FDA Issues Two Warning Letters to E-cigarette Businesses for Unauthorized Sales

2Firsts Events
Jun.30.2022

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) posted warning letters on June 28 to two e-cigarette businesses, VAPORIZIT LLC and Elk River Vapor Shop, for selling e-cigarette products not previously on the market.

 

According to the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, new tobacco products, including vapes, need a pre-market authorization order to be sold in the United States.

 

However, the FDA found Elk River’s Crack the Whip 6mg 60 ml and Peach Wht. Grape 3mg 60ml were new products not previously commercially marketed in the United States. Therefore, the products need FDA marketing authorization orders to allow the stores to sell them legally.

 

The company has over 1,100 products listed with FDA and has opened four stores across Alabama and Tennessee.

 

VAPORIZIT, with over 12,800 of its products listed with the FDA, was warned for selling Vaporizit Cosmic Cow e-liquid products without FDA approval, as the vape has not been marketed commercially before.

 

However, Victory Liquid, a business founded before VAPORIZIT in 2013, sells the same product on its website, though it is not known which company sold it first.

 

VAPORIZIT and Elk River Vapor Shop have 15 working days from June 28 to “address any violations” and bring their “products into compliance,” announce the date they will discontinue sales, or provide reasoning if they believe their sales were not a violation of the food and drug policies.

Australia Brings in Deloitte to Support Illicit Tobacco and Vape Enforcement Across Data, Processes and Project Delivery
Australia Brings in Deloitte to Support Illicit Tobacco and Vape Enforcement Across Data, Processes and Project Delivery
Australia’s Department of Home Affairs has hired Deloitte to provide data analytics, business-process, communications and project-delivery support to the Office of the Illicit Tobacco and E-Cigarette Commissioner. The government says Deloitte personnel do not provide policy advice to the Commissioner or the Australian government, with policy development and decision-making remaining with public officials. The arrangement has nevertheless drawn scrutiny because Deloitte has previously provided professional services to several tobacco and vaping companies.
Sep.03
UK HMRC Unveils Red and Yellow Transitional Vape Duty Stamps Ahead of October Tax Launch
UK HMRC Unveils Red and Yellow Transitional Vape Duty Stamps Ahead of October Tax Launch
HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) has released sample images of the UK’s transitional vaping duty stamps, showing red and yellow versions ahead of the new Vaping Products Duty and Vaping Duty Stamps Scheme starting on October 1, 2026. Transitional stamps contain physical security features but no digital scanning function. Approved businesses may purchase them through November 30 and affix them through December 31. HMRC has not stated that the red and yellow samples represent different product categories or tax statuses.
Regulations
Sep.02
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
PMI Showcases ZYN, IQOS and U.S. Investments at NACS Show 2026
PMI Showcases ZYN, IQOS and U.S. Investments at NACS Show 2026
At the 2026 NACS Show in Las Vegas, Philip Morris International (PMI) showcased its ZYN nicotine pouches, IQOS heated tobacco products and U.S. investments. A 2Firsts review of FDA records found that several ZYN products displayed at the booth were not on the agency's marketing authorization list, including certain nicotine strengths and flavors. A PMI booth representative also confirmed that IQOS is currently sold in three U.S. states, while the newer IQOS ILUMA system remains under FDA review.
EXPO
Oct.10
Product | SnowPlus Launches Nicotine-Free DASH in South Korea, Localising an Established Disposable Platform
Product | SnowPlus Launches Nicotine-Free DASH in South Korea, Localising an Established Disposable Platform
SnowPlus has introduced a nicotine-free version of DASH in South Korea, adapting an existing overseas disposable platform for the local market. The Korean version retains the series’ flat duckbill-style mouthpiece, ceramic heating architecture and disposable form factor while reducing nicotine content to 0%. By comparison, the overseas DASH 4000 platform typically features 7.5ml of prefilled e-liquid, up to 4,000 puffs and a 530mAh rechargeable battery, with nicotine-containing variants available in some markets. The product update centers on formulation localisation rather than a new hardware generation.
Aug.31
Indiana Halts Sales of Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG and iJOY Vapes Under Foreign-Adversary Rules; Some Products Return After Compliance Filings
Indiana Halts Sales of Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG and iJOY Vapes Under Foreign-Adversary Rules; Some Products Return After Compliance Filings
Indiana's Alcohol and Tobacco Commission (ATC) ordered tobacco certificate holders in September to remove certain vaping products marketed under Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG, iJOY and other brands from inventory under the state's foreign-adversary product law. The agency later listed 257 MR FOG products and 77 Lost Mary product entries as lawful for sale. The Lost Mary revision expressly stated that compliance evidence had been received for 20 additional products. 2Firsts compliance expert Kurt said potential filings could include e-liquid and ingredient-origin records, U.S. nicotine-analog supply-chain documentation and FDA premarket application status.
Regulations
Oct.08