly stated that compliance evidence had been received for 20 additional products. 2Firsts compliance expert Kurt said potential filings could include e-liquid and ingredient-origin records, U.S. nicotine-analog supply-chain documentation and FDA premarket application status.
Regulations
Oct.08
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
Product | JTI Launches Ploom AURA Teal Electric Pop in South Korea, Its First Dual-Color Edition
Product | JTI Launches Ploom AURA Teal Electric Pop in South Korea, Its First Dual-Color Edition
JTI Korea launched the Ploom AURA Teal Electric Pop limited edition in South Korea on September 1, 2026, marking the first dual-color design in the Ploom AURA range. The device combines a dark green body with teal accents and is accompanied by matching Front Panel, Back Cover and Pocket Bag accessories. The standalone device is priced at KRW 29,000, with three additional device-and-accessory bundles available. The release continues JTI Korea's use of limited colorways and interchangeable accessories to expand the Ploom AURA portfolio without introducing a new hardware platform.
Sep.03
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23