Director of State Tobacco Monopoly Administration Meets with CEO of PMl

2Firsts Events by 2FIRSTS.ai
Mar.19.2024
Director of State Tobacco Monopoly Administration Meets with CEO of PMl
The CEO of Philip Morris International (PMI) met with Chinese tobacco officials in Beijing for friendly discussions.

On March 19th, Zhang Jianmin, Secretary of the Party Group and Director of the State Tobacco Monopoly Administration, and General Manager of China Tobacco Corporation, met with the visiting CEO of Philip Morris International (PMI), André Calantzopoulos in Beijing. The two sides had a friendly discussion.

 

Member of the Party Committee and Deputy Director of the National Bureau Xu met together.

 

The heads of the Foreign Affairs Department, Development Planning Department, Economic Operations Department, China Tobacco Sales Corporation, and China Tobacco International Group Limited attended the meeting.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
2Firsts Data|China’s Vape-Related Exports Rose 3.3% in August 2026 as UK Shipments Jumped 51.4% and U.S. Exports Fell 12.4%
2Firsts Data|China’s Vape-Related Exports Rose 3.3% in August 2026 as UK Shipments Jumped 51.4% and U.S. Exports Fell 12.4%
China exported $979 million of vape-related products in August 2026, up 3.3% from a year earlier but down 6.4% from July. The UK replaced the U.S. as the main source of growth: UK-bound shipments jumped 51.4% to a 2026 high of $177 million, while exports to the U.S. fell 12.4% to $339 million. Shipments to markets outside the U.S. increased 14.2%, broadening growth beyond the market that had driven July’s rebound.
News
Sep.23 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Product | KUMI SCENIC 50K Offers Nicotine and 6-Methyl Nicotine Versions as 6-MN Products Appear in Multiple U.S. State Directories, With Louisiana Listing FDA Exemption
Product | KUMI SCENIC 50K Offers Nicotine and 6-Methyl Nicotine Versions as 6-MN Products Appear in Multiple U.S. State Directories, With Louisiana Listing FDA Exemption
An October 2026 review of U.S. state vapor product directories found KUMI 6 SCENIC 50K listed in Louisiana and Nebraska. Louisiana classifies 20 related product entries as “FDA EXEMPTION.” The SCENIC platform is marketed in both conventional nicotine-salt and NoNic6 formulations, each advertised with 22mL e-liquid capacity and up to 50,000 puffs. U.S. wholesaler Midwest Goods listed both versions in August 2025 with a suggested retail price of $19.99 each. The NoNic6 version is associated with 6-methylnicotine and is also marketed by some distributors as “nicotine-free.”
product
Oct.27
UK Extends Age-18 Rules to Zero-Nicotine Vapes and Nicotine Pouches From Oct. 29, Bans Vending Machines and Promotional Giveaways
UK Extends Age-18 Rules to Zero-Nicotine Vapes and Nicotine Pouches From Oct. 29, Bans Vending Machines and Promotional Giveaways
Key provisions of the UK's Tobacco and Vapes Act 2026 will take effect on Oct. 29, extending an age-18 sales restriction to all vaping and non-medicinal nicotine products. In England, Wales and Northern Ireland, the change brings zero-nicotine vapes within statutory age-of-sale rules and also covers products including nicotine pouches, strips and pearls. The law will also prohibit proxy purchasing for under-18s, consumer-facing vending machines, promotional giveaways and substantial discounts intended to promote vaping and nicotine products.
Regulations
Oct.10
South Korea's Tobacco Plan Excludes 6-Methyl Nicotine as Customs Tightens Import Controls and Analog Liquid Imports Fall 83%
South Korea's Tobacco Plan Excludes 6-Methyl Nicotine as Customs Tightens Import Controls and Analog Liquid Imports Fall 83%
South Korea's government unveiled its first Tobacco Harm Management Basic Plan for 2027–2031 on October 29, 2026, proposing broader testing of vaping and heated tobacco products while excluding nicotine analogs such as 6-methyl nicotine. Synthetic nicotine came under tobacco regulation on April 24, and a June investigation found 6-methyl nicotine in 12 liquid inhalation products marketed as nicotine-free. Customs data released in September showed that imports of nicotine analog solutions fell 83.3%, from 12 metric tons in January–April to 2 metric tons in May–August. By September 20, imports had reached approximately 15 metric tons for the year, with 99.99% originating from China. Customs authorities have tightened pre-clearance testing and supply-chain documentation requirements, while the MFDS expects to complete its assessment of nicotine analog hazards by the end of 2026.
Regulations
Nov.04
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
PMI Expands Its Second Global and First Asian Business Services Hub in the Philippines, Serving 160 Markets and Scaling Up AI Capabilities
Philip Morris International's PMI Business Solutions Philippines has expanded its global business services hub in Makati and plans to add more than 80 positions. Established in 2021 primarily to provide finance and IT support to about 20 markets, the center now employs 519 professionals delivering roughly 600 services across 160 markets. Its functions now span finance, human resources, IT, commercial operations, data analytics, supply chain and project management. PMI says the hub's next phase will focus on AI-enabled and higher-value work. The company did not disclose the size or investment cost of the expansion.
Sep.24