FDA Warns Retailers of Unauthorized ELFBAR, LOST MARY E-Cigarette Sales to Teens

Regulations by 2FIRSTS.ai
Jul.26.2024
FDA Warns Retailers of Unauthorized ELFBAR, LOST MARY E-Cigarette Sales to Teens
FDA warns 80 retailers in 15 states for selling unauthorized e-cigarettes popular among youth, imposing fines on non-compliant stores.

On July 25th, the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued warning letters to 80 physical retail stores in 15 states for selling unauthorized e-cigarette products popular among teenagers, including brands like ELFBAR and Lost Mary.

 

At the same time, the FDA announced that it has taken civil monetary penalty (CMP) actions against eight retailers who had previously received warnings for selling unauthorized e-cigarettes but had not taken any action. Each retailer is required to pay a fine of $20,678.

 

Warning letters and CMPs are the result of FDA using multiple monitoring systems to identify products that are appealing to or targeting youth. After confirming or investigating violations, the FDA will first send a warning letter, and recipients have 15 working days to respond with a plan of action to correct current violations and prevent future ones.

 

In the past year, the FDA has conducted inspections on retailers to identify those selling unauthorized e-cigarettes. As a result of these actions, the FDA has issued over 690 warning letters and taken over 140 civil enforcement actions against retailers selling unauthorized e-cigarettes.

 

So far, the FDA has authorized 34 types of e-cigarette products and devices, which are currently the only e-cigarette products that may be legally sold in the United States.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
UK Directors Banned After 352,688 Vapes Imported From China Were Misdeclared as Medical Nebulizers in £15 Million Tax Case
UK Directors Banned After 352,688 Vapes Imported From China Were Misdeclared as Medical Nebulizers in £15 Million Tax Case
The UK Insolvency Service said YSK Enterprises imported large quantities of vapes from China in 2023, with a shipment addressed to the company declared as medical nebulizers before Border Force found 352,688 vaping products. HMRC calculated nearly £15 million ($20.3 million) in unpaid VAT and customs duty, alongside about £437,000 in corporation tax. Two directors were disqualified for nine years. The case predates the UK's Vaping Products Duty, which will introduce vape-specific excise and duty-stamp requirements from October 2026.
Regulations
Sep.11
U.S. Military Could Test Nicotine Pouches and Vapes for Smoking Cessation as Washington Examiner Cites ZYN and Potential $4 Billion Reduction in Related Defense Costs
U.S. Military Could Test Nicotine Pouches and Vapes for Smoking Cessation as Washington Examiner Cites ZYN and Potential $4 Billion Reduction in Related Defense Costs
The House-passed FY2027 National Defense Authorization Act includes a provision authorizing the defense secretary to conduct a one-year smoking-cessation pilot for active-duty service members. Section 707 lists counseling, nicotine gum and patches alongside what the bill calls "electric nicotine delivery systems," nicotine pouches and heat-not-burn products. A recent Washington Examiner op-ed cited ZYN as an example in arguing for the provision, but the legislation does not name any commercial brand or supplier. ZYN is made by PMI-owned Swedish Match USA, with specified products holding FDA marketing authorizations and modified risk orders.
Sep.20
Latest UK ONS Data: Vaping Rate Edges Down to 9.9% in 2025, a Year After Overtaking Cigarette Smoking
Latest UK ONS Data: Vaping Rate Edges Down to 9.9% in 2025, a Year After Overtaking Cigarette Smoking
Vaping prevalence in Great Britain edged down to 9.9% in 2025 from 10.0% in 2024, with the number of adult users holding at approximately 5.4 million for a second consecutive year, according to the Office for National Statistics (ONS). E-cigarette use had risen from 6.4% in 2020 to 10.0% in 2024, when it exceeded cigarette smoking prevalence for the first time. Cigarette smoking continued to decline to 8.7% in 2025, widening the gap to 1.2 percentage points. Daily vaping declined slightly, while usage among adults aged 25–34 increased despite falling rates in other age groups.
DATA
Oct.14
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives
Charlie’s Bets on Age-Gating and 678 PMTA Assets as U.S. Vape Enforcement Landscape Shifts
Charlie’s Bets on Age-Gating and 678 PMTA Assets as U.S. Vape Enforcement Landscape Shifts
Charlie’s Holdings said in its latest shareholder letter that it is moving to commercialize PACHA products and monetize its PMTA assets as the FDA changes enforcement priorities for unauthorized ENDS products. Thirty PACHA SKUs were previously tentatively identified for a proposed public list of products that the FDA generally does not intend to prioritize for enforcement. Charlie’s is also preparing test-market sales of age-gated flavored disposables and says it currently holds 678 PMTA-related product assets while seeking additional strategic transactions and partnerships.
Sep.11