PMI Italy Launches IQOS iluma i Prime Heating Tobacco Device

Oct.11.2024
PMI Italy Launches IQOS iluma i Prime Heating Tobacco Device
PMI's Italian subsidiary launches "IQOS iluma i Prime", marking a decade of innovative tobacco products and global expansion.

According to a report by Zazoom on October 10th, Philip Morris International's Italian subsidiary announced the launch of the heated tobacco device "IQOS iluma i Prime". The company emphasized that it has invested over $12.5 billion in the development, scientific validation, production, marketing and continuous innovation of its new tobacco products, which are currently sold in over 90 markets worldwide.


The company's head of new tobacco product category, Gianluca Iannelli, stated that...


We hope to achieve a transformative milestone in our business, and this approach is bearing fruit: in Italy, over two million smokers have switched to our smokeless products and abandoned cigarettes.


The company stated that the launch of "IQOS iluma i Prime" comes on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the first release of IQOS. IQOS was first launched globally in Italy and Japan in 2014.


PMI plays a significant role in the industrial chain in Italy, having invested over 2.5 billion euros in tobacco cultivation over the past 20 years. Additionally, PMI has invested 1.5 billion euros in production facilities in the Crexienza region, with products being exported to 40 countries.


PMI Italy celebrates the 10th anniversary of its production site, having collaborated with approximately 1,000 supply and service companies in Italy so far. The company aims to continue driving the transformation of new tobacco products and promises to develop its business in a sustainable and responsible manner.


We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
FDA Unifies Tobacco Registration and Product Listing Form Across Product Categories
FDA Unifies Tobacco Registration and Product Listing Form Across Product Categories
The U.S. FDA has consolidated two tobacco establishment registration and product listing forms into a redesigned Form FDA 3741 covering all regulated product categories, including e-cigarettes, heated tobacco products and nicotine pouches. The current requirements remain limited to domestic establishments. Separately, the FDA has proposed extending registration and product listing requirements to foreign manufacturers, signaling greater regulatory attention to manufacturing entities and product-level information across the tobacco and nicotine supply chain.
FDA
Sep.30
NATO Executive Director David Spross Sees U.S. Vape Regulation Improving, Calls for More PMTA Authorizations and Warns of 2027 State Tax Pressure
NATO Executive Director David Spross Sees U.S. Vape Regulation Improving, Calls for More PMTA Authorizations and Warns of 2027 State Tax Pressure
The National Association of Tobacco Outlets is calling for more FDA marketing authorizations, greater transparency in the PMTA process and continued enforcement against unauthorized e-cigarettes, even as its executive director, David Spross, points to recent regulatory developments as signs of progress. At the state level, excise taxes, flavor restrictions and vapor product directories remain major issues for tobacco retailers. By August 2026, 17 states had enacted laws establishing state-managed e-cigarette directories or similar systems.
Innovation
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives
UK HMRC Unveils Red and Yellow Transitional Vape Duty Stamps Ahead of October Tax Launch
UK HMRC Unveils Red and Yellow Transitional Vape Duty Stamps Ahead of October Tax Launch
HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) has released sample images of the UK’s transitional vaping duty stamps, showing red and yellow versions ahead of the new Vaping Products Duty and Vaping Duty Stamps Scheme starting on October 1, 2026. Transitional stamps contain physical security features but no digital scanning function. Approved businesses may purchase them through November 30 and affix them through December 31. HMRC has not stated that the red and yellow samples represent different product categories or tax statuses.
Regulations
Sep.02
Cochrane 2026 Update Adds Nine Trials, Keeps High-Certainty Finding That Nicotine E-Cigarettes Improve Quit Rates Over NRT
Cochrane 2026 Update Adds Nine Trials, Keeps High-Certainty Finding That Nicotine E-Cigarettes Improve Quit Rates Over NRT
Cochrane’s 2026 update of its living review on electronic cigarettes for smoking cessation included 80 randomized controlled trials involving 29,861 adult smokers, with nine trials added in this update. The review retained its high-certainty conclusion that nicotine e-cigarettes increase smoking cessation rates compared with nicotine replacement therapy. In absolute terms, about 10 in 100 people using nicotine e-cigarettes may quit smoking for at least six months, compared with about 6 in 100 using NRT. The review found no clear difference in serious adverse event rates between the two groups, while longer-term safety and the relative effectiveness of newer device types remain less certain.
Sep.07
Latest UK ONS Data: 54% of Vapers Are Former Cigarette Smokers, 26% Also Smoke and 20% Never Smoked Regularly
Latest UK ONS Data: 54% of Vapers Are Former Cigarette Smokers, 26% Also Smoke and 20% Never Smoked Regularly
Former cigarette smokers accounted for an estimated 54% of current e-cigarette users in Great Britain in 2025, while 26% also smoked cigarettes and 20% had never regularly smoked, according to a 2Firsts analysis of Office for National Statistics (ONS) data. Among former cigarette smokers who currently vape, approximately 81% used e-cigarettes daily, compared with about 50% of dual users. The ONS found that 33.8% of current cigarette smokers also vaped in 2025, up from 10.6% in 2014. Approximately 1.1 million adults who had never regularly smoked cigarettes used e-cigarettes, representing 2.9% of that population, compared with 0.2% in 2014. The figures highlight differences in the composition, frequency of use and long-term trends across Britain's vaping population.
DATA
Oct.14