OLCC Expands Recall of Cannabis E-Cig Pods in Oregon

Feb.16.2023
OLCC Expands Recall of Cannabis E-Cig Pods in Oregon
Oregon's OLCC has expanded its recall of cannabis e-pods due to the presence of synthetic cannabinoids, affecting 7,000 units.

Portland, Oregon - The Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) has announced an expansion of the recall of marijuana electronic pods.


This recall was originally announced in January 2023.


The OLCC's ongoing investigation and evaluation has found that three batches of electronic cigarette products appear to contain prohibited additives. It states that these products do not meet national standards as they contain synthetic CBN and CBC, which produce sensory effects that are distinctly different from the psychoactive effects of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). Ohio law prohibits electronic cigarette pods from containing synthetic cannabinoids and the synthesized CBC does not meet OLCC's requirements for non-cannabis additives.


This recall involves pods sold under the Firefly Extracts or Smoke-Rite Wellness brands. The OLCC stated that 7,000 units from the recalled batches have been sold, while approximately 500 units are still present in the market.


These recalled products were produced in a factory licensed by OLCC.


The OLCC has released a list of recalled products.


Product names, production dates, and start of sales for several Firefly pods have been reported by the OLCC. The "Purple Kush 8:1" pod with label ID 5658 was produced on May 27, 2022, and went on sale on June 21, 2022. The "Suver Haze" pod with the same label ID was produced on May 24, 2022, and began selling on March 11, 2022. The "T-1" or "High CBD 8:1" pod with label ID 5658 was produced on May 19, 2022, and has been available since that date. The "Cherry Wife 8:1" or "High CBD Blend 8" pod with label ID 5658 was produced on September 9, 2021, and went on sale on February 13, 2022. The "Cherry Wife 1:1" or "High CBD Blend 1" or "High CBD Blend 1:1" pod with label ID 5658 or 344 was produced on September 9, 2021, and began selling on October 23, 2021. The "Cherry Wife 2:1" or "High CBD Blend 2" or "High CBD Blend 2:1" pod with the same label ID was produced on September 9, 2021, and went on sale on December 12, 2021. The "Cherry Wife 10:1" or "High CBD Blend 10" or "High CBD Blend 10:1" pod with label ID 5658 or 344 was produced on July 27, 2021, and began selling on August 16, 2021. The "El Jefe" or "High CBD Blend 0" pod with label ID 5658 was produced on July 15, 2021, and went on sale on July 28, 2021. The "Sour Space Candy" pod with the same label ID was produced on May 3, 2021, and began selling on May 9, 2021. The "High CBD Blend 0" pod with label ID 5658 was produced on December 1, 2020, and became available on December 24, 2020. The OLCC has instructed those who purchased these recalled products to dispose of them, but has not received any health-related complaints related to their use.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
Cochrane 2026 Update Adds Nine Trials, Keeps High-Certainty Finding That Nicotine E-Cigarettes Improve Quit Rates Over NRT
Cochrane 2026 Update Adds Nine Trials, Keeps High-Certainty Finding That Nicotine E-Cigarettes Improve Quit Rates Over NRT
Cochrane’s 2026 update of its living review on electronic cigarettes for smoking cessation included 80 randomized controlled trials involving 29,861 adult smokers, with nine trials added in this update. The review retained its high-certainty conclusion that nicotine e-cigarettes increase smoking cessation rates compared with nicotine replacement therapy. In absolute terms, about 10 in 100 people using nicotine e-cigarettes may quit smoking for at least six months, compared with about 6 in 100 using NRT. The review found no clear difference in serious adverse event rates between the two groups, while longer-term safety and the relative effectiveness of newer device types remain less certain.
Sep.07
STIIIZY Redesign Fails to Escape PAX Labs Patent Import Ban as Section 337 Case Also Involves China ALD
STIIIZY Redesign Fails to Escape PAX Labs Patent Import Ban as Section 337 Case Also Involves China ALD
U.S. Customs and Border Protection ruled that STIIIZY had not shown that the redesigned cannabis-vape products covered by its latest request fall outside an ITC limited exclusion order tied to PAX Labs patents. CBP accepted some of STIIIZY’s claim-construction and non-infringement arguments, but the company did not address two additional claims in the same patent. Earlier STIIIZY redesigned cartridges and certain associated components imported with them had received separate CBP clearance.
Sep.16
SMOORE’s DOJO by VAPORESSO to Launch New Global Brand Identity on September 1
SMOORE’s DOJO by VAPORESSO to Launch New Global Brand Identity on September 1
According to recent LinkedIn posts from people at VAPORESSO, SMOORE and a German distribution partner, vape brand DOJO will begin rolling out a new global brand identity on September 1, 2026, led by a redesigned handwritten logo. The new visual system will be gradually applied across product packaging, marketing materials and digital assets over the following months. Fabio Corsaro, Head of Marketing and Purchasing at MG Wesel GmbH, said the rebrand was related to trademark issues, but that explanation has not been publicly confirmed by DOJO, VAPORESSO or SMOORE. DOJO is currently promoting its Blast X product in Germany.
Aug.31
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
Philip Morris Malaysia Again Meets Religious Authority Over Cigarette Alternatives as Perlis Mufti Responds on Halal Criteria
Philip Morris Malaysia Again Meets Religious Authority Over Cigarette Alternatives as Perlis Mufti Responds on Halal Criteria
Philip Morris Malaysia Managing Director Naeem Shahab Khan met Perlis Mufti Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin on September 17 and presented the company's shift from conventional cigarettes toward alternative products. The mufti said a product could be considered halal if it is clean, its side effects are not harmful or can be controlled, and it does not involve excessive waste. His remarks did not mention IQOS or any other specific PMI product and did not amount to a new product-specific religious ruling. It was at least the second publicly reported engagement between Philip Morris Malaysia and a Malaysian religious institution over cigarette alternatives within six months.
Regulations
Sep.18 by 2Firsts Perspectives