DTI Plans to Release Supplemental Guidelines for E-cigarette Certification

Regulations by 2FIRSTS.ai
Apr.22.2024
DTI Plans to Release Supplemental Guidelines for E-cigarette Certification
DTI plans to release supplementary guidelines for e-cigarette product certification next month, in line with Republic Act 11900.

According to the Philippine Star, the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) of the Philippines is planning to release supplemental guidelines next month for the mandatory certification of e-cigarette products. During a press conference, Assistant Trade Secretary Amanda Nograles mentioned that there have been discussions and a public consultation regarding the technical requirements for the mandatory certification of e-cigarette products.

 

"We will compile feedback and release a supplementary guide next month," said Noglas.

 

According to Nogales, the release of the supplementary guidelines memo notifying companies (MC) is in response to the Republic Act 11900, which mandates the registration and certification of e-cigarette products set to take effect this June. This means that before June of this year, all e-cigarette products manufactured or imported should have obtained the Philippine Standard (PS) mark or Import Commodity Clearance (ICC) sticker.

 

Products with PS marks or ICC stickers confirmed by the DTI have met the quality and safety standards required in the Philippines. Similarly, products distributed in the local market prior to distribution should also bear PS marks or ICC stickers if they fall under the scope of mandatory product certification schemes.

 

Noglas said that the upcoming MC is a supplementary guide, as the DTI has already released guidelines on mandatory product certification for vaporized nicotine and non-nicotine products in Executive Order 22-06 in 2022. Since this order was issued before the implementation of the e-cigarette law, she stated that there is a need to adjust the certification process.

 

She said that existing e-cigarette products on the market can be sold from June this year until January 2025. "By January 2025, we will begin a market cleanup period. Products without PS labels or ICC will no longer be allowed," she said.

 

Nograles also stated that the DTI has sent a letter to the customs bureau, stating that starting in February, goods of e-cigarette products should no longer be unconditionally released without specific clearance certificates from the DTI. This specific clearance certificate allows importers to transport imported products to their warehouses, where the DTI will conduct inspections to ensure that these products comply with the rules on product description and packaging.

 

The DTI currently has a testing laboratory in Cavite where they are conducting tests on secondary batteries, chargers, e-cigarette devices, and heated tobacco products. Since the DTI does not have facilities to test consumable products, they said that they are allowing third-party laboratories to conduct the certification. They said that they are planning to seek budget for purchasing equipment that would allow DTI to test even consumable products.

 

Regarding the proposal to ban disposable e-cigarettes, Nogras stated that the DTI is currently studying whether it should be included in the supplementary guidelines.

 

"If we can find a way to test and ensure its safety and quality, then there's no problem. But fundamentally, it is disposable and sampling will be difficult," she said.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Pennsylvania Vape Directory Enforcement Starts Oct. 19, Barring Retail Sales of Unlisted Products
Pennsylvania Vape Directory Enforcement Starts Oct. 19, Barring Retail Sales of Unlisted Products
Pennsylvania's Act 57 vape directory regime will reach the end of its 120-day inventory transition period on Oct. 19. Nicotine-containing e-cigarettes intended for retail sale in the state that are not listed on the Attorney General's ENDS directory will then be barred from retail sale and treated as contraband subject to seizure, forfeiture and destruction. Manufacturers face annual product certification, brand- and style-based fees and a minimum $50,000 surety bond, while retailers and wholesalers must source through licensed channels and monitor the directory.
Regulations
Oct.08
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
On-Site Report | After FDA Announces Review of PMTA Framework, CTP Director Details Reform Priorities
On-Site Report | After FDA Announces Review of PMTA Framework, CTP Director Details Reform Priorities
FDA CTP Director Bret Koplow used his FDLI keynote in Washington to outline how the agency is rethinking the PMTA framework. He discussed category-specific review, nicotine pouch and sPMTA pilots, AI-assisted review, a 70% reduction in pending applications, and a major staffing constraint: CTP currently has only nine scientific review teams. He also reaffirmed tobacco harm reduction while stressing youth protection, flavored products, risk communication, and the challenge of unauthorized e-cigarettes.
Regulations
Oct.06
Indiana Halts Sales of Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG and iJOY Vapes Under Foreign-Adversary Rules; Some Products Return After Compliance Filings
Indiana Halts Sales of Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG and iJOY Vapes Under Foreign-Adversary Rules; Some Products Return After Compliance Filings
Indiana's Alcohol and Tobacco Commission (ATC) ordered tobacco certificate holders in September to remove certain vaping products marketed under Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG, iJOY and other brands from inventory under the state's foreign-adversary product law. The agency later listed 257 MR FOG products and 77 Lost Mary product entries as lawful for sale. The Lost Mary revision expressly stated that compliance evidence had been received for 20 additional products. 2Firsts compliance expert Kurt said potential filings could include e-liquid and ingredient-origin records, U.S. nicotine-analog supply-chain documentation and FDA premarket application status.
Regulations
Oct.08
Product | JT to Launch MEVIUS Tropical Option in Japan, Expanding Ploom Tobacco Stick Lineup to 32
Product | JT to Launch MEVIUS Tropical Option in Japan, Expanding Ploom Tobacco Stick Lineup to 32
Japan Tobacco (JT) will launch MEVIUS Tropical Option, a new tobacco stick for Ploom, nationwide in Japan from October 6, 2026. The capsule-format product combines mango-oriented sweetness with menthol cooling, adding a tropical flavor to the MEVIUS Ploom tobacco-stick lineup for the first time. Each pack contains 20 sticks and will launch at JPY 590. The product is compatible with all Ploom devices, and its addition will expand the Ploom tobacco-stick portfolio to 32 variants.
Sep.08