Juul to Pay $38 Million in Settlement with Pennsylvania

Dec.13.2022
Juul to Pay $38 Million in Settlement with Pennsylvania
Juul to pay $38 million in settlement with Pennsylvania over deceptive marketing to youth for e-cigarettes.

Juul has agreed to pay $38 million to settle with the state of Pennsylvania, after the attorney general's office accused Juul of deceiving consumers about the safety of its electronic cigarettes for teenagers.


Pennsylvania Attorney General Josh Shapiro filed a lawsuit against Juul in 2020, accusing the e-cigarette manufacturer of targeting young people using marketing strategies similar to tobacco companies and violating the state's Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Laws.


The announced settlement terms on Monday limit Juul's marketing and advertising practices in Pennsylvania.


Juul is prohibited from selling to minors, posting advertisements within 1,000 feet of schools, and claiming that its products are safer than combustible tobacco products in Pennsylvania. Furthermore, Juul is restricted from selling its products online.


The $38.8 million paid in the settlement agreement will be used by the Pennsylvania Department of Health to fund a project aimed at reducing the harm of litigated charges.


When filing the lawsuit, the Department of Health stated that there have been 61 confirmed cases and 59 suspected cases of e-cigarette product-related lung injuries in Pennsylvania. Over the past 30 days, roughly 13% of students in Pennsylvania have used e-cigarettes, and the settlement is seen as just the beginning of efforts to keep kids safe from the dangers of vaping.


2FIRSTS will continue to cover this topic, with updates available on the 2FIRSTS app. Scan the QR code below to download the app.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
Major U.S.  Vape Distributor Demand Vape Pays at Least $300,000 for White House Lobbying Amid Enforcement Pressure
Major U.S. Vape Distributor Demand Vape Pays at Least $300,000 for White House Lobbying Amid Enforcement Pressure
New York vape distributor Ecto World, which operates as Demand Vape, hired political consultant Roger Stone to lobby the Executive Office of the President on regulation of vaping and related products while facing state enforcement and multiple lawsuits. Public lobbying disclosures show that Ecto World paid at least $300,000 for the work through June 30, 2026. Separately, New York State announced in March that more than 28,500 pounds of vaping products tied to the company had been seized, while New York City and the state have pursued legal or enforcement actions. Public records do not show that the lobbying directly changed any specific regulatory or enforcement outcome.
Sep.08
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Product | PMJ Adds Bold Ruby to IQOS ILUMA i Lineup in Japan, Convenience-Store Rollout Starts Sept. 29
Product | PMJ Adds Bold Ruby to IQOS ILUMA i Lineup in Japan, Convenience-Store Rollout Starts Sept. 29
Philip Morris Japan (PMJ) launched Bold Ruby as a new regular color for the IQOS ILUMA i and IQOS ILUMA i ONE in Japan on September 16, 2026, priced at JPY 6,980 and JPY 3,980, respectively. Initial sales began through IQOS online and physical channels, with convenience stores and selected tobacco retailers set to follow from September 29. Bold Ruby is a regular rather than limited-edition colorway and is available for the ILUMA i and ILUMA i ONE, but not the ILUMA i PRIME. The release does not involve changes to the devices' core hardware or functions.
Sep.22
Cochrane 2026 Update Adds Nine Trials, Keeps High-Certainty Finding That Nicotine E-Cigarettes Improve Quit Rates Over NRT
Cochrane 2026 Update Adds Nine Trials, Keeps High-Certainty Finding That Nicotine E-Cigarettes Improve Quit Rates Over NRT
Cochrane’s 2026 update of its living review on electronic cigarettes for smoking cessation included 80 randomized controlled trials involving 29,861 adult smokers, with nine trials added in this update. The review retained its high-certainty conclusion that nicotine e-cigarettes increase smoking cessation rates compared with nicotine replacement therapy. In absolute terms, about 10 in 100 people using nicotine e-cigarettes may quit smoking for at least six months, compared with about 6 in 100 using NRT. The review found no clear difference in serious adverse event rates between the two groups, while longer-term safety and the relative effectiveness of newer device types remain less certain.
Sep.07
Special Report|CrossBar's High-Puff Vapes Draw Attention on Pennsylvania's 163-Product Directory as Link Between Earlier 1.3mL PMTA Filings and New 13mL Products Remains Unclear
Special Report|CrossBar's High-Puff Vapes Draw Attention on Pennsylvania's 163-Product Directory as Link Between Earlier 1.3mL PMTA Filings and New 13mL Products Remains Unclear
Pennsylvania began enforcing its electronic nicotine delivery system directory restrictions on October 19, 2026. Among 163 product listings recorded before enforcement, four CrossBar 20K disposables stood out with 13mL capacity, advertised puff counts of up to 20,000 and a flattened design distinct from conventional pod systems and compact disposables. Historical records identify earlier 1.3mL CrossBar products associated with Romo LLC, while newer 13mL products appeared in several state directories beginning in 2025 under entities including Blue Nine LLC. PMTA compliance expert Mr. K identified amendments and application ownership transfers as possible regulatory mechanisms, although neither has been confirmed in this case. Separately, Reynolds' $7.5 million acquisition of 16 PACHA products and related assets illustrates the commercial value of products linked to historic PMTA submissions.
Special Report
Oct.22