Product | Philip Morris Launches TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black in Germany With Level-10 Tobacco Intensity at €8 per Pack

product
Nov.02
Product | Philip Morris Launches TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black in Germany With Level-10 Tobacco Intensity at €8 per Pack
Philip Morris International (PMI) introduced TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black heated tobacco sticks in Germany in October 2026, both carrying a brand-rated tobacco-flavor intensity of 10, the highest level in the country's TEREA portfolio. Bold Red features leather and warm woody notes, while Bold Black combines woody and subtle floral notes. Both are sold in 20-stick packs at €8, approximately 2.6% above standard TEREA products. Germany's TEREA range now includes 11 flavor variants, alongside a separate 26-stick XL format priced at €10. IQOS Germany announced the new products on October 12, followed by a phased retail rollout from late October and an IQOS Club campaign running through December.

Special Notice

  1. This article is intended strictly for internal industry exchanges and information sharing within the vaping/tobacco trade, and does not constitute an endorsement or recommendation of any brand or product.
  2. All images and visuals presented herein are solely used for objective factual description and news reporting, and do not serve as commercial advertising or marketing for any product.
  3. Access to this content by minors is strictly prohibited.

Key Points

  • Philip Morris International's IQOS Germany introduced TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black on October 12, 2026. Both carry a tobacco-flavor intensity rating of 10, the highest currently available in Germany's TEREA range.
  • Bold Red features leather and warm woody notes, while Bold Black combines woody and subtle floral notes. Germany's TEREA portfolio now includes 11 flavor variants, with intensity ratings ranging from 4 to 10.
  • Both products contain 20 sticks per pack and retail for €8, a €0.20 or approximately 2.6% premium over standard TEREA packs priced at €7.80. Germany also offers a 26-stick TEREA XL format at €10.
  • The new variants are compatible with existing IQOS ILUMA and ILUMA i devices using SMARTCORE induction heating technology, without requiring a new device platform.
  • IQOS Germany announced availability on October 12, followed by a phased retail expansion from late October. Philip Morris GmbH also launched an IQOS Club promotional campaign running through December 31.

2Firsts November 2, 2026

Philip Morris International (PMI) introduced TEREA Bold Red and TEREA Bold Black heated tobacco sticks in Germany, both carrying a tobacco-flavor intensity rating of 10, according to an announcement published by IQOS Germany on October 12, 2026.

The products are the highest-rated tobacco-intensity variants currently available in Germany's TEREA portfolio.

Both are sold in 20-stick packs at €8 each, a €0.20 or approximately 2.6% premium over standard TEREA products priced at €7.80. The launch expands Germany's TEREA range to 11 flavor variants, with a separate 26-stick XL format also available for selected existing blends.

Two Level-10 Variants Expand Germany's TEREA Range to 11 Flavors

TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black use different tobacco blends, both rated at intensity level 10 by IQOS Germany.

According to the official product descriptions, the variants have the following characteristics:

ProductTobacco-flavor intensityManufacturer-described profile
TEREA Bold Red10/10Full-bodied, warm tobacco with leather and woody notes
TEREA Bold Black10/10Full-bodied tobacco blend with woody and subtle floral notes

German trade publication Sprit+ reported on October 23 that the products use specially developed tobacco blends, with tobacco drying and blending processes contributing to their flavor characteristics, according to Philip Morris.

IQOS Germany currently lists 11 TEREA flavor variants, with tobacco-flavor intensity ratings ranging from 4 to 10. TEREA Russet previously occupied the upper end of the range at level 9, while Bold Red and Bold Black introduce a new level-10 tier.

The ratings are part of IQOS's tobacco-flavor intensity scale. They do not represent nicotine content, nicotine delivery or relative health risk.

Both Bold variants use the existing TEREA heated tobacco stick architecture and are compatible with IQOS ILUMA and ILUMA i devices through SMARTCORE induction heating technology. They are not compatible with older IQOS devices designed for HEETS sticks.

The main product specifications are summarized below.

ItemSpecification
Brand ownerPhilip Morris International (PMI)
German marketerPhilip Morris GmbH
Brand / SeriesTEREA / Bold
ProductsBold Red; Bold Black
Product typeHeated tobacco sticks
Compatible devicesIQOS ILUMA and ILUMA i series
Heating technologySMARTCORE induction heating
Tobacco-flavor intensity10/10 for both variants; brand-rated
Bold Red profileLeather and warm woody notes
Bold Black profileWoody and subtle floral notes
Pack size20 sticks per pack; 10 packs per carton
German retail price€8 per pack; €80 per carton
Announcement dateOctober 12, 2026
Launch marketGermany
ManufacturerNot separately disclosed in launch materials

Bold Priced at €8 per Pack as Germany's TEREA Range Offers Different Formats and Price Points

TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black are priced at €8 per 20-stick pack in Germany. A carton of 10 packs, containing 200 sticks, costs €80.

