Changes in Industrial Structure Adjustment Catalog: Inclusion of E-Cigarettes

Regulations by 2FIRSTS
Dec.29.2023
Changes in Industrial Structure Adjustment Catalog: Inclusion of E-Cigarettes
The National Development and Reform Commission officially released a revised industrial restructuring guide, including e-cigarettes.

On December 29, 2023, the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) officially released the "Guidance Catalog for Industrial Restructuring (2024 Edition)" (hereinafter referred to as the Catalog).

 

Changes in Industrial Structure Adjustment Catalog: Inclusion of E-Cigarettes
"Guidance Catalog 2023 (Opinion Solicitation Draft) File Screenshot

 

The term "e-cigarette" is mentioned for the first time in the directory. However, compared to the draft of the "Guidance Catalog for Industrial Structure Adjustment (2023, for soliciting opinions)" released in July 2023, there have been adjustments regarding the portrayal of e-cigarettes.

 

Changes in Industrial Structure Adjustment Catalog: Inclusion of E-Cigarettes
Screenshot of the "Guiding Catalogue for Industrial Structural Adjustment (2024 Edition)" document.

 

The statement for public opinion solicitation states: tobacco products, including e-cigarettes and other new types of tobacco products.

 

The official release refers to new tobacco products such as e-cigarettes.

 

Previously, 2FIRSTS reported on the inclusion of e-cigarettes in the "Guidance Catalog for Industrial Structure Adjustment (2023 Edition, Draft for Soliciting Opinions)".

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
Wang Gongcheng, deputy administrator of China’s State Tobacco Monopoly Administration, met KT&G Chief Operating Officer Lee Sang-hak in Shanghai on September 1, according to Oriental Tobacco News. The meeting comes as China seeks public comment on a draft mandatory national standard for heated cigarettes. The report did not disclose the subjects discussed or indicate whether heated tobacco products or market access were addressed.
News
Sep.02
Charlie’s Says 30 PACHA Vape SKUs Tentatively Identified for FDA’s Non-Priority Enforcement Public List
Charlie’s Says 30 PACHA Vape SKUs Tentatively Identified for FDA’s Non-Priority Enforcement Public List
Charlie’s Holdings said the U.S. Food and Drug Administration notified the company on June 23, 2026, that 30 PACHA vape SKUs with submitted PMTAs had been tentatively identified for inclusion on a planned public-facing FDA webpage. Under enforcement guidance issued by FDA in May, the webpage is intended to identify certain unauthorized products for which the agency generally does not intend to prioritize enforcement of premarket authorization requirements. Charlie’s disclosed the development alongside second-quarter revenue of $3.8 million, up 116% year over year.
Aug.25
Ispire Q4 Revenue Rebounds 33% but Full-Year Sales Still Fall 25% as FY2027 Focus Shifts to Malaysia Manufacturing, ODM, Nicotine Pouches and Age Verification
Ispire Q4 Revenue Rebounds 33% but Full-Year Sales Still Fall 25% as FY2027 Focus Shifts to Malaysia Manufacturing, ODM, Nicotine Pouches and Age Verification
Ispire Technology reported FY2026 revenue of about $96 million, down 24.7% year over year, as U.S. cannabis-vapor hardware and European e-cigarette sales declined by $17.4 million and $12.7 million, respectively. Fourth-quarter revenue rose 32.5% to $26.7 million, while quarterly gross margin fell to 6.3%. For FY2027, the company is prioritizing Malaysia manufacturing and vapor ODM while continuing to develop nicotine pouches, IKE Tech age-verification technology and G-Mesh licensing. Ispire has not separately disclosed the revenue or profit contribution of those newer businesses.
Regulations
Sep.17 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Product | Philip Morris Korea Launches TEREA Limona Pearl, Expanding Fresh Blend Capsule Lineup to Five
Product | Philip Morris Korea Launches TEREA Limona Pearl, Expanding Fresh Blend Capsule Lineup to Five
Philip Morris Korea launched TEREA Limona Pearl in South Korea on August 31, 2026, expanding the TEREA Fresh Blend capsule tobacco stick lineup from four variants to five. Designed for the IQOS ILUMA series, the new stick combines a capsule with what the company calls a Fresh Filter. Philip Morris Korea describes the product as offering an aromatic, refreshing flavor profile with a cooling sensation, with an additional fresh note released when the capsule is crushed. The recommended retail price is KRW 4,800 per pack, with sales through IQOS stores and convenience stores nationwide. No reliable evidence has been found that the same Limona Pearl SKU was previously officially launched in another major IQOS market.
Sep.01
Smoke-Free Business Hits 42% of Q2 Net Revenue as PMI’s First TNFD Report Covers Single-Use Electronics, Critical Raw Materials and IQOS Repairs
Smoke-Free Business Hits 42% of Q2 Net Revenue as PMI’s First TNFD Report Covers Single-Use Electronics, Critical Raw Materials and IQOS Repairs
Philip Morris International has published its first report aligned with the Taskforce on Nature-related Financial Disclosures, bringing its electronics supply chain and the use and end-of-life stages of smoke-free devices and consumables into its nature-related assessment. PMI said its smoke-free business accounted for about 42% of total net revenues in the second quarter of 2026. The report says non-circular electronic products, particularly single-use items, can increase consumption of limited natural resources and also details an IQOS repair pilot. A 2040 circularity scenario tests assumptions including a 50% reduction in product waste-related costs, 10% raw-material savings and a 25% substitution rate for refurbished products versus new products.
Sep.23
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company has begun selling four flavored Vuse Pro pods — Peach, Berry, Watermelon and Fresh Mint — in Ohio and selected other U.S. markets. According to the Vuse U.S. FAQ, Vuse Pro contains approximately 5.0% nicotine by weight, and Vuse Pro pre-filled pods are intended for use with Vuse Alto devices. Reynolds told 2Firsts that product labeling lists an e-liquid capacity of 2.0 mL per pod. The Vuse Alto Power Unit received FDA marketing authorization in 2024, while the new Vuse Pro pods themselves have not received marketing granted orders. The rollout follows the FDA’s May 2026 revision of enforcement priorities for certain unauthorized vaping products with qualifying pending applications.
BAT
Sep.10