BAT Rothmans Launches Initiative to Protect Minors from Nicotine Products

BAT by 2FIRSTS.ai
May.29.2024
BAT Rothmans Launches Initiative to Protect Minors from Nicotine Products
BAT Rothmans, the South Korean branch of British American Tobacco, pledges to protect minors from nicotine products on World No Tobacco Day.

According to South Korean media N.News on May 29, British American Tobacco's South Korean branch (BAT Rothmans) announced on Wednesday (May 29) that in order to commemorate World No Tobacco Day on May 31 each year, the company will increase efforts to prevent minors from using nicotine products.

 

The company's CEO, Song Young-jae, stated: "Minors should never use nicotine, and we believe the government plays a crucial role in ensuring this (through regulations). We hope that all commercial advertisements, if not related to tobacco products, do not contain any content related to tobacco." The official emphasized that the South Korean branch will adhere to strict principles to prevent nicotine products from being sold to minors.

 

The company will clearly label "19+" on product packaging and advertisements, and implement a strict age verification system on its e-commerce channels. It also advises retailers to be more vigilant in prohibiting the sale of tobacco products to minors.

 

The spokesperson added that the company will continue to participate in social activities and promote smoke-free alternatives such as e-cigarettes and nicotine pouches to help transition adult smokers from traditional cigarettes.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

BAT Adds Former Apple General Counsel Bruce Sewell to Board as Finance, Legal, Marketing and Regional Leadership Shift
BAT Adds Former Apple General Counsel Bruce Sewell to Board as Finance, Legal, Marketing and Regional Leadership Shift
British American Tobacco has appointed former Apple Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary Bruce Sewell as an independent non-executive director, effective January 1, 2027. He will also join BAT's Audit and Nominations Committees. BAT Chair Luc Jobin highlighted Sewell's experience in technology, government and regulatory affairs, public-company governance and AI-company boards. Over the past 18 months, BAT has changed or announced changes to its CFO, general counsel, CMO and APMEA regional leadership, while the main board has also seen multiple changes. The appointment comes as BAT advances Horizon 2030 and its Fit2Win transformation while expanding New Categories and reshaping parts of its digital, technology and operating structure.
Business
Oct.29
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company has begun selling four flavored Vuse Pro pods — Peach, Berry, Watermelon and Fresh Mint — in Ohio and selected other U.S. markets. According to the Vuse U.S. FAQ, Vuse Pro contains approximately 5.0% nicotine by weight, and Vuse Pro pre-filled pods are intended for use with Vuse Alto devices. Reynolds told 2Firsts that product labeling lists an e-liquid capacity of 2.0 mL per pod. The Vuse Alto Power Unit received FDA marketing authorization in 2024, while the new Vuse Pro pods themselves have not received marketing granted orders. The rollout follows the FDA’s May 2026 revision of enforcement priorities for certain unauthorized vaping products with qualifying pending applications.
BAT
Sep.10
Latest UK ONS Data: Vaping Rate Edges Down to 9.9% in 2025, a Year After Overtaking Cigarette Smoking
Latest UK ONS Data: Vaping Rate Edges Down to 9.9% in 2025, a Year After Overtaking Cigarette Smoking
Vaping prevalence in Great Britain edged down to 9.9% in 2025 from 10.0% in 2024, with the number of adult users holding at approximately 5.4 million for a second consecutive year, according to the Office for National Statistics (ONS). E-cigarette use had risen from 6.4% in 2020 to 10.0% in 2024, when it exceeded cigarette smoking prevalence for the first time. Cigarette smoking continued to decline to 8.7% in 2025, widening the gap to 1.2 percentage points. Daily vaping declined slightly, while usage among adults aged 25–34 increased despite falling rates in other age groups.
DATA
Oct.14
Product | Philip Morris Korea Launches Two TEREA ONYX Capsule Tobacco Sticks, Expanding Portfolio to Five Lines
Product | Philip Morris Korea Launches Two TEREA ONYX Capsule Tobacco Sticks, Expanding Portfolio to Five Lines
Philip Morris Korea launched TEREA ONYX, a new tobacco stick line for IQOS ILUMA devices, on October 15, 2026. The initial products, AMANG PEARL and CALI PEARL, feature tropical-inspired flavors, Fresh Filters and capsules designed to deliver different flavor experiences before and after activation. Both are priced at KRW 4,800 per pack and are available at convenience stores nationwide and IQOS-operated stores in South Korea. The launch expands the Korean TEREA portfolio from four product lines to five, following earlier capsule tobacco stick additions in 2026.
product
Oct.23
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives