Shop in Northamptonshire sells e-cigarettes to underage girl

Aug.31.2022
Shop in Northamptonshire sells e-cigarettes to underage girl
A shop in Northamptonshire sold an e-cigarette to a 16-year-old girl without asking for ID and is being investigated.

This shop in Northwestern Northamptonshire sold an e-cigarette to a 16-year-old without requesting identification. (Source: Getty)


A store in Northamptonshire, UK is currently under investigation for selling an electronic cigarette to a 16-year-old girl during a sting operation carried out by the Northamptonshire County Council (WNC). The store is the only one that did not request the girl's identification before selling her a restricted product.


The trade standards in WNC were tested at stores where complaints were made about the sale of goods to minors. In August, two 16-year-old girls, under the supervision of trade standard officials, visited thirteen stores in Daventry and Northampton in an attempt to purchase electronic cigarettes and tobacco.


Out of the 13 stores visited by these girls, only one did not request their identification and refused to sell to them when they were unable to provide any. WNC stated that the unnamed store will now face further investigation.


Statement:


This article is compiled from third-party information and is only intended for industry communication and learning.


This article does not represent the views of 2FIRSTS, and 2FIRSTS cannot confirm the authenticity or accuracy of its content. The translation of this article is intended solely for industry exchange and research purposes.


Due to limitations in translation proficiency, the compiled article may not fully express the original content. Please refer to the original article for accuracy.


2FIRSTS aligns completely with the Chinese government's stance on all domestic, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, and foreign-related issues and statements.


The compilation information is copyrighted by the original media and author. If there is any infringement, please contact us for removal.



Disclaimer

This article is provided solely for professional research, industry discussion, and informational purposes. Any references to brands, companies, products, technologies, or policies are made for factual reporting and analytical purposes only, and do not constitute endorsement, recommendation, promotion, or advertising by 2Firsts.

Nicotine-containing products, including but not limited to cigarettes, e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products, and nicotine pouches, carry significant health risks. Readers are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions, including age restrictions and access limitations.

The information contained in this article should not be regarded as investment, legal, medical, regulatory, or commercial advice. While 2Firsts strives to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its content, it does not assume liability for any direct or indirect loss arising from errors, omissions, inaccuracies, or reliance on the information contained herein.

This article is not intended for individuals below the legal age for accessing tobacco or nicotine-related information in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright Notice

This article is either original content produced by 2Firsts or content reproduced, translated, summarized, or adapted from third-party sources with attribution where applicable. The intellectual property rights of the original content remain with 2Firsts or the respective original rights holders.

No individual or organization may copy, reproduce, distribute, republish, modify, translate, or otherwise use this content without prior authorization. Any unauthorized use may result in legal action.

For copyright-related inquiries, corrections, or removal requests, please contact: info@2firsts.com.

 

AI-Assisted Translation and Editing Notice

Portions of this article may have been translated, edited, or reviewed with the assistance of artificial intelligence tools to improve efficiency and readability. Due to the limitations of AI-assisted translation and editing, discrepancies, omissions, or inaccuracies may exist when compared with the original source.

Where applicable, readers are advised to refer to the original source for the most complete and accurate information. If you identify any errors or believe that any content infringes upon your rights, please contact us at info@2firsts.com, and we will review and address the matter promptly.

Product | R.J. Reynolds Launches Four Flavored Vuse Pro Pods for Vuse Alto Devices in U.S.
Product | R.J. Reynolds Launches Four Flavored Vuse Pro Pods for Vuse Alto Devices in U.S.
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company has introduced Vuse Pro prefilled pods in Peach, Berry, Watermelon and Fresh Mint in selected U.S. states. Vuse’s U.S. website says the pods are intended for use with existing Vuse Alto devices. Each contains 2.0 mL of e-liquid at 5.0% nicotine by weight, uses nicotine salts and is offered in two- and four-pod packs. Reynolds said the rollout includes mandatory ID scanning for every purchase, purchase limits, stronger retailer-accountability requirements and strict age-restricted marketing standards. The four pods have not received marketing authorization from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
Sep.10
EU Tobacco Tax Reform Targets November Push as Sweden Holds Nicotine-Pouch Minimum at €20 per Kilogram
EU Tobacco Tax Reform Targets November Push as Sweden Holds Nicotine-Pouch Minimum at €20 per Kilogram
The Irish presidency of the Council of the European Union is using bilateral talks to push the bloc’s Tobacco Taxation Directive toward a political agreement in November. According to Law360, citing an EU official, Sweden is unwilling to accept a minimum excise threshold above €20 per kilogram for nicotine pouches. Council negotiations have already lowered the European Commission’s original proposal, but a May 2026 presidency compromise still set the minimum at 10% of the tax-inclusive retail price or €30 per kilogram in 2028-29, with higher levels later.
Market
Sep.17 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
UK-Listed Consumer Goods Group Supreme Sees Vape Duty as Potential Consolidation Opportunity, Holds FY27 Outlook
UK-Listed Consumer Goods Group Supreme Sees Vape Duty as Potential Consolidation Opportunity, Holds FY27 Outlook
UK-listed consumer goods group Supreme plc says it continues to expect FY27 trading to meet market expectations as the Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1, while maintaining a comparatively positive view of the new tax and compliance regime. Supreme has said the framework could increase compliance complexity for smaller operators and contribute to market consolidation, while its manufacturing, compliance and distribution scale may allow it to gain share. Its 88Vape brand will retain its value positioning.
Sep.18
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Product | Philip Morris Korea Launches TEREA Limona Pearl, Expanding Fresh Blend Capsule Lineup to Five
Product | Philip Morris Korea Launches TEREA Limona Pearl, Expanding Fresh Blend Capsule Lineup to Five
Philip Morris Korea launched TEREA Limona Pearl in South Korea on August 31, 2026, expanding the TEREA Fresh Blend capsule tobacco stick lineup from four variants to five. Designed for the IQOS ILUMA series, the new stick combines a capsule with what the company calls a Fresh Filter. Philip Morris Korea describes the product as offering an aromatic, refreshing flavor profile with a cooling sensation, with an additional fresh note released when the capsule is crushed. The recommended retail price is KRW 4,800 per pack, with sales through IQOS stores and convenience stores nationwide. No reliable evidence has been found that the same Limona Pearl SKU was previously officially launched in another major IQOS market.
Sep.01