Standard TEREA products are priced at €7.80 per 20-stick pack, or €78 per carton.

Germany also offers TEREA XL, a 26-stick format priced at €10 per pack. The format became available through IQOS Germany's official channels in September 2026 and covers five existing variants: Russet, Sienna, Amber, Teak and Turquoise.

Based on the official prices and pack sizes, the three product configurations have the following pricing structure:

Product categorySticks per packPack pricePrice per stick
Standard TEREA20€7.80€0.390
TEREA Bold20€8.00€0.400
TEREA XL26€10.00Approx. €0.385

Bold products carry a €0.20 premium per pack over standard TEREA, equivalent to approximately 2.6%. On a per-stick basis, Bold costs €0.40, compared with €0.39 for standard TEREA and approximately €0.385 for XL.

The configurations reflect different approaches to packaging and retail pricing within Germany's TEREA portfolio.

TEREA XL maintains the existing tobacco blends while increasing the pack size from 20 to 26 sticks, resulting in a slightly lower unit price. Bold retains the standard 20-stick format but introduces different tobacco blends with the highest flavor-intensity rating and a higher listed price.

These are German retail prices and do not establish differences in profitability or actual sales performance.

October 12 Announcement Followed by Phased Retail Expansion

IQOS Germany announced TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black on October 12, 2026, listing both products as available for purchase.

Officially listed channels include the IQOS online store, IQOS physical stores and shop-in-shops, as well as tobacco-selling outlets such as petrol stations and supermarkets.

In an October 23 report, German trade publication Sprit+ said the products would enter the German retail market progressively from late October. The report's headline also referred to availability from November.

The official sales announcement and subsequent wider retail distribution therefore reflect different stages of the rollout. Distribution was scheduled to expand through late October and into November, with availability potentially varying by outlet.

Both variants use the existing IQOS ILUMA device platform, without the introduction of a corresponding new heating device.

IQOS Club Campaign Runs Through December

Alongside the product launch, Philip Morris GmbH introduced an IQOS Club promotional campaign associated with TEREA Bold.

According to the official terms, the campaign runs from October 12 through December 31, 2026, and is open to eligible adult nicotine-product users in Germany.

The campaign provides two principal participation routes.

The first involves eligible first-time customers purchasing an IQOS ILUMA or ILUMA i device during the campaign period and registering it through their account. The second allows eligible participants to unlock a TEREA Bold badge within the IQOS Club loyalty program.

Completing either route provides one prize-draw entry, while completing both provides two entries. Participants must also meet the applicable account-registration and marketing-consent requirements.

The announced prizes are as follows:

PrizeQuantityStated value
TUI travel vouchers2€5,000 each
BestChoice Travel & Adventure vouchers200€100 each
RIMOWA Cabin suitcases9€750 each

The combined stated value of the prizes is €36,750, based on the quantities and values disclosed in the campaign terms. This does not represent Philip Morris's actual marketing expenditure.

The campaign combines new device purchase and registration with engagement among existing loyalty-program members.

PMI has not disclosed sales volumes, participation figures or conversion data associated with the TEREA Bold launch.

Industry Perspective

TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black raise the highest tobacco-flavor intensity rating in Germany's TEREA portfolio to 10 and enter the market at €8 per pack, compared with €7.80 for standard 20-stick products.

PMI also offers the 26-stick TEREA XL format in Germany at €10 per pack. While XL establishes a different unit price by increasing pack size, Bold retains the 20-stick format and introduces a higher retail price through tobacco-blend differentiation and flavor-intensity positioning.

Both new variants use the existing IQOS ILUMA platform and are being distributed through IQOS-operated and conventional tobacco retail channels, supported by a loyalty campaign involving new device registration and existing members.

Follow 2Firsts for the latest developments in global vaping and next-generation nicotine products, product launches, innovation, technology and market trends.

