Philippines BIR seizes over 500 illegal e-cigarette retailers with $3.09 million in tax liabilities

Nov.06.2024
Philippines BIR seizes over 500 illegal e-cigarette retailers with $3.09 million in tax liabilities
As of October 2024, the Philippines Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) has seized 506 illegal e-cigarette retailers and distributors, with tax liabilities totaling $3.09 million. These businesses often violate laws due to unpaid excise taxes, missing tax stamps, and lack of registration.

Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) Commissioner Romeo Lumagui Jr. said that as of October this year, the BIR has arrested a total of 506 illegal e-cigarette retailers and distributors, according to the Philippine News Agency (PNA) website.

 

The Commissioner stated that common illegal activities among e-cigarette retailers and distributors include non-payment of value-added tax, lack of internal revenue stamps, and failure to register with the tax bureau, resulting in a total tax liability of 181.69 million Philippine pesos (3.09 million US dollars).

 

As of the end of October 2024, the BIR has seized 506 illegal e-cigarette retailers and distributors in our raid operations. The number of illegal e-cigarette shops has significantly increased since our nationwide raid on October 16th last year.

 

We welcome news tips, article submissions, interview requests, or comments on this piece.

Please contact us at info@2firsts.com, or reach out to Alan Zhao, CEO of 2Firsts, on LinkedIn


Notice

1.  This article is intended solely for professional research purposes related to industry, technology, and policy. Any references to brands or products are made purely for objective description and do not constitute any form of endorsement, recommendation, or promotion by 2Firsts.

2.  The use of nicotine-containing products — including, but not limited to, cigarettes, e-cigarettes, nicotine pouchand heated tobacco products — carries significant health risks. Users are responsible for complying with all applicable laws and regulations in their respective jurisdictions.

3.  This article is not intended to serve as the basis for any investment decisions or financial advice. 2Firsts assumes no direct or indirect liability for any inaccuracies or errors in the content.

4.  Access to this article is strictly prohibited for individuals below the legal age in their jurisdiction.

 

Copyright

 

This article is either an original work created by 2Firsts or a reproduction from third-party sources with proper attribution. All copyrights and usage rights belong to 2Firsts or the original content provider. Unauthorized reproduction, distribution, or any other form of unauthorized use by any individual or organization is strictly prohibited. Violators will be held legally accountable.

For copyright-related inquiries, please contact: info@2firsts.com

 

AI Assistance Disclaimer

 

This article may have been enhanced using AI tools to improve translation and editorial efficiency. However, due to technical limitations, inaccuracies may occur. Readers are encouraged to refer to the cited sources for the most accurate information.

We welcome any corrections or feedback. Please contact us at: info@2firsts.com

JUUL Purchasers Ask Ninth Circuit to Preserve Antitrust Classes in Case Over Altria’s $12.8 Billion Investment
JUUL Purchasers Ask Ninth Circuit to Preserve Antitrust Classes in Case Over Altria’s $12.8 Billion Investment
Private antitrust litigation stemming from Altria's 2018 $12.8 billion investment for a 35% economic interest in JUUL is advancing before the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. Direct purchasers, indirect purchasers and indirect resellers of JUUL products filed answering briefs this week seeking to preserve class certifications granted by a California federal court in February. Altria and JUUL argue that individual consumers and large distributors differ too much in purchasing terms to remain in a single direct-purchaser class, while a separate dispute concerns whether California antitrust law can apply to indirect purchasers across 27 jurisdictions. A September trial has been put on hold during the appeal.
Sep.23
How Large Is France’s Off-Channel Tobacco Market? Logista Says It Has Become Structural, While the Official Estimate Is 17.7% and Some Industry Studies Put It Above 50%
How Large Is France’s Off-Channel Tobacco Market? Logista Says It Has Become Structural, While the Official Estimate Is 17.7% and Some Industry Studies Put It Above 50%
Logista France says tobacco consumption outside France’s official tobacconist network has become a large and structural market phenomenon, but official and industry estimates differ sharply. France’s TAFE study estimates that 17.7% of tobacco consumption escaped domestic taxation in 2023, with most of that volume attributed to cross-border purchasing rather than street sales. Some industry studies use broader off-channel definitions and put the figure above 50%. Meanwhile, French Customs seized 547.94 tonnes of tobacco in 2025, up 12%, showing continued pressure from illicit trade.
Sep.04
Indiana Halts Sales of Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG and iJOY Vapes Under Foreign-Adversary Rules; Some Products Return After Compliance Filings
Indiana Halts Sales of Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG and iJOY Vapes Under Foreign-Adversary Rules; Some Products Return After Compliance Filings
Indiana's Alcohol and Tobacco Commission (ATC) ordered tobacco certificate holders in September to remove certain vaping products marketed under Elf Bar, Lost Mary, MR FOG, iJOY and other brands from inventory under the state's foreign-adversary product law. The agency later listed 257 MR FOG products and 77 Lost Mary product entries as lawful for sale. The Lost Mary revision expressly stated that compliance evidence had been received for 20 additional products. 2Firsts compliance expert Kurt said potential filings could include e-liquid and ingredient-origin records, U.S. nicotine-analog supply-chain documentation and FDA premarket application status.
Regulations
Oct.08
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company Launches Flavored Vuse Pro Pods in U.S. Without FDA Marketing Authorization
R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company has begun selling four flavored Vuse Pro pods — Peach, Berry, Watermelon and Fresh Mint — in Ohio and selected other U.S. markets. According to the Vuse U.S. FAQ, Vuse Pro contains approximately 5.0% nicotine by weight, and Vuse Pro pre-filled pods are intended for use with Vuse Alto devices. Reynolds told 2Firsts that product labeling lists an e-liquid capacity of 2.0 mL per pod. The Vuse Alto Power Unit received FDA marketing authorization in 2024, while the new Vuse Pro pods themselves have not received marketing granted orders. The rollout follows the FDA’s May 2026 revision of enforcement priorities for certain unauthorized vaping products with qualifying pending applications.
BAT
Sep.10
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
China STMA Deputy Administrator Meets KT&G COO as Heated Cigarette Rules Advance
Wang Gongcheng, deputy administrator of China’s State Tobacco Monopoly Administration, met KT&G Chief Operating Officer Lee Sang-hak in Shanghai on September 1, according to Oriental Tobacco News. The meeting comes as China seeks public comment on a draft mandatory national standard for heated cigarettes. The report did not disclose the subjects discussed or indicate whether heated tobacco products or market access were addressed.
News
Sep.02
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech Launches IKE 2.0 Compliance Platform for Nicotine Products
IKE Tech launched IKE 2.0 on September 28, initially targeting nicotine products with a platform that combines user identity verification, product authentication, configurable policy controls and data analytics. Products can be authenticated through direct device integration or NFC smart tags. IKE Tech was formed with participation from Ispire's Aspire North America, Berify and Chemular, with Ispire currently holding a 40% interest. Its age-verification component PMTA was accepted by the FDA in 2025 and remains under review. The company did not disclose customer names, commercial deployment volumes, pricing or revenue tied to IKE 2.0.
News
Sep.29 by 2Firsts Perspectives