Japan plans to gradually raise tobacco tax.

Dec.20.2022
Japan plans to gradually raise tobacco tax.
Japan plans to gradually raise cigarette tax by 3 yen (approx. 0.16 yuan) per stick to strengthen defense capabilities.

Recently, according to insiders, the Japanese government and ruling party are planning to progressively increase tobacco tax by around 3 yen per cigarette (approximately 0.16 yuan in Chinese currency) to ensure that financial resources are allocated towards strengthening the country's defense capabilities.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Iowa Enforces Vape Registry Law as Retailers Warn Product Limits Could Increase Store Pressure
Iowa Enforces Vape Registry Law as Retailers Warn Product Limits Could Increase Store Pressure
Iowa has begun enforcing its vape registry law, requiring vape products to be registered before they can be legally sold in the state. The move follows a decision by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit to lift an injunction that had blocked enforcement. Retailers have warned that tighter product availability rules could increase pressure on vape shops. One Iowa retailer said that if only a limited number of products remain available, many stores could face significant business challenges.
Aug.06
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
China Tobacco Hubei explores staged nicotine pouch delivery, using dynamic membranes to slow early release and gradient particles to sustain later delivery
China Tobacco Hubei explores staged nicotine pouch delivery, using dynamic membranes to slow early release and gradient particles to sustain later delivery
China Tobacco Hubei Industrial Co., Ltd. disclosed several oral nicotine-related patent applications in August 2026, including two that approach staged nicotine release from different directions. One uses a high-viscosity membrane that forms inside the pouch after contact with saliva to slow rapid early release, while the other uses gradient particles with a faster-disintegrating outer layer and a slower core to create a fast-to-sustained release profile. Together, the filings explore how nicotine pouches could balance initial delivery with release later in use.
Sep.03
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company has begun selling four flavored Vuse Pro pods — Peach, Berry, Watermelon and Fresh Mint — in Ohio and selected other U.S. markets. According to the Vuse U.S. FAQ, Vuse Pro contains approximately 5.0% nicotine by weight, and Vuse Pro pre-filled pods are intended for use with Vuse Alto devices. Reynolds told 2Firsts that product labeling lists an e-liquid capacity of 2.0 mL per pod. The Vuse Alto Power Unit received FDA marketing authorization in 2024, while the new Vuse Pro pods themselves have not received marketing granted orders. The rollout follows the FDA’s May 2026 revision of enforcement priorities for certain unauthorized vaping products with qualifying pending applications.
BAT
Sep.10
Product | SKE Launches FRESA PRO in the U.S., Introducing Fresh Lock Technology for E-Liquid Management in High-Capacity Vapes
Product | SKE Launches FRESA PRO in the U.S., Introducing Fresh Lock Technology for E-Liquid Management in High-Capacity Vapes
Shenzhen SKE Technology has launched the FRESA PRO in the United States, a high-capacity rechargeable disposable vape featuring Fresh Lock electromagnetic valve supply control technology. The device combines a claimed capacity of up to 40,000 puffs, dual mesh coils, dual output modes and a transparent tank design. The launch reflects the high-capacity disposable vape segment’s shift from puff-count competition toward improved e-liquid management and device-level experience.
Aug.03