Cover Image Source:IQOS Germany

Product | DOJO Launches BLAST10K Fresh in UK With 0+10ml E-Liquid Structure, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility
Product | DOJO Launches BLAST10K Fresh in UK With 0+10ml E-Liquid Structure, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility
DOJO launched the BLAST10K Fresh in the UK on September 4, 2026, introducing its INSTA-JUICED™ technology and a new 0+10ml structure that keeps e-liquid separated from the coil before activation. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology and SSS leak-resistant technology, with a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 10,000 puffs. It also retains compatibility with existing 2+8ml pods across the BLAST ecosystem. The launch introduces eight new flavors, including Matcha Strawberry, which DOJO describes as an industry first.
Market
Sep.04
Australia Tobacco Tax Debate Spreads Within Labor as NSW Premier Minns Reaffirms Support for a Cut
Australia Tobacco Tax Debate Spreads Within Labor as NSW Premier Minns Reaffirms Support for a Cut
Australia’s tobacco excise debate is increasingly exposing differences within the governing Labor Party. New South Wales Labor Premier Chris Minns reaffirmed on September 8 that he supports reducing tobacco excise, arguing that current tax settings are pushing consumers toward cheaper black-market cigarettes. Federal Health Minister Mark Butler continues to oppose an excise cut, while Treasurer Jim Chalmers and Assistant Treasurer Daniel Mulino have recently stopped short of ruling out future changes. The divergence follows the opposition Coalition’s proposal to cut tobacco excise by 80%.
Sep.08
Latest UK ONS Data: 54% of Vapers Are Former Cigarette Smokers, 26% Also Smoke and 20% Never Smoked Regularly
Latest UK ONS Data: 54% of Vapers Are Former Cigarette Smokers, 26% Also Smoke and 20% Never Smoked Regularly
Former cigarette smokers accounted for an estimated 54% of current e-cigarette users in Great Britain in 2025, while 26% also smoked cigarettes and 20% had never regularly smoked, according to a 2Firsts analysis of Office for National Statistics (ONS) data. Among former cigarette smokers who currently vape, approximately 81% used e-cigarettes daily, compared with about 50% of dual users. The ONS found that 33.8% of current cigarette smokers also vaped in 2025, up from 10.6% in 2014. Approximately 1.1 million adults who had never regularly smoked cigarettes used e-cigarettes, representing 2.9% of that population, compared with 0.2% in 2014. The figures highlight differences in the composition, frequency of use and long-term trends across Britain's vaping population.
DATA
Oct.14
JTI Liggett Puts U.S. Value Cigarette Brands in Spotlight at 2026 NACS Show
JTI Liggett Puts U.S. Value Cigarette Brands in Spotlight at 2026 NACS Show
At the 2026 NACS Show in Las Vegas, JTI Liggett highlighted its value-priced cigarette portfolio, including LD and Montego, following JT Group's acquisition of Vector Group. The company's U.S. business reported market share gains, with LD sales volume rising 32.6% in the first half of 2026. Meanwhile, Ploom was displayed separately at Altria's booth under an existing partnership. JTI Liggett booth staff told 2Firsts that the company had not yet launched nicotine pouch products in the United States.
EXPO
Oct.09
2Firsts On-Site | CTIHK Showcases Nicotine Pouches, Heated Tobacco and Chinese Cigars at InterTabac 2026
2Firsts On-Site | CTIHK Showcases Nicotine Pouches, Heated Tobacco and Chinese Cigars at InterTabac 2026
At InterTabac 2026 in Dortmund, China Tobacco International (HK) Company Limited (CTIHK) is exhibiting across two separate booths in Hall 5 and Hall 4. Products observed by 2Firsts include heated tobacco products, nicotine pouches, Chinese cigars and tobacco leaf. Nicotine pouch products on display include TOOP, Shuangxi and Ashima.
Market
Sep.16
Juul Displays FDA-Authorized JUUL2, Highlights Age Verification at NACS Show 2026
Juul Displays FDA-Authorized JUUL2, Highlights Age Verification at NACS Show 2026
At the 2026 NACS Show in Las Vegas, Juul Labs displayed its JUUL2 e-cigarette system alongside existing products, age-verification messaging and mobile coupons, 2Firsts observed. The JUUL2 device and Virginia Tobacco and Polar Menthol pods received FDA marketing authorization in August 2026. Booth materials highlighted longer battery life, greater e-liquid capacity and connected-device features. A TruAge sign and a mobile coupon presentation also featured at the booth, with weekly offers available to age-verified adult nicotine consumers at participating retailers.
EXPO
Oct.09