Spotsylvania County to Update Zoning Regulations and Design Standards

Regulations by 2FIRSTS.ai
Apr.25.2024
Spotsylvania County to Update Zoning Regulations and Design Standards
The Spotsylvania County Board hasn't updated zoning rules in nearly 30 years, with a surge in e-cigarette shops prompting action.

According to a report by the Fredericksburg Free Press on April 24th, the Spotsylvania County Board of Supervisors in Virginia has not updated its zoning regulations and design standards manual in nearly 30 years.

 

Since 1995, there have been significant changes in development and land use patterns in the county, with a sharp increase in the number of e-cigarette stores countywide.

 

On Tuesday, during a joint working meeting, the County Supervisory Board and Planning Committee listened to a report from The Berkeley Group, anticipating the adoption of new zoning guidelines and design standards manual by the summer of 2025. The Supervisory Board explicitly stated that they will restrict the number of e-cigarette shops and marijuana pharmacies.

 

The Berkeley group visited the new development in the county on Tuesday (23rd). On Wednesday (24th), they held a meeting with stakeholders in the county, including engineers, surveyors, lawyers, and citizens who make up the development community, to complete the final part of the investigation process.

 

The drafting meetings with the Planning Committee are set to begin in June and will be held regularly until the final adoption phase begins early next year.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
Product | DOJO Launches 0+6ml BLAST7K Fresh in UK in September, Retaining 2+8ml Pod Compatibility Ahead of October Per-Milliliter Vaping Duty
DOJO officially launched the BLAST7K Fresh on September 17, 2026, introducing a UK-market prefilled pod product with 6ml of e-liquid and a manufacturer-rated capacity of up to 7,000 puffs. The device features a 1000mAh rechargeable battery, the INSTA-JUICED structure and COREX BLAST dual-mesh technology, while retaining compatibility with existing BLAST pods. The launch comes less than two weeks before the UK's Vaping Products Duty takes effect on October 1. At the new duty rate, 6ml of vaping liquid would correspond to £1.32 in VPD. DOJO has not stated that the product's 6ml format was designed in response to the new duty.
Sep.20
Product | PMJ Adds Bold Ruby to IQOS ILUMA i Lineup in Japan, Convenience-Store Rollout Starts Sept. 29
Product | PMJ Adds Bold Ruby to IQOS ILUMA i Lineup in Japan, Convenience-Store Rollout Starts Sept. 29
Philip Morris Japan (PMJ) launched Bold Ruby as a new regular color for the IQOS ILUMA i and IQOS ILUMA i ONE in Japan on September 16, 2026, priced at JPY 6,980 and JPY 3,980, respectively. Initial sales began through IQOS online and physical channels, with convenience stores and selected tobacco retailers set to follow from September 29. Bold Ruby is a regular rather than limited-edition colorway and is available for the ILUMA i and ILUMA i ONE, but not the ILUMA i PRIME. The release does not involve changes to the devices' core hardware or functions.
Sep.22
On-Site Report | CTP Details PMTA Backlog, 180-Day Review Goal and sPMTA Process
On-Site Report | CTP Details PMTA Backlog, 180-Day Review Goal and sPMTA Process
FDA’s Center for Tobacco Products detailed new PMTA review data and process changes at the 2026 FDLI conference. Pending PMTAs fell from about 450,000 at the start of 2025 to 135,000 by September 2026. CTP also discussed its 180-day review goal, current sPMTA pilot, alternate-supplier planning, more than 50,300 pending SE reports, and lessons from the nicotine pouch pilot already being applied to ENDS review.
Regulations
Oct.07
Los Angeles Cracks Down on Illicit Flavored Vapes and Counterfeit Goods: 12 Businesses Searched, 24 Arrested, Eight Truckloads Seized
Los Angeles Cracks Down on Illicit Flavored Vapes and Counterfeit Goods: 12 Businesses Searched, 24 Arrested, Eight Truckloads Seized
Los Angeles authorities searched 12 businesses and arrested 24 people during a multi-agency operation targeting illicit flavored vaping products, flavored cigarettes and counterfeit merchandise on October 22, 2026. The Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department said approximately eight tractor-trailer loads of merchandise were seized. Alleged violations involved flavored tobacco sales restrictions, tobacco licensing requirements and counterfeit trademark laws. Local, state and federal agencies participated. Authorities have not disclosed the number, brands or value of vaping products seized. Investigations remain ongoing.
Enforcement
Oct.28
Australia’s Victoria Steps Up Illegal Tobacco Enforcement With Store Closures and Penalties of Up to A$2.5 Million
Australia’s Victoria Steps Up Illegal Tobacco Enforcement With Store Closures and Penalties of Up to A$2.5 Million
Australia’s state of Victoria has activated new powers allowing Tobacco Licensing Victoria and police to shut premises suspected of selling, supplying or possessing illicit tobacco for up to 90 days. Longer closures can be ordered by a magistrates’ court. Businesses subject to closure orders must generally cease all trading and will be placed on a public list. Breaching a closure order can carry penalties of up to A$2.5 million and 20 years in prison.
Sep.10
Product | OXVA Introduces XLIM PRO 4 With Liquid-Level Anti-Burn Technology and Dedicated Pods
Product | OXVA Introduces XLIM PRO 4 With Liquid-Level Anti-Burn Technology and Dedicated Pods
Vaping brand OXVA introduced the XLIM PRO 4 refillable pod system in October 2026, featuring Anti-Burn Tech (ABT) based on smart e-liquid-level detection. The system can issue refill alerts and stop power output when e-liquid levels become too low. ABT requires the XLIM PRO 4 device and a dedicated XLIM ABT cartridge. Standard XLIM pods remain compatible but do not support ABT protection. OXVA previously introduced temperature-based anti-burn technology in the XLIM Pro 2 DNA, developed with Evolv. The new device features a 1,800mAh battery, 5–30W output and a 0.98-inch HD color screen. OXVA's official store lists the device at $37.90 and dedicated ABT replacement cartridges at $12.99. Independent testing confirmed the low-liquid protection response but recorded varying cartridge lifespans.
product
Oct.30