Meeting between State Tobacco Monopoly Administration and PMI

PMI by 2FIRSTS.ai
Jan.16.2024
Meeting between State Tobacco Monopoly Administration and PMI
Head of State Tobacco Monopoly Administration, Wang Gongcheng, met with Philip Morris International executives in Beijing on January 16.

On January 16th, Wang Gongcheng, a member of the Communist Party group and Deputy Director of the State Tobacco Monopoly Administration, held a friendly meeting in Beijing with the visiting delegation of Paul Riley, President of East Asia and Australia Region, as well as global duty-free operations leader of Philip Morris International (PMI).

 

The heads of the External Affairs Division, Development Planning Division, Supervision and Administration Division for Monopolized Sales, Economic Operations Division, China National Tobacco Sales Corporation, and China Tobacco International Limited attended the meeting.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
BAT Adds Former Apple General Counsel Bruce Sewell to Board as Finance, Legal, Marketing and Regional Leadership Shift
BAT Adds Former Apple General Counsel Bruce Sewell to Board as Finance, Legal, Marketing and Regional Leadership Shift
British American Tobacco has appointed former Apple Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary Bruce Sewell as an independent non-executive director, effective January 1, 2027. He will also join BAT's Audit and Nominations Committees. BAT Chair Luc Jobin highlighted Sewell's experience in technology, government and regulatory affairs, public-company governance and AI-company boards. Over the past 18 months, BAT has changed or announced changes to its CFO, general counsel, CMO and APMEA regional leadership, while the main board has also seen multiple changes. The appointment comes as BAT advances Horizon 2030 and its Fit2Win transformation while expanding New Categories and reshaping parts of its digital, technology and operating structure.
Business
Oct.29
Product | BAT Expands VELO Peach Ice Medium to FamilyMart Stores Nationwide in Japan
Product | BAT Expands VELO Peach Ice Medium to FamilyMart Stores Nationwide in Japan
British American Tobacco Japan (BAT Japan) expanded VELO Peach Ice Medium to FamilyMart stores nationwide in Japan from September 7, 2026. The oral tobacco product first launched on July 6 and had previously been sold through VELO's official online store, glo Store Ginza and tobacco retailers. It combines peach flavor with menthol cooling at a Medium strength level and is priced at JPY 360. Japanese tobacco retailers list 15 pouches per pack. The move adds the new SKU to an existing nationwide FamilyMart distribution network for VELO rather than marking the brand's first entry into the convenience-store chain.
Sep.15
Product | Four CrossBar 20K 13mL High-Puff Vapes Listed on Pennsylvania's ENDS Directory, Rated for Up to 20,000 Puffs
Product | Four CrossBar 20K 13mL High-Puff Vapes Listed on Pennsylvania's ENDS Directory, Rated for Up to 20,000 Puffs
Four CrossBar 20K disposable e-cigarettes appeared on Pennsylvania's 163-entry ENDS directory ahead of enforcement beginning October 19, 2026. The devices feature 13mL e-liquid reservoirs, 50mg/mL nicotine, 2,000mAh batteries and 0.9Ω mesh coils, with advertised puff counts of up to 20,000. CrossBar was the only modern high-puff disposable series among the directory's 15 disposable entries. Its packaging emphasizes New York design and Japanese-origin flavoring, while historical CrossBar records identify a registered U.S. tobacco manufacturing-related establishment. The link between the newer 13mL devices and earlier 1.3mL PMTA filings remains unconfirmed.
product
Oct.26
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
Product | Philip Morris Korea Launches Two TEREA ONYX Capsule Tobacco Sticks, Expanding Portfolio to Five Lines
Product | Philip Morris Korea Launches Two TEREA ONYX Capsule Tobacco Sticks, Expanding Portfolio to Five Lines
Philip Morris Korea launched TEREA ONYX, a new tobacco stick line for IQOS ILUMA devices, on October 15, 2026. The initial products, AMANG PEARL and CALI PEARL, feature tropical-inspired flavors, Fresh Filters and capsules designed to deliver different flavor experiences before and after activation. Both are priced at KRW 4,800 per pack and are available at convenience stores nationwide and IQOS-operated stores in South Korea. The launch expands the Korean TEREA portfolio from four product lines to five, following earlier capsule tobacco stick additions in 2026.
product
Oct.23