E-cigarette Company in New Brunswick Faces Legal Battle

Regulations by 2FIRSTS.ai
Apr.24.2024
E-cigarette Company in New Brunswick Faces Legal Battle
A Canadian e-cigarette company in New Brunswick due to face legal action for violating tobacco laws.

According to a report from Tj.news on April 23rd, an e-cigarette company in New Brunswick, Canada will be defending itself next month against violations of the province's Tobacco and E-cigarette Sales Act.

 

The company was accused in November of selling or providing flavor products for e-cigarettes on June 14. On Tuesday (23rd), the company's lawyer, Wanda Severns, requested another adjournment in the Moncton Court. She told the court that she hoped to have more time to continue discussing a solution with the Crown Office.

 

The prosecutor agreed to adjourn the court session, but noted that the case has been pending in the court for some time.

 

The company plans to file a defense with the court on May 1st.

 

Another e-cigarette company located in Sackville, which had been facing similar accusations, had initially pleaded not guilty and was scheduled for trial on April 10. However, the shop owner eventually admitted to the charge of selling flavored e-cigarettes and was fined $288.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

On-Site Report | After FDA Announces Review of PMTA Framework, CTP Director Details Reform Priorities
On-Site Report | After FDA Announces Review of PMTA Framework, CTP Director Details Reform Priorities
FDA CTP Director Bret Koplow used his FDLI keynote in Washington to outline how the agency is rethinking the PMTA framework. He discussed category-specific review, nicotine pouch and sPMTA pilots, AI-assisted review, a 70% reduction in pending applications, and a major staffing constraint: CTP currently has only nine scientific review teams. He also reaffirmed tobacco harm reduction while stressing youth protection, flavored products, risk communication, and the challenge of unauthorized e-cigarettes.
Regulations
Oct.06
China Tobacco Hubei explores staged nicotine pouch delivery, using dynamic membranes to slow early release and gradient particles to sustain later delivery
China Tobacco Hubei explores staged nicotine pouch delivery, using dynamic membranes to slow early release and gradient particles to sustain later delivery
China Tobacco Hubei Industrial Co., Ltd. disclosed several oral nicotine-related patent applications in August 2026, including two that approach staged nicotine release from different directions. One uses a high-viscosity membrane that forms inside the pouch after contact with saliva to slow rapid early release, while the other uses gradient particles with a faster-disintegrating outer layer and a slower core to create a fast-to-sustained release profile. Together, the filings explore how nicotine pouches could balance initial delivery with release later in use.
Sep.03
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Global Starts Debt Refinancing Four Months After Nasdaq Listing With About $400 Million Notes Expected
AIR Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of AIR Global, has launched an offering of U.S. dollar-denominated senior unsecured notes, with proceeds primarily intended to repay its existing term loan and revolving credit facility. AIR has not disclosed the final size, maturity or coupon; Refinitiv, citing Moody's, reported an expected issuance of approximately $400 million and a Ba3 rating. AIR had about $412.4 million outstanding under the two bank facilities at June 30 and net debt of $344.8 million. In the first half of 2026, AIR's Al Fakher-led flavored shisha molasses business generated about 99% of company revenue, while New Growth Categories including Crown Switch produced $2.2 million in revenue and remained loss-making on an adjusted EBITDA basis.
Sep.23
Bret Koplow Takes Permanent Charge of FDA Tobacco Center After Pushing Faster PMTA Reviews, as HHS Emphasizes Innovation and Access to Lower-Risk Alternatives
Bret Koplow Takes Permanent Charge of FDA Tobacco Center After Pushing Faster PMTA Reviews, as HHS Emphasizes Innovation and Access to Lower-Risk Alternatives
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has named Bret Koplow permanent director of the FDA’s Center for Tobacco Products, ending his period as acting chief. Koplow has spent years working on tobacco regulation, law and policy inside the FDA and, while serving as acting director, pushed for faster PMTA reviews and nicotine pouch review pilots. HHS also said CTP will prioritize innovation and access to less harmful alternatives for adult smokers while continuing efforts to protect youth.
Sep.09
Juul Displays FDA-Authorized JUUL2, Highlights Age Verification at NACS Show 2026
Juul Displays FDA-Authorized JUUL2, Highlights Age Verification at NACS Show 2026
At the 2026 NACS Show in Las Vegas, Juul Labs displayed its JUUL2 e-cigarette system alongside existing products, age-verification messaging and mobile coupons, 2Firsts observed. The JUUL2 device and Virginia Tobacco and Polar Menthol pods received FDA marketing authorization in August 2026. Booth materials highlighted longer battery life, greater e-liquid capacity and connected-device features. A TruAge sign and a mobile coupon presentation also featured at the booth, with weekly offers available to age-verified adult nicotine consumers at participating retailers.
EXPO
Oct.09