Ontario Implements Additional Tax on E-Cigarette Products

Regulations by 2FIRSTS.ai
Ontario Implements Additional Tax on E-Cigarette Products
Ontario province in Canada announces additional taxes on e-cigarette products, becoming the latest to impose such measures.

According to a report on November 8th by Canadian news outlet Global News, the province of Ontario in Canada has recently announced it will impose additional taxes on e-cigarette products sold within the province. This means that Ontario has become the latest province in Canada to implement taxes on e-cigarette products.


The province of Ontario announced in its fall economic statement last week that it plans to impose an additional tax on e-cigarette products sold in the province, which will be twice the current federal tax rate.


According to statistics, as of November 2023, six provinces and regions have banned or are set to ban most flavors of e-cigarette products. These include:


In the Northwestern region of New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Québec, a particular agreement has been signed between the federal government and the Nunavut region regarding the adjustment of e-cigarette product taxation policy. This agreement is set to be implemented starting from July 2024.


This article is translated from an original Chinese article available on 2firsts.cn by AI, and has been reviewed and edited by 2FIRSTS's English editorial team. The Chinese original text is the only authoritative source of information. The exclusive copyright and license rights to this article are held by 2FIRSTS Technology Co., Ltd. Any reproduction, reprinting, or redistribution of this article, either in part or in full, requires express written permission from 2FIRSTS and must include clear attribution along with a link to this content. Non-compliance may result in legal action. 2FIRSTS Technology Co., Ltd. reserves the right to pursue legal actions in case of unauthorized use or distribution.