Bristol Mayor Rejects Tobbaco-Inspired Road Name

Dec.09.2022
Bristol Mayor Rejects Tobbaco-Inspired Road Name
Bristol mayor changes road name from tobacco brand to honor first female mayor, despite opposition.

Following opposition from Action on Smoking and Health (ASH), Bristol Live reports that the decision to name a road in South Bristol after a tobacco product has been vetoed by the city's mayor, Marvin Rees.


The road was named "Navy Cut Road" in honor of the brand produced by the Imperial Brands tobacco factory that previously occupied the area. However, the ASH organization deemed this to be a violation of social morality, prompting Mayor Liz to veto the name and support naming the road after the first female mayor, Florence Mills Brown.


Richard Eddie, a member of parliament, criticized the move, stating that the mayor of Lis is "imposing" his will on the residents of the area.


MP Richard Eddie stated, "Although I am confident that former mayor Florence Brown is a reputable woman, why should we name this road after a Labour politician?


This is not just about a minor disagreement over naming streets in a southern city suburb. It is a debate about whether Bristol should be ruled by someone with a "God complex," or whether the community and its officially elected representatives should have control over one person ruling. We should decide our own fate.


2FIRSTS will continue to report on this topic, and further updates will be available on the '2FIRSTSAPP'. Scan the QR code below to download the app.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Product | Philip Morris Japan Launches Ginza-Exclusive IQOS ILUMA i PRIME, Limited to 1,814 Units at First Global Flagship
Product | Philip Morris Japan Launches Ginza-Exclusive IQOS ILUMA i PRIME, Limited to 1,814 Units at First Global Flagship
Philip Morris Japan (PMJ) launched the IQOS ILUMA i PRIME Ginza Limited Model Set in Tokyo on September 4, 2026, alongside the opening of IQOS Flagship Ginza, the brand’s first global flagship store. The Oasis Blue edition is limited to 1,814 individually numbered units, with the figure derived from the store’s address at Ginza 1-8-14. The set also includes two Yamanaka-nuri glasses and special packaging, priced at JPY 11,980 and sold exclusively at the Ginza flagship.
Sep.07
Product | JT Expands Vote-Winning EVO Cacao Mint Crystal to Nationwide Retail in Japan, Adds 22-Stick Limited Pack at Same Price
Product | JT Expands Vote-Winning EVO Cacao Mint Crystal to Nationwide Retail in Japan, Adds 22-Stick Limited Pack at Same Price
Japan Tobacco (JT) will expand EVO Cacao Mint Crystal from limited channels to nationwide retail in Japan from October 6, 2026. The Ploom tobacco stick ranked first in the brand's first consumer voting campaign for new tobacco-stick SKUs held earlier this year. JT will also introduce a limited 22-stick pack at the same JPY 620 price as the standard 20-stick pack. The capsule-format product combines menthol with sweet, bittersweet cacao notes and adds a berry nuance when the capsule is crushed.
Sep.09
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
Wang Gongcheng, deputy administrator of China’s State Tobacco Monopoly Administration, met KT&G Chief Operating Officer Lee Sang-hak in Shanghai on September 1, according to Oriental Tobacco News. The meeting comes as China seeks public comment on a draft mandatory national standard for heated cigarettes. The report did not disclose the subjects discussed or indicate whether heated tobacco products or market access were addressed.
News
Sep.02
FDA Unifies Tobacco Registration and Product Listing Form Across Product Categories
FDA Unifies Tobacco Registration and Product Listing Form Across Product Categories
The U.S. FDA has consolidated two tobacco establishment registration and product listing forms into a redesigned Form FDA 3741 covering all regulated product categories, including e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products and nicotine pouches. The current requirements remain limited to domestic establishments. Separately, the FDA has proposed extending registration and product listing requirements to foreign manufacturers, signaling greater regulatory attention to manufacturing entities and product-level information across the tobacco and nicotine supply chain.
FDA
Sep.30
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
Philip Morris International's PMI Business Solutions Philippines has expanded its global business services hub in Makati and plans to add more than 80 positions. Established in 2021 primarily to provide finance and IT support to about 20 markets, the center now employs 519 professionals delivering roughly 600 services across 160 markets. Its functions now span finance, human resources, IT, commercial operations, data analytics, supply chain and project management. PMI says the hub's next phase will focus on AI-enabled and higher-value work. The company did not disclose the size or investment cost of the expansion.
Sep.24
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company has begun selling four flavored Vuse Pro pods — Peach, Berry, Watermelon and Fresh Mint — in Ohio and selected other U.S. markets. According to the Vuse U.S. FAQ, Vuse Pro contains approximately 5.0% nicotine by weight, and Vuse Pro pre-filled pods are intended for use with Vuse Alto devices. Reynolds told 2Firsts that product labeling lists an e-liquid capacity of 2.0 mL per pod. The Vuse Alto Power Unit received FDA marketing authorization in 2024, while the new Vuse Pro pods themselves have not received marketing granted orders. The rollout follows the FDA’s May 2026 revision of enforcement priorities for certain unauthorized vaping products with qualifying pending applications.
BAT
Sep.10