KT&G's Midterm Plan: Doubling Sales by 2027

Feb.02.2023
KT&G's Midterm Plan: Doubling Sales by 2027
KT&G plans to invest $3.1 billion in e-cigarette and ginseng health products and double sales by 2027.

KT&G has recently launched a midterm business plan.


According to the plan, KT&G will invest a total of 3.9 trillion Korean won (3.1 billion US dollars) by 2027, with a focus on its electronic cigarette business (including overseas operations) and health supplements containing ginseng.


KT&G has plans to increase its sales revenue to over 100 trillion Korean won by 2027, a 73% growth compared to the estimated sales revenue of 59 trillion Korean won in 2022.


Bang Kyung-man, the Executive Vice President of KT&G, announced that the company now sells its heated non-combustible cigarette brands in 31 different countries, with a primary focus on the European market. Since partnering with various companies, the sales of its product, "lil," have quadrupled. The company is also considering releasing sales data related to "lil," which has not yet been disclosed due to a partnership agreement with PMI.


The company also presented its business expansion strategy, aiming to obtain more than half of its sales revenue from overseas operations by 2027. It is reported that in 2022, about 33% of KT&G's sales revenue comes from overseas operations.


According to Bang, KT&G is considering Kazakhstan and Eastern Europe as potential locations for a new factory. In order to raise the necessary funds, KT&G may sell some of its real estate assets and borrow from banks.


References:


KT&G has rejected the idea of spinning off its ginseng unit and instead plans to double its sales by 2027.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

On-Site Report | CTP Details PMTA Backlog, 180-Day Review Goal and sPMTA Process
On-Site Report | CTP Details PMTA Backlog, 180-Day Review Goal and sPMTA Process
FDA’s Center for Tobacco Products detailed new PMTA review data and process changes at the 2026 FDLI conference. Pending PMTAs fell from about 450,000 at the start of 2025 to 135,000 by September 2026. CTP also discussed its 180-day review goal, current sPMTA pilot, alternate-supplier planning, more than 50,300 pending SE reports, and lessons from the nicotine pouch pilot already being applied to ENDS review.
Regulations
Oct.07
Philippines Customs Seizes PHP11.68 Billion($200 Million) in Illegal Tobacco and Vapes in First Seven Months of 2026
Philippines Customs Seizes PHP11.68 Billion($200 Million) in Illegal Tobacco and Vapes in First Seven Months of 2026
Philippines Customs data showed that illegal cigarettes and vape products seized during the first seven months of 2026 were valued at about PHP11.68 billion, exceeding the PHP2.516 billion recorded for the full year of 2025. The figures were disclosed by a Bureau of Customs official during a House Committee on Ways and Means hearing on tobacco excise tax reforms. Vape-related seizures were valued at about PHP1.65 billion, with most cases recorded at the Manila International Container Port. Customs officials said enforcement against illicit tobacco trade would continue.
Aug.26
Product | PMI Launches TEREA Black Mint Pearl in Japan, Adding First Capsule Variant to Black Range With Nationwide Rollout From October 19
Product | PMI Launches TEREA Black Mint Pearl in Japan, Adding First Capsule Variant to Black Range With Nationwide Rollout From October 19
Philip Morris Japan (PMJ) launched TEREA Black Mint Pearl on October 15, 2026, introducing the first capsule-equipped heated tobacco stick in the TEREA Black range for IQOS ILUMA devices. The product combines a strong menthol profile with a crushable mint capsule and is priced at ¥640 per 20-stick pack, including tax. Sales began at four IQOS stores and selected retail partners on October 15, with distribution expanding to convenience stores and other tobacco retailers nationwide from October 19. The launch brings Japan's TEREA portfolio to 28 variants, including 21 menthol-related products, or 75% of the range.
product
Oct.16 by 2Firsts Perspectives
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
Wang Gongcheng, deputy administrator of China’s State Tobacco Monopoly Administration, met KT&G Chief Operating Officer Lee Sang-hak in Shanghai on September 1, according to Oriental Tobacco News. The meeting comes as China seeks public comment on a draft mandatory national standard for heated cigarettes. The report did not disclose the subjects discussed or indicate whether heated tobacco products or market access were addressed.
News
Sep.02
Product | PIXL Adds 6ml PIXL 5K in UK Alongside 12ml PIXL 8000 as Vape Duty Takes Effect
Product | PIXL Adds 6ml PIXL 5K in UK Alongside 12ml PIXL 8000 as Vape Duty Takes Effect
Vaping brand PIXL has introduced the PIXL 5K reusable prefilled pod device in the UK, featuring a 2ml prefilled pod and a 4ml refill container with a combined e-liquid capacity of 6ml. The device uses 20mg/ml nicotine salt e-liquid and is advertised to deliver up to approximately 5,000 puffs. Available through UK retailers by August 2026, the PIXL 5K sits alongside the existing 12ml PIXL 8000. The UK's Vaping Products Duty took effect on October 1 at £0.22 per millilitre, producing theoretical duty amounts of £1.32 and £2.64 for the two products' respective full refill sets.
product
Oct.10
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives