World Health Organization Considers Holding COP10 Conference Online

2Firsts Events by 2FIRSTS.ai
Nov.20.2023
World Health Organization Considers Holding COP10 Conference Online
World Health Organization's tobacco control conference, COP10, may be held online due to security concerns in Panama.

Recently, according to Brazilian media Globorural, it has been reported that the organizers of the tenth session of the Conference of the Parties to the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (COP10) may consider holding the event in the form of an online conference, following its postponement.

 

The COP 10 Global Tobacco Control Conference, originally planned to be held in Panama, has been postponed due to security concerns in the country.

 

In a leaked internal statement, the organizers of the 10th Conference of the Parties called for leaders to hold an online discussion on November 23rd and 24th, but did not disclose the specific agenda. The organizers are still considering the idea of hosting another forum themselves, but the date has not been confirmed yet.

 

The main topic discussed at the conference was the standardization of e-cigarettes. The tobacco industry argued that regulations should be put in place for the use of e-cigarettes to ensure the production of safe products and generate tax revenue for the government.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Altria’s USSTC Starts $250 Million Kentucky Expansion, Adding More Than 200 Jobs
Altria’s USSTC Starts $250 Million Kentucky Expansion, Adding More Than 200 Jobs
U.S. Smokeless Tobacco Company, an Altria Group company, has broken ground on an approximately $250 million manufacturing expansion in Hopkinsville, Kentucky. The roughly 270,000-square-foot facility is expected to create more than 200 jobs and absorb processing, manufacturing and packaging operations currently split between Hopkinsville and Nashville, Tennessee. USSTC previously said production at its Nashville facility is expected to wind down by early 2028. The project forms part of Altria’s broader effort to modernize and consolidate its U.S. smokeless tobacco manufacturing network.
Sep.10
U.S. Military Could Test Nicotine Pouches and Vapes for Smoking Cessation as Washington Examiner Cites ZYN and Potential $4 Billion Reduction in Related Defense Costs
U.S. Military Could Test Nicotine Pouches and Vapes for Smoking Cessation as Washington Examiner Cites ZYN and Potential $4 Billion Reduction in Related Defense Costs
The House-passed FY2027 National Defense Authorization Act includes a provision authorizing the defense secretary to conduct a one-year smoking-cessation pilot for active-duty service members. Section 707 lists counseling, nicotine gum and patches alongside what the bill calls "electric nicotine delivery systems," nicotine pouches and heat-not-burn products. A recent Washington Examiner op-ed cited ZYN as an example in arguing for the provision, but the legislation does not name any commercial brand or supplier. ZYN is made by PMI-owned Swedish Match USA, with specified products holding FDA marketing authorizations and modified risk orders.
Sep.20
NAS 2026 | FDA CTP Director Says PMTA Pathway Is “Predicated on Tobacco Harm Reduction”
NAS 2026 | FDA CTP Director Says PMTA Pathway Is “Predicated on Tobacco Harm Reduction”
At the 2026 New Approaches Summit in New York, FDA Center for Tobacco Products Director Bret Koplow said the PMTA pathway is “predicated on tobacco harm reduction.” He outlined four CTP priorities: youth prevention, helping adults quit or switch to lower-risk products, improving relative-risk communication, and reducing unauthorized products. Koplow also addressed flavored e-cigarettes, public risk perceptions, industry credibility and efforts to make PMTA reviews more efficient and predictable.
Sep.26
Product | KT&G Launches lil HYBRID 3.0 Misty Rosé Edition II in South Korea With Two Pink Finishes at 88,000 Won
Product | KT&G Launches lil HYBRID 3.0 Misty Rosé Edition II in South Korea With Two Pink Finishes at 88,000 Won
South Korean tobacco company KT&G launched the limited-edition lil HYBRID 3.0 Misty Rosé Edition II on September 30, 2026, following the original Misty Rosé Edition introduced in November 2025. The new release comes in two pink finishes, Bloom Rosé and Viva Rosé, each priced at 88,000 won. Both versions initially went on sale through the lil Store online shop and lil MINIMALIUM flagship stores. From October 7, Bloom Rosé became available at approximately 1,500 lil Station retail outlets nationwide. The release retains the existing lil HYBRID 3.0 hybrid heated tobacco platform, with changes focused on exterior design and distribution.
product
Oct.10
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
Philip Morris International's PMI Business Solutions Philippines has expanded its global business services hub in Makati and plans to add more than 80 positions. Established in 2021 primarily to provide finance and IT support to about 20 markets, the center now employs 519 professionals delivering roughly 600 services across 160 markets. Its functions now span finance, human resources, IT, commercial operations, data analytics, supply chain and project management. PMI says the hub's next phase will focus on AI-enabled and higher-value work. The company did not disclose the size or investment cost of the expansion.
Sep.24
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20