FDA to Discuss Ban on Menthol in Tobacco Products

Dec.30.2022
FDA to Discuss Ban on Menthol in Tobacco Products
FDA to hold workshop on banning menthol flavor in tobacco products on January 12, 2023.

On January 12, 2023, the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) will hold a workshop on the ban of flavored tobacco products, specifically regarding the use of menthol as a flavoring in tobacco products. The proposed tobacco product standard is to "prohibit the use of menthol as a characterizing flavor in cigarettes and cigars on a scientific basis," marking the first tobacco-related workshop of 2023.


The FDA presentation will provide scientific evidence to inform the development of these proposed regulations and explain the highly impactful scientific assessments used by the FDA to review them.


Bridget Ambrose, the Director of Population Health Science at the FDA's Center for Tobacco Products (CTP) Office of Science (OS), will be delivering a speech. Ambrose has over 20 years of experience in tobacco control and regulatory science, and has expertise in longitudinal analyses of tobacco use.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Major U.S.  Vape Distributor Demand Vape Pays at Least $300,000 for White House Lobbying Amid Enforcement Pressure
Major U.S. Vape Distributor Demand Vape Pays at Least $300,000 for White House Lobbying Amid Enforcement Pressure
New York vape distributor Ecto World, which operates as Demand Vape, hired political consultant Roger Stone to lobby the Executive Office of the President on regulation of vaping and related products while facing state enforcement and multiple lawsuits. Public lobbying disclosures show that Ecto World paid at least $300,000 for the work through June 30, 2026. Separately, New York State announced in March that more than 28,500 pounds of vaping products tied to the company had been seized, while New York City and the state have pursued legal or enforcement actions. Public records do not show that the lobbying directly changed any specific regulatory or enforcement outcome.
Sep.08
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
Gallery | InterTabac 2026 Opens as VAPORESSO, SKE, GREENTANK, GEEK BAR and Other Brands Take the Floor
Gallery | InterTabac 2026 Opens as VAPORESSO, SKE, GREENTANK, GEEK BAR and Other Brands Take the Floor
InterTabac 2026 opened in Dortmund, Germany, on September 15 alongside NUBIZ and InterSupply. According to the latest figures released by the organizer, the three trade shows bring together around 750 exhibitors from 64 countries. On site, 2Firsts observed vaping and related brands including VAPORESSO, DOJO, SKE, GREENTANK, GEEK BAR, HQD and ELUX.
Special Report
Sep.15
Product | SMOORE's VAPORESSO Introduces VAST Refillable Vape With Three Resistances in One Pod
Product | SMOORE's VAPORESSO Introduces VAST Refillable Vape With Three Resistances in One Pod
SMOORE-owned vaping brand VAPORESSO introduced the VAST refillable open-system vape in October 2026, featuring Tri-Core Mesh technology that integrates three resistance configurations—0.8Ω, 0.6Ω and 0.4Ω—within a single pod. The device supports different operating modes and e-liquid types. The standard version features a 10mL pod, while a TPD-labelled configuration combines a 2mL pod with an 8mL refill container. The device has a 1,600mAh battery and a maximum output of 30W. VAPORESSO claims up to six pod refills and a tested coil lifespan of up to 150,000 puffs. The UK's MHRA published a related device notification on October 12. The official MSRP is $25.90, compared with a $35.90 listing on VAPORESSO's direct store.
product
Oct.30
Inside Nicotine-Pouch M&A Through Imperial's Yoik Deal: Latham, KPMG, PwC, Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley Form the Adviser Lineup
Inside Nicotine-Pouch M&A Through Imperial's Yoik Deal: Latham, KPMG, PwC, Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley Form the Adviser Lineup
Imperial Brands' acquisition of Swedish Helwit owner Yoik Group AB has highlighted the professional-services firms supporting cross-border oral nicotine M&A. Latham & Watkins and KPMG advised Imperial, while PwC and TM & Partners advised Yoik. KPMG also appeared on Imperial's acquisition of Black Buffalo earlier in 2026, while PwC played an extensive role in KT&G's acquisition of Swedish nicotine-pouch company Another Snus Factory. Imperial's public disclosures put the global modern oral nicotine delivery market at approximately £8.8 billion in retail sales and 23.5 billion pouches in 2024
Sep.20
